We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not have been better”
Review of Blue Moon Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Moon Villas
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“could not have been better”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This was a fabulous end to our Bali trip. A wonderful villa overlooking the sea. The hotel is on a hill, with a great design so every room feels private. small pools are scattered around so you are either alone or with only a couple of neighbours. The room was perfect, and the bed with fresh flowers each day. To sit in the pool and gaze out to sea was so relaxing. A great menu available all day with service to your room terrace or pool side. I recommend the beautiful fish and the delicious mango crumble. Also massage on demand should you desire. I've never been so well cared for in my life!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good, possible the ones on the lower side of the road and those furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    132
    42
    17
    4
See reviews for
100
256
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

magnificent cannot wait to stay again not a bad thing to say about anything. the accomodaton, staff, service and food is second to none. I loved every minute of my Blue Moon experience an highly recommend it as a place to relax and recharge

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

What a perfect end to a great holiday.. the setting at Blue Moon Villas is magical. We stayed in a blue angel suite with the affinity pool just outside the door..Rooms are clean, beds comfy and air conditioning works well. Meals at Komang John are good, especially the fresh seafood and the staff are wonderful and friendly. We will definetly be back!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

First of all, let me say that my wife and I stayed in Amed for 4 nights and we thought it was too short... what a lovely place this is! Despite the fact that it is a very small town, it has kept so much original Balinese charm. We enjoyed it so much! Riding our small scooter along the main street with views over the ocean on one side and the majestic view of Mount Agung on the other side! Very impressive! This is the Bali we hoped to find (totally different from the touristy busy resort feel in the South)

We also really liked our stay at Blue Moon Villas. The location of the hotel is a bit further away from where most restaurants and dive centres are, but that is not really a problem. You can rent a scooter for 4-5 USD per day (no matter where you stay in Amed, you will need a scooter to get around as Amed is located on one long stretch of 10km).

We had a penthouse suite which is located higher up the hill and offers the most stunning ocean views you can imagine. We loved sitting in our patio and just seeing the sun go down over the water. The room itself is nice and clean although fairly basic. The bathroom is open which we personally were not a huge fan of, but it did not bother us.

There are a few infinity pools within the compound (one for every few rooms) and after we came back from our morning dives it was great to relax in the pool and enjoy the views over the ocean. You can also have in-house massages, which I never tried, but some other guests told us they were amazing (at a rate of 7 USD for an hour).

The breakfasts were very good and substantial and the hotel offers several options. We also had dinner in the hotel once and it was very tasty although a bit pricey compared with other restaurants we tried (an other great option for dinner we found was Warung Enak...a small restaurant run by a local family. Try their "rijsttafel" which you need to book in advance... their regular menu is also very good... we went back twice!)

Also very good was the staff. Very friendly, very warm, very helpful and always doing what they can to make your stay a memorable one.

The only minor points we found was the the wifi connection in the room was very poor (and sometimes even non existing)... This seems to be a problem all over Bali, but here it was especially limited. We were also a bit surprised to see that the hotel did not offer any bathroom accessories (such as shower gel, shampoo...). I think for this kind of resort that is something that should be included.

But besides these minor points, it was all good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

What an amazing few days we had at Blue Moon Villas. We stayed in one of the Blue Angel suites with the infinity pool-spectacular view and glorious sunrises. The staff are wonderful. The meals at Komang John restaurant were fantastic. The whole setting is magical. Can’t wait to get back there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippychick808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, unfortunately the room we wanted to continue our stay in was already booked.
Food was fantastic, the view from the hotel and our room just amazing! Nice pool and hotel. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This place is highly recommended if you are planning to stay away from the usual noisy crowd in Kuta area. Amed is where u find the real Bali as the pace of life is slower here, without the tacky nightspots and booze. I booked one of the Blue paradise penthouse suit and the rooms facing the endless horizon were simply wonderful. Daily sunrise can also be seen from the balcony. Food here was well done with much passion and effort using fresh herbs and Balinese spices. Staffs were warm and friendly especially Ani, she was really helpful and approachable, providing useful tips and she is one of the staff who speaks better english. Thank you for the great experience and wonderful hospitality Blue Moon. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 18 in Amed
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#11 of 18 in Amed
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 18 in Amed
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Villas

Property: Blue Moon Villas
Address: Selang Beach | Selang, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amed
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise - with stunning ocean views - in enchanting Amed - East Bali. Stylish, relaxed and welcoming. Beautiful rooms. Set in a lush tropical garden with 4 swimming pools overlooking the ocean, is the perfect place to relax in Amed, East Bali. Our unique boutique resort nestles on a small headland overlooking the Bali Sea with access to the beach below us. Complimentary High speed WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Moon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Villas Hotel Amed
Blue Moon Villas Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing