We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Moon Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$65
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$25
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
310
141
47
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
141
47
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskomang johnthe penthousejohn's restaurantocean front suiteroad noiseinfinity poolstunning viewsthe clifffishing boatsopen air showeroverlooking the sealight sleepereach morningfresh seafoodwatching the sunrisesnorkeling gearbalinese style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A fantastic place to stay and great food! Blue Moon is located 5 km east of the main part of Amed and offers a range of rooms and some great dining. The Rendang Sabi is the best beef rendang dish I have had anywhere in the world! Komang John and his staff are friendly absolutely helpful and totally professional. Our interactions with the staff on a daily basis was highlight and made our stay here so much more enjoyable. Particular thanks to Nilu. The rooms are large and comfortable and have great views. the only negative is that there is only one road in this area and so it can be a bit noisy in the afternoons and mornings. Despite this when we come back we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you Barry for giving us 5 stars!! We appreciate that so much. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great and enthusiastic review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will come stay with us again. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
As you loved our restaurant so much, you may consider writing a separate review for Komang John's Cafe.
Big Hello from all the staff.
Best regards, Komang John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Blue Moon for the second time in two years and once again had a great time. We've found the staff here to be the friendliest of all the places that we gave stayed in Bali. Most of the staff are the same as when we first stayed in 2010. We stayed in the Blue Star Apartment with our one and three year old. We spent a lot of time in the pool gazing out at the ocean and the kids loved it. The breakfasts are the greatest, and what an amazing way to start the day with friendly service and that beautiful view. Just like to thank all the crew at the Blue Moon for another great stay!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Eyurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed as a large family group (7 adults + 1 toddler) in the 4 blue paradise rooms, which were a good size and attractive. From our arrival at Blue Moon, we were struck by the gorgeous gardens and pools. The view from our rooms, over the pool and gardens to the sea was stunning. We enjoyed regular afternoon massages on the sun loungers from local ladies (go to the beach and you will find one them or ask the hotel staff to book one) and took a few late morning boat trips (arranged on the beach with Renda) to snorkel at the coral gardens just before Gili Selang, about 20 minutes away, which were fabulous.
We usually ate at the Hotel restaurant, which we enjoyed and thought was good value. There's a wide selection of food, including Indonesian and European dishes. The chocolate cake was delicious. Some of the other local restaurants offer a free pick-up service, so it is possible to venture outside of the hotel, even if you don't have your own transport.
A few points to be aware of:
The hotel is built on a hillside, therefore naturally there are lots of steps and the steps are steep.
Likewise, to get to the beach, you walk a very short way along the road and then go down steep steps (no handrails) to the black sand beach. There are lots of pretty fishing boats on the beach and there is good coral for snorkelling. It's still got a traditional feel and there aren't any sun loungers or parasols. There a few locals selling things but this is occasional and we didn't find it at all intrusive. The locals were very friendly and welcoming to us. The handmade kites and model boats on sale are rather nice.
The bathrooms for our rooms were open air. This was fine except in one of the rooms, where the bathroom was plagued by mosquitoes, especially at dawn and dusk. After being ravaged by the evil bloodsuckers one morning, we told the hotel, who gave us a can of baygon to eliminate them. So long as we sprayed the bathroom before each use we avoided most of the bites. However, there are a few mosquitoes about all day in the shade, especially near the ponds and vegetation so you need to take some precautions to avoid being feasted upon.
The cleaning staff need your key to clean your room and will ask you for it when they see you in the morning. The rooms were kept very clean and are in good condition. The air con worked well, as did the safe, hot water etc.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the booking process involves sending your credit card details by email or phone. We did this and haven't had any issues. Paying at the end of our holiday took a little time as all the card machines were rejecting our payment - communication errors - but eventually one of the machines put the transaction through successfully.

Overall, this is a beautiful place to stay. The staff were friendly but professional, the rooms were very attractive and well presented, the views are stunning, the pools are lovely and the restaurant is good. The nearby beach has good coral for snorkelling. Amed is still fairly undeveloped and the beaches are quiet; however there are still plenty of restaurants and a proliferation of dive schools.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank ScotConvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Blue Angel Studio.

Good points :
- Localized near the Japanese ship wreck (15 min. by walk)
- Wonderful view on the sea from our swiming-pool
- Very pleasant swiming-pool
- Very hearty and delicious breakfast

Bad points :
- Expensive restaurant and quite hard to find another place to eat as the blue moon is isolated...
- The bathroom wasn't in our room... What a joke for a 95€/per night hotel! A shame! (even if it's written on the blue moon website)
- A useless kitchen where there is nothing to do! We would have prefered a bathroom!
- Blue Moon is isolated and far from everything... You are dependant of the hotel...
- Staff unfriendly, not smiling at all
- Blue moon is using weird exchanges rates which are never on your advantage !

To sum it up, you only pay for the view, you get a very bad value for money.
You can find better at a cheaper price in the area!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank marpie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Blue Moon Villas is worth booking directly with, although it would be good if they considered getting a secure online payment system instead of emailing your credit card details. That aside, the booking process was smooth and we organised a car to pick us up from Seminyak for the 3 hour journey. Getting there was easy.
Once there it is difficult to describe how spectacular the views are. We were in a penthouse suite, way up high (only stairs to the top), with daybeds on the balcony to just sit and take it in. We woke up to stunning sunrises each day. The view, the pools and the grounds are all beautifully maintained and quite charming but I do wish we'd paid a little extra for the absolute ocean front. Just an added luxury, the room we're in is completely fine.
A couple of disappointments. We booked a sunset snorkelling trip which it appears they forgot to book and at the last minute an unwilling fisherman stepped in. It was obvious he didn't want to take us and made us feel quite uncomfortable. We did snorkel which was fun, as was the boat ride but he then didn't stop for us to enjoy the sunset from the water and hurried back after snorkelling. I double checked if he was supposed to stop with reception in case we had misunderstood, and he was, he just didn't want to be there.
The second disappointment was I booked a 6:30am yoga session, the teacher was supposed to come to the villas. He never showed up. The staff were very apologetic about both incidents and gave us a discount for the boat trip. It must be difficult to rely on locals for their activities but you would expect they have their preferred people for these activities.
The restaurant is very good, great breakfast included and lots of fresh seafood caught that day by local fisherman (we watched them come in each morning just after sunrise). Worth trying also is the Japanese restaurant next door Aqua Terrace, the one meal we had there was probably best so far In Bali. Plus they have a spa there too. I didn't use that spa and instead booked with Blue Moon who use a local spa that they run you down and back to. It was ok. You can't really walk so without a motor bike you do rely on hotel transfers.
One thing to know about Amed is most of the properties at this quality are set up in the hills looking down over the road to the ocean, including Blue Moon. (With the exception of their 3 ocean front villas) so you do get some bike noise but it's part of Bali. If you want absolute ocean front and ability to walk straight on to beach you may lose the views from your balcony but there are a handful of resorts we saw right on the water with the road behind them. Or the smaller, simpler places are often on the beach side.
Finally it is a rural place so the crowing roosters will wake you up but we quite enjoyed the alarm clock as it meant we saw the spectacular sunrise which was worth getting up for. Plus, it's lovely to see the farm next door from the balcony, instead of another resort.
Overall I would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews