We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bubu Racok Homestay
Ranked #3 of 75 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lublin, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent at Bubu Racok 4 days.We stayed in the upper room, it was more expensive that down room but worth the price. From the balcony we had the view of the see and volcano. It was very relaxing to spend time on the balcony drinking delicious fruit cocktail from Wayan. Also the dinner prepared by Wayan was excellent: grilled fish, gado gado and other Bali dishes (I don't rememember their names). We wanted to pay Wayan for the dinner, but he didn’t accept it. We felt in Bubu Racok like at home. Wayan was very tactful and we never felt uneasy with his presence. I don't want to repeat good opinions over and over again but I can confirm that everything positive that people have written on tripadvisor about Bubu Racok and Wayan is true.

We rented a car (they have a parking place) and we were making one day trips. Also snorkelling in Jemeluk Bay was nice. But above all Bubu Racok is very good place for chilling out.

Room Tip: Upper room has excellent balcony with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
142
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during a 3 week vacation in Bali and it was one of our most memorable stays. The owner, Wayan, is extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. He and his family made us feel very at home and were extremely quick to help arrange anything we needed, including snorkelling gear, rides around Amed, and restaurant recommendations. The room was spotlessly clean every day. We stayed in the top floor suite and loved having the privacy and gorgeous views of the ocean and Mt. Agung from the balcony. It's true what other reviewers say: Wayan makes the best banana pancakes in Bali! He also cooked us 2 incredible Balinese feasts of freshly caught mackerel and tuna with fish cakes, gado-gado and rice. The snorkelling out front was good and more private than the popular bay. Bubu Racok is a must-stay in Amed. The only issue we had was the low shower pressure and lack of reliable hot water, as well as a periodic sulfur smell in the bathroom - A small price to pay for an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker_and_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Bubu Racok in July 2014 and Wayan and his family could not have been more accommodating.
Amed on its own is a delightful place to spend a number of days chilling out and snorkeling on the coral reef but the welcoming and "nothing is too much trouble" attitude of Wayan and the whole family, made our stay very special.
We felt very sad to leave after just 3 days. We will be back.
Our room was simple but lovely and faced onto the beach with Mt Agung watching over us.
We walked straight out of our room onto the beach and could go snorkeling directly out front, which we regularly did with snorkeling gear from Bubu Racok.
There are plenty of swish hotels and other delightful places to stay in Amed, but for the personal touch it woud be hard to beat Bubu Racok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelsons255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived at bubu racok and immediately fell in love. It is situated directly on th black sand beach of Ahmed and comes with all the amenities! The room was immaculate and our gracious host Wayan set us up with everything that we needed! The snorkeling was amazing and the massages on the beach were the perfect way to end the night. Wayan also set up a private tour of the area that was great!! I suggest trying the chicken tutu down the street at warung Ahmed but just make sure to order it a day in advance. However, you may still be full from the amazing breakfast that wayan prepares for you it's filled with fruit, pancakes and French toast! Absolutely amazing!!!! Our stay at bubu racok was an amazing way to start our vacation in Bali!! If you are staying in Ahmed it is the best place to stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amj08002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We choose this lovely place based on TA reviews.

The surroundings:
- Amed is a small fishing village where they don't treat tourist like a moving ATM. We never felt that here. Everybody was always smiling.
- The guesthouse lies on the beach, where you can see nice corals, fair amount of fish, and the sunset behind mt. Agung. oh and if you are lucky, you can see turtles as well.
- a very good warung is only 20 meters away
- fast boat harbour to the Gilis only 1 km away
- not crowded at all
- ATM and money changers 500m

About Bubu Racok:
- spacious rooms, cozy beds, AC, marvelous sea view, you have your own beach with free sunbeds.
- The room was always clean, bathroom has always had hot water, breakfast was amazing!
- Wayan was a very friendly host, had a good local knowledge and he has his connections: He can help book a fastboat or a driver for you at a fair price. And of course he is always willing to talk to you and just keep smiling and smiling! :)

You should stay here, a true home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night based on the reviews. Wayan is a great host - very friendly and helpful with arranging transport etc. We were in the upstairs room with air conditioning and this had a beautiful sea view. The room is basic but very clean and with a comfortable bed. There are good restaurants and dive centres within walking distance.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Bubu Racok. The homestay comprises two floors, each being a separate unit. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is right on the beach, where, with the use of the complimentary snorkel and fins, you can view some nice coral and lots of fish. There are also delightful views of Mt. Agung and Mt. Batur. Wayan, the host, went out of his way to make us feel welcome, even though he had a lot of other commitments with Nyepi day and two weddings. Amed has the benefit of not yet being a tourist mecca, and remains quite, surrounded by gorgouse fishing villages which you can visit by renting a scooter for the day. We had a delightful time and would highly recommend Bubu Racok to other travellers that would like to get away from the more frantic side of Bali.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
22.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
179 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
2.0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#1 of 75 in Amed
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
3.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 18 in Amed
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bubu Racok Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bubu Racok Homestay

Property: Bubu Racok Homestay
Address: Jl. Jemeluk, Amed, Abang 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bubu Racok Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bubu Racok Homestay Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing