We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - best place in Eastern Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Griya Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We are a German couple and have now spent our second holiday on Bali. Last time we stayed at the Santaibali in Amed, not far from the Griya (which did not exist back then). The Santaibali was already a wonderful little resort and our family loved it. We decided that this year we would stay a few nights at The Griya and we were not disappointed at all. We stayed at one of the villas which all have mountain and ocean view - sunrise included :-) The villas are balisese style, very nicely furnished and decorated. The best is the terrace with the infinity pool in front of every villa. Service is great, people are very helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed - it feels like staying with friends. There is nice beach with a pretty good snorkeling reef /diving area only 10min walk away, which we enjoyed very much. The most difficult part was leaving this great place...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your nice comments about our resort. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us, and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back at The Griya. We can not wait to see you soon again soon here in Bali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

this hotel has been just absolutely fantastic. a brand new, beautiful and spacious pool villa with fantastic views, a spectacular open-air bathroom... we are still lingering in memories of that hotel. although the others we've been to on that trip (the menjangan & puri wulandari) have been amazing too, just mentioning "the griya" still puts a smile on our faces

in such a place you don't want to leave the villa, so it comes in very handy that the food has free delivery to the room and the quality both of breakfast and dinner was worlds better than any 'room service' i ever had.

Room Tip: we've stayed at villa 1, which was beautiful but right next to the restaurant. at night no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gryffx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Griya Villas in oct. 2013. (honeymoon trip in Bali).
the Griya is the best place we stayed in.

Villas are new (opened on 12/12/2012). The whole team is fantastic.
Roma Sirait (operational manager) was really nice and helpful.

++: Luxury service in the villas (private inifinite pool with ocean view, good sound system). Good place for diving (Liberty Wreck in Tulamben). Motorcycle rental to visit the area.

--: on thing we did not really appreciate was the price we paid to the hotel for the shuttle + boat to Gili Islands. In the shuttle, we met other people (not from Griya) who paid less than half the price we paid, for the SAME service. I do agree that the Griya takes a commission on this, but this one was really huge, and the service was not better than others, even worse as we had to get up earlier as we were the first customers to jump on the shuttle bus.

That's why I put only 4/5 for the Griya !

Fabien, France.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much for spending a part of your honeymoon at The Griya and we were very happy to hear that you ranked us as the best place where you stayed in Bali. We will deliver your nice comments to our staff and they are for sure happy to hear that.

Please accept our apologies for the pricing of the Gili boat transfer. We are usually adding a moderate fee on the top of the prices provided by other service providers. Unfortunately we were not aware that apparently there has been some bigger low season discounts and therefore our prices seemed to be out of the range. We will improve pricing follow-up with these companies, so that similar incidents don't happen again.

We look forward to welcome you again soon at The Griya Villas and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at The Griya for 3 nights and love the place. I occupied a beautiful 2-bedroom villa with an amazing view. The grounds of Griya are beautiful as well. Staff is very friendly and will do whatever they can to assist you and make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Food at the restaurant is very good. The bed was so comfortable I did not want to get out of it. Music in the room, restaurant, and bar was really just amazing setting a nice ambiance to everything.
A couple of things to be prepared for are there is no 24-hour dining or rather no food after 11pm when the restaurant closes. Also, the shower has no pressure and the temperature fluctuates. Use the removable hand-held that is with the bath if you want to get a shower with pressure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorinrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriyaManagement, Owner at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for staying at The Griya Villas and Spa and it was so nice to hear your nice comments regarding our resort. We will regularly share our customers feedback to our employees, since we believe that it is a great motivation factor for them to hear appreciating comments from our guests, and also comments for improvement.

We take all comments positively and thrive to improve our services even further based on your feedback.

During your stay we had some minor problems with our main pump system, which is designed to supply a steady water pressure to all villas in different levels of the sloping contour where The Griya stands. It was sorted out quickly, and we apologize if that caused an unnecessary inconvenience for you during your stay.

We were very happy to have you as our guest at The Griya and look forward to welcome you again soon in Bali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

For divers who wants better accommodation and comfort, this is the place to be.

I traveled with my spouse and friends to the remote diving village, Amed, for 4 nights. Booked a villa with 2 rooms and private pool. Good enough privacy inside the villa (except the master toilet can see the window of an upper villa!) and reasonably priced.

The place is clean and comfy. Friendly staffs and conveniently located. About 10min walk to Lipah beach for good coral snorkeling, 20min car ride to Tulabam village where the famous USS Liberty cargo ship wreck is. Lots of diving centers so travelers has plenty of choices. The diving locations are all shore diving meaning you simply walked into the shore with equipment!

Food in the estate is ok considering most convenient diving locations aren't expect to have good food. Lots of European there despite end if peak tourist seasons.

There certainly areas the estate can improve, such as no treadmill in gym (but who needs to exercise more after 3 dives a day anyway?) and you can't find the light switch in the gym! The staffs are very friendly but need training....English is not their native language so prepare to do mots of explanation on what you need. SPA is good only for massage - and never try the Creambath there, not an enjoyment, trust me, when your head is pressed for an hour.

By the way, for those who buy data SIM card at Depensar airport and want to go to Amed, buy XL. The phone reception of Telkomsel network is poor in that area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you so much for your stay at The Griya Villas and Spa and we are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable.

Thank you also for your feedback for our villas and spa facilities and service.

We apologize that we did not have time to close the view between your bathroom and upper level villa. It was a mistake and it will be corrected already now as we speak.

We are very proud of our Spa service, being the first real high quality Spa in Amed area. Unfortunately your Cream Bath experience was lacking, because we still did not have a proper place for doing it when you tried out our new service. We are going to get that improved very quickly, since it is our new service at the spa.

Thank you again your nice feedback to us and we sincerely look forward to welcome you again at The Griya Villas and Spa... And we may introduce you the next 10 diving sites that you did not tried yet in Amed area:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked a last minute 1-night stay at The Griya during our week in Bali in September. We didn't want to leave! The manager is extremely helpful and accommodating and kindly upgraded us on arrival. The place is gorgeous, one of the nicest places we have stayed anywhere in the world. The rooms are beautifully furnished with luxury touches, stunning views and complete privacy. The private pool with views across the hillside and ocean is breathtaking, and the rooftop bar was great for chilling out after a day snorkeling on a reef located at a lovely beach not more than 15 minutes walk from the hotel. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. We had a double villa, the view is amazing! The room is so nice! Every morning you feel like in paradise! It was our best holidays ever! Service is perfect (this is a real 5* hotel), all the staff is so nice, the villa are amazing, we use to go in very nice hotel, but this one is definitely the best! The restaurant is also very good and not too expensive. Amed is so beautiful, we ´ ll definitely come back, the Griya hotel, the location,the view, service are just perfect! 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattCecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
1.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 22 in Amed
507 reviews
1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 22 in Amed
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
13.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 22 in Amed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Villas and Spa

Address: Jl. Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Amed
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £136 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Griya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the beautiful, intimate and luxurious modern Balinese villas set in the most awesome natural and exotic surroundings that you can find in Bali, The Island of Gods. The Griya Villas and Spa is a luxury villa resort located amidst lush gardens in the beautiful area of Amed, East Bali. It offers 1-,2- and 3-bedroom villas with a private swimming pool, two restaurants, fitness centre and spa. Free Wi-Fi and parking are available.Spacious and luxurious villas feature modern Balinese architecture and high-end interiors. Every villa has a large living area with sofa, flat-screen TV with BOSE Home Theatre and a dining area with fully equipped kitchen. Bedroom villas have walk-in dressing room and en-suite bathroom. The villas open out to a pool deck with the great sea and mountain views.Guests can enjoy the relaxing day at the common swimming pool or a soothing massage at the spa. Safka Restaurant and Terrace, along with Maku Fine Dining Restaurant serves both Asian and International cuisine designed by highly experienced executive chef. The Griya Villas and Spa also has a 24-hour front desk and offers services such as laundry, baby sitting, tour arrangement and a car rental at a fee.Amed area is well known of some of the Bali's best snorkeling and diving sites, breathtaking scenery and good choices for many activities around East Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Griya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Villas And Spa Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing