We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went for dinner, drinks and a swim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Griya Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved the view. Had great service and even a free pickup from our other acommodation in Amed. Very luxurious feel but not too pricey when we ordered drinks and food. Very nice tapas style things on the menu too.Treat yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our ocean view villa was amazing! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Food and drinks were very good at hotel restaurant. Atmosphere at hotel was lovely. I fell in love with Griya :)

Would go there again anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mortti_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

amed must be visited. quite small village. not a lot of tourist. griya is a very good resort but over priced. good food and nice terrace to have a drink for the sunset. nice villas even if the private swimming pool is not well oriented to the sun... i do not advice the massage... our worst massage experience in bali... the ladies are not well trained...we were very disappointed by the view from the swimming pool next to the restaurant, the website of the resort has not been updated whereas 2 bungalows have been builded up by a neighbourhood in front of the pool which kill the view from the pool and restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Bali, including 4 nights in a 2 bedroom villa at The
Griya. Our stay was flawless - everything from the villa, the pool, the staff and the food was exceptional. In particular the personal attention from the staff and the approach to managing my food allergies were appreciated and impressed me greatly. It was quiet peaceful, beautiful and secluded. I highly recommend The Griya and have already enquiried about rebooking again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MiettasMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We just went for cocktails. Ended up having 3 each( recommend Ginger Fizz) and delicious antipasto. Drinks, food and staff were great. A lovely way to spend the afternoon and watch sunset.You must go.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Penne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

In the spirit of all of my reviews, I aim to shed light on things that need improvement, rather than trash a hotels reputation. If you follow my reviews, I DO NOT stay in bad places. The Griya is quite nice, many private villas (of various sizes) are available depending on your needs. I was in a two bedroom villa. Lovely view, clean room, nice amenities, and service was friendly and adequate. Modern light switched, and lighting. Pool was a nice size, but not for swimming laps. Not very deep so it wasn't exactly "refreshing".

My biggest gripe, and this might seem silly, but it really became an irritating issue after just a day or so. You get one key for the main villa gate, one key for the living room, and separate keys for each bedroom. When you come and go, the process to unlock and relock all of your doors gets old QUICK! The lock sets are mounted on the door jam side of the doors, not the flush side, so I scraped my knuckles MANY times. I had considered posting a pic of my knuckles, but I'll spare you :-). Key cards would solve this issue.

The other thing I didn't like was that my bathroom (can't speak for all villas) was covered but open to the outside. You'll stay dry but the bathroom cannot be air conditioned. For me, this isn't a big deal, but I know some of you might like your midnight trips to the bathroom to be as cool as the rest of your villa.

Big positive is access to The Griya's restaurant. Best in the area. . . . Of course you'll pay for it! Free breakfast was QUITE good, and they have an actual espresso machine (hard to find in this region).

Overall, the Griya is quite nice. But for the price (more than double other nice properties in the area) there are things they could improve on, and should for the price.

Room Tip: Book lower villas and you won't have to climb too far. They offer golf cart transport to your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VillaCandiMatahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review and comments of The Griya and Spa. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

In the villa kind of accommodation unfortunately key card style locks are not working very well (opposed to standard hotel room) when in Balinese concept of the villas where we have different bedrooms and living areas and they have to be able to be locked independently. Also, when two couples are living in our two bedroom villas, they appreciate their own key to their own bedroom usually.

Also what comes to bathrooms, we have decided to follow a Balinese concept of semi open bathrooms, that bring a taste of exotic feeling for the holiday, rather than air-conditioned standard bathrooms in standard hotels. We are aware that small minority of our customers would comment of our decision, but still we prefer to be exotic and luxury Balinese, than standard hotel bathroom.

Thank you for your nice comments about our restaurants. We are indeed proud of those and happy that so many visitors are rating them as the best in the Amed area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel so I can't rate the rooms, but the setting of the pool and restaurant is stunning. They offer a free pick up and return service from anywhere in Amed so after a morning's diving we decided to go to griya for the afternoon. All of their villas have a private swimming pool so the main pool was nice and empty. The resort is up in the hills so offers some great views from the infinity pool (complete with swim up bar), the decor is all in tasteful Balinese style. After an afternoon at the pool we went up for cocktails on the roof terrace which offers some nice sunset views sitting on comfortable lie down sofas.

The dinner was nice, not amazing, but still nice. The menu offers a selection of both Asian and Western dishes. We went for a tapas selection, including tuna bruschetta, quesadillas, empanadas, mushroom croquettes, and bell peppers. The reason for the 4 and not 5 rating is because it was quite expensive and we've eaten better for cheaper. However, the setting is lovely, the staff are courteous and helpful, and the free pick up for non-guests is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pocock_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your nice comments of our restaurant atmosphere. We have also a nice ala carte menu besides the Tapas (fine dining and more casual menu), which is more suited for the dinner experience, while our Tapas menu is more targeted for poolside or lunch snack. However, we take your feedback gratefully and inform it to our Chef. We hope you try next time some of our tempting dinner courses, since we believe you would not disappoint of those:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
1.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 22 in Amed
507 reviews
1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 22 in Amed
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
13.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 22 in Amed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Villas and Spa

Address: Jl. Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Amed
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £136 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Griya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the beautiful, intimate and luxurious modern Balinese villas set in the most awesome natural and exotic surroundings that you can find in Bali, The Island of Gods. The Griya Villas and Spa is a luxury villa resort located amidst lush gardens in the beautiful area of Amed, East Bali. It offers 1-,2- and 3-bedroom villas with a private swimming pool, two restaurants, fitness centre and spa. Free Wi-Fi and parking are available.Spacious and luxurious villas feature modern Balinese architecture and high-end interiors. Every villa has a large living area with sofa, flat-screen TV with BOSE Home Theatre and a dining area with fully equipped kitchen. Bedroom villas have walk-in dressing room and en-suite bathroom. The villas open out to a pool deck with the great sea and mountain views.Guests can enjoy the relaxing day at the common swimming pool or a soothing massage at the spa. Safka Restaurant and Terrace, along with Maku Fine Dining Restaurant serves both Asian and International cuisine designed by highly experienced executive chef. The Griya Villas and Spa also has a 24-hour front desk and offers services such as laundry, baby sitting, tour arrangement and a car rental at a fee.Amed area is well known of some of the Bali's best snorkeling and diving sites, breathtaking scenery and good choices for many activities around East Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Griya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Villas And Spa Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing