We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rate as "all right", mixed feelings, though very friendly people and the rooms were worth the money we paid!”
Review of Joli Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joli Homestay
Ranked #65 of 76 Amed B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rate as "all right", mixed feelings, though very friendly people and the rooms were worth the money we paid!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

All in all we liked the place but there were shortcomings we'd like to share.
Mind that there are many houses that the family rents, so who knows which one you choose.
There were two couples visiting. Husband and me would still advise this place if the negative part of our comment doesn't bother you. The second couple was slightly less happy with the stay. And our family after returning to the island also chose to pay more and stay at another place. But we remember Joli Homestay with gratitude!

Positive:
* the host and his daughter and the rest of the family were very friendly and helpful, even provided us with baskets of hot water when we needed it (it's pretty typical and o.k. that the rooms don't have hot water);
* the location - it's very quiet here, you don't suffer from the noisy main road;
* clean and neat rooms with comfortable beds and fans instead of air conditioning;
* the price was really cheap, 8 dollars for a house with simple breakfast - in May, low season;
* the garden is beautiful and peaceful;
* a safe place with safe people.

Negative:
* we experienced lots of trouble with the insects, more than you usually do in a good bungalow on Bali, and it disturbed us, especially when it lasted for 2 days. After we complained the hosts started treating our rooms with more "baygon", and it helped a lot! And the second couple moved to another house where they didn't have this problem at all;
* an unplesant part was when we went to Pura Besakih with one of the host's son, the young man who is a good driver but whose company we didn't quite enjoy because he kept telling very obscene stories. We actually agreed to do this trip with him - rather than with other drivers we had met - out of mere politeness towards the host. And we did so on one condition - that the car would be big enough for our tall men, but the car was very small and not comfortable at all for a long ride of 5 people;
* the area that you need to pass to get to Joli Homestay was pretty dirty and smelly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joli Home S, Owner at Joli Homestay, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Daria,

thanks for staying with us and thank you for your constructive feedback. Concerning the problems you mentioned I would like to state the following:

Insects: As we are situated in a jungle-like surrounding we don't have total control over insects. Anyway we are doing our best to keep them out of the rooms and away from our guests. I hope it didn't cause you too much discomfort. We want to provide clean and neat rooms for all of our guests. Therefore we provide room cleaning service (change of bedsheets and towels, cleaning of all floors, cleaning of bathroom) on request. Just let us know and we will do it : )

Daytrip: We got a new car recently which is much more spacious so everybody should fit in comfortably.

Area: The road was rebuilt recently so you don't have to go through dirt anymore to reach our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in April, then returned again in May with a friend. This family run homestay has beautiful, clean rooms (I even had a Siamese fighting fish in a little vase of flowers in the spotlessly clean bathroom!). Away from the main street, only 2 mins walk to the beach/restaurants/shops. I was invited fishing in their traditional jukung, Joli drove us for a personal tour of white water rafting, silver workshop and lewak coffee tasting, and Wayan cooked us fresh fish for dinner. Even drove to Denpasar to pick up my friend from the airport! Can't wait to return, it's fantastic value and I have made some lovely friends here.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous with private balconies and gardens, even a little temple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joli Home S, Owner at Joli Homestay, responded to this review, 19 June 2017
Thank you for your good recommendation. We're very happy to hear that. If you have any chance please comeback and visit us again and Please send me a message on how to improve this place better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at Joli Homestay in Jemeluk for two nights in early 2013. The bungalows are extremely good value: spacious and clean with their own verranda and garden. Best of all is the delightful family who will do their upmost to make sure your stay is comfortable and you feel welcomed like you are one of the family. It was also great to stay away from the main Amed strip and in the village amongst the locals - it still only a couple of minutes to the beach but you really feel like you are away from it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joli Home S, Owner at Joli Homestay, responded to this review, 19 June 2017
Thank you for your good recommendation. We're very happy to hear that. If you have any chance please comeback and visit us again and Please send me a message on how to improve this place better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.0 mi away
Amed Beach Villa
Amed Beach Villa
#36 of 90 in Amed
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#3 of 76 in Amed
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bulih Beach Bungalows
Bulih Beach Bungalows
#32 of 76 in Amed
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Divers Cafe Bungalows and Dive Center
0.2 mi away
Lily Amed Beach Bungalows
Lily Amed Beach Bungalows
#3 of 60 in Karangasem
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shooting Star Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joli Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joli Homestay

Property: Joli Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Amed | Jemeluk Beach, Amed, Abang 80881, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at our beautiful place in the midst of trees and nature. We are situated in a quiet sides treet away from the noisy traffic of the main street. Our homestay is just a 3 minutes walk away from Jemeluk beach one of the best places for snorkelling, diving and freediving in Bali. Grap your snorkelling gear and have a look at the colourful underwater world. It's really worth it. Or go for a fishing trip with us. Our staff is more than happy to inform you about activities and organise them. Our clean, spacious and bright rooms are equipped with double-beds, cold-water-showers and fans. Each room has a private terrace with a beautiful view into the green garden. We can serve your breakfast there if you wish to. We offer cleaning service on request - just let us know when you feel that your room has to be cleaned. Following you find our price list: Low-Season (January - June): 120.000 IDR Mid-Season (September - December): 150.000 IDR High-Season (July & August): 250.000 IDR We are looking forward to meeting you :D ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Joli Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joli Homestay Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing