We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy bungalows next to the dive center”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pondok Bukit Bungalows
Ranked #41 of 80 Amed B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at bungalow 3 which was located next to a small swimming pool. There was also a large terrace with a beautiful sea view so you really get a feeling of privacy. The bungalow was spacious with an open bathroom. A mosquito net around the bed would have been a bonus ( we noticed that there was one at bungalow 2, looked lovely ) Now we loaned a plate from the restaurant and burned mosquito coils there.

The local staff was very friendly and helpful - our special thank you for the male gardener. He was always smiling and asked if we needed something. He also arrange us twice excellent massage from local women and we got them at our A/C bungalow. The breakfast was basic- coffee/tea, juice and 2 toast with jam. Sideorders were cheap and tasty: mixed juice, pancakes and omelette. We had also few lunch and dinner at their restaurant - tasty but had to wait for 35- 45 minutes so when we noticed that we bring our laptop and surfed with free WIFI for that waiting time.

They locate 3 minutes walk from the beach, short walk to a minimarket and other restaurants. They also arrange us pick up from our liveaboard from Benoa harbour and taxi trip back to the airport with the half price that liveaboard company offered us ! Good location next to a excellent dive center Jukung dive. We find this good value for money and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We saw the mosquito net around the bed at bungalow 2, it was not at our bungalow 3 if that matters t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarja_kihnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in Pondok Bukit Bungalows for five nights. The rooms were clean and lovely hot showers. We ate in the restaurant every night and the food was safe and excellent value. They have two pools and three or four rooms so it was lovely and quiet and quite private. The owners went out of their way to chat to us and make us feel welcome and were very accommodating with anything we asked for. Air conditioning was excellent but wifi was hopeless, kept cutting out.

Room Tip: Next time I would choose the room next to the pool as we felt a bit intimidated using the pool when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed here for three nights in March whilst completing my Advanced Open Water Course with Jukung Dive. The accommodation was reasonably priced. On arrival to the bungalows, you walk up some steps of a walled area, so the bungalows cannot be seen from the road. In order to get to your accommodation you walk along a wooden pathway where underneath there is a fish pond. There are seating areas with loungers to relax in and the pool is right outside the accommodation.

I stayed in the twin room on my own. On arrival, the room was clean and well presented. There was well functioning air con and a digital safe. To my delight, there was an open air bathroom attached to the room which meant you were showering being able to hear the sea and all the wildlife around you. The showers have hot water and the bathrooms are kept very clean.

The breakfast that was included was basic - toast, orange juice and a selection of teas - but was satisfactory for me. There was the option to supplement this with other breakfast items if desired. You can eat dinner at the bungalows restaurant also, and they have a wide writer including western and Balinese foods, which were delicious.

A note to women travelling on their own (as I was) - I felt very safe and well looked after for the whole of my stay and during my diving. The accommodation was secure and I had no concerns.

I had a very pleasant stay in the bungalows and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at Pondok Bukit Bungalows for 5 days while doing our Open Water certification at Jukung Dive. We had a wonderful room: very clean, nicely decorated, airconditioning, warm water shower and beautiful small sitting area outside. There is also a beautiful swimming pool for the few guests in this little resort.
We used their taxi service to go from and to the hotel: the drivers offered an excellent service, it is a correct price (compared it to other offers) and they use a pool of local drivers to support local economy.
We rented a scooter from a lady working in the restaurant and made a beautiful daytrip along the coast through local villages, a wonderful day!

And if you want to go diving: Jukung Dive was truly amazing! We had an amazing instructor (Sidarta), beautiful dive spots in the area and the entire organization is just very professional. Great experience, thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at Pondok Bukit Bungalows for 5 days while doing our Open Water certification at Jukung Dive. We had a wonderful room: very clean, nicely decorated, airconditioning, warm water shower and beautiful small sitting area outside. There is also a beautiful swimming pool for the few guests in this little resort.
We used their taxi service to go from and to the hotel: the drivers offered an excellent service, it is a correct price (compared it to other offers) and they use a pool of local drivers to support local economy.
We rented a scooter from a lady working in the restaurant and made a beautiful daytrip along the coast through local villages, a wonderful day!

And if you want to go diving: Jukung Dive was truly amazing! We had an amazing instructor (Sidarta), beautiful dive spots in the area and the entire organization is just very professional. Great experience, thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Did some diving as well in Amed with Jukung Dive and stayed in their bungalows; Pondok Bukit Bungalows (don't get confused; this is NOT Jukung Bali! Completely different place in Amed!! At Jukung Dive/Pondok Bukit Bungalows you get great diving, service, very nice rooms and great food....
If you stay in Amed, stay at the Jukung Dive Pondok Bukit Bungalows!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a huge family room with amazing ocean view...;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juul11-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at one of the three Pondok Bukit rooms for 1 week and did the 11-dive safari with Jukung Dive Bali. I left Bali a happy man.
Although the room is very basic and has no TV, it has aircon and a HUGE comfy 4-poster bed with mosquito net. The room is very clean and is nicely decorated. It is right next to the pool and has a view of the beach. The room is very quiet, I can hear the waves crashing onto the pebble stone beach every night. Water pressure is very low though, so showers take much longer than usual, but hey, no rush there, everything in Amed is sloooooowww...
The restaurant is pretty good too, may not be the cheapest around but stilll reasonably priced (around US$5 for an entree). Food and drinks are tasty and clean, it serves both traditional Indonesian as well as Western dishes. A nice and quiet environment to sit down, have a meal and read a book at the same time.
The dive shop is very well organized. The staff are experienced and know exactly what they are doing. I did most of my dives alone with the DM, who did 1,500+ dives in that area and knows exactly what to look for and where to look for them. As for the dive sites, most are quite beautiful but diving the Liberty wreck at night was definitely the highlight of my trip.
In conclusion, I would recommend Jukung Dive Bali to my friends and will stay with them again if I happen to go to Amed again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actm841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 23 in Amed
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Double One Villas
Double One Villas
#20 of 23 in Amed
107 reviews
0 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
0 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 23 in Amed
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Bukit Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Bukit Bungalows

Address: Beach Road, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range: £0 - £0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious bungalows all have seaview on the Amed bay and have a 3 steps access to one of our pools.Terraces are next to the bungalows.They have AC,private bathroom with hot water,safe,wifi.Nextdoor you will find our PADI 5 star dive resort Jukung Dive that welcomes divers from all levels and our famous restaurant ''Cafe Senang'' that serves breakfast lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pondok Bukit Bungalows Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing