We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Santai Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santai Hotel Bali
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Amed
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends and absolutely loved it.

The food is amazing with extra effort put in to presentation and quality.

The service and setting also really add to it. The prices are really cheap for the quality of food you get.

I was really impressed

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hollaceb-bodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

U will not find any better food elsewhere in Bali! Prices are a bit higher but its worth it! We didnt sleep in the hotel but came 3 times a day for meals! (We stayed in Dream House and the food was awful)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent hotel, great and friendly staff. Close to the sea, reef just there!. Good food, unique breakfast, morning tea from 6am served at your own veranda. Safe place, clean, parking place, room service 24h, owned by Finnish couple. Staff speak good English.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed a few nights at the Santai hotel in Amed.
It is a small scale resort, about 10 rooms, in a lush green garden.
It is all very compact and bungalows are very close to each other but there is no disturbance from the neighbours.
The restaurant serves good food and the staff is friendly.
You can start snorkeling from the tiny beach in front of the hotel. Plenty of fish and coral, but as in most places lots of dead coral depending on the area. The famous shipwreck is about 20 minutes by boat. The fisher'en have set the prices, so you cannot bargain much.
There are a handfull of restaurants nearby the hotel.
Wifi is available but pretty slow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldNavigator57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for staying at Santai Hotel and giving your nice feedback of our hotel and restaurant. Our home reef for snorkeling is indeed very nice. Those dead corals are usually on the track where local fishermen take their boats to the shore, but outside of that our home reef is indeed very nice and plentiful of fish life around. Wifi and internet service in Bali is not unfortunately as developed as in many other countries, but we in Santai have fortunately the fastest connection that is available in the area. On the other brighter side of it, you have more time to enjoy your holiday and maybe forget the busy business world for the moment:-) Thank you again your nice comments about our hotel and we warmly welcome you back at Santai! Hotel"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed at Santai with my boyfriend for 2 nights and we both thought the hotel was very average and quiet expensive.
The room are well furnished and the bathrooms lovely but there was a real bad smell of rotten wood as if the room hadn't been open in months. The restaurant is not good and expensive. The staff is helpful but any of the their offered cost 3 times what you can get going to the main office in the village. Santai location is not brilliant neither. Without a scooter you stuck in between jemeluk and the next village on a very busy road. If jemeluk has some lovely snorkelling location accessible from the beach, santai's beach is not great for snorkelling at all.
All in all, if I went back I wouldn't stay at Santai again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ali751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel and some nice feedback about us. Our hotel is very traditional in which all the rooms use natural materials such as wood, bamboo and alang alang roof. Sure smells like it will smell but most people know about the situation there. Our restaurant provides a menu of food with ingredients of exceptional quality. The high quality of the cuisine is our goal that the customer is satisfied. We actually also can organize a wide range of activities so that customers do not get bored while staying at our hotel. Snorkeling is actually pretty good in front of the hotel, but other places such as Jemeluk Bay and Japanese Ship wreck in Banyuning village are another option. Hopefully we have another chance to accommodate and serve you.We always strive to continuously improve our quality of which one input and suggestions from you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed in a another hotel close by and came here to me. We both had the seafood mixed grill of tuna, mahi-mahi and barracuda plus large prawns...it was one of the most memorable meals of my life! Preceded by a goats cheese and sun dried tomato salad with pleasant greens.

We loved our meal so much thagt we returned the following night only to be disappointed by Guacamole that had been taken from thr freezer and not defrosted propery...I had a lot to say about that..I mean..frozen gucamole, what were they thinking???

We also had afternoon tea there with coffee and to die for desserts, really good. We also booked the three hour 'Divine Treatment' package...massage, facial and pedicure...pure heaven and done by two women who cared.

All in all, really good quality food, restaurant staff need a wee bit of training.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shavasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Gorgeous, stylish bungalows, with steeply pitched, thatched roofs, natural walls, wooden floors, and lovely Balinese outdoor bathrooms.
Lovely sea views and gorgeous, small but deep swimming pool, and sun loungers with plenty of shade from the mature coconut palms and other trees.
A warm and calm sea with good snorkelling from the beach, although black sand and pebbles, so not best barefoot!
Attractive, open-sided restaurant under traditional high-thatched roof. The food was reasonable, but not as good as claimed and the service was patchy at best - there was no sign of an active manager and a clear need for some staff training.
All in all, an intimate setting, offering peace and quiet, but not really recommended for families with young or rowdy children.

Room Tip: Room 2 is best as view over the grass and the sea. If Room 2 not available then room 3 also good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
2.2 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 23 in Amed
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#20 of 23 in Amed
82 reviews
6.6 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santai Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santai Hotel Bali

Address: Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amed
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santai Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santai Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai Hotel Bali Amed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing