We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santai Spa Review”
Review of Santai Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santai Hotel Bali
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Amed
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed down the beach from Santai at The Kampung, but booked a one hour massage at Santai.
The spa "pavilion" is a roofed king size bed, screened from the pool area by roller blinds and right next to the beach so that you can hear the waves breaking during your treatment.
Our treatment started with a foot wash which I thought was a nice touch. We were then invited to climb up onto the high bed (could be difficult if you are not sufficiently agile). So there we were, my friend and I, lying side by side on a platform bed with two massage girls up there as well. It was by no means ideal. We were given full size pillows to lay our faces on - no way to breath through a pillow, no hole in the mattress to put your face and allow natural airflow. Awkward and uncomfortable. The massage itself was just OK, not great - with four of us on the bed there wasn't a lot of room for the masseuses to really get into a rhythm and apply sufficient pressure. At times I could feel the bottle of oil being lent up against me and the other masseuse accidentally touching me.
At most establishments it is normal to offer a cup of ginger tea after a massage so that the client can relax and come back down to earth slowly. Not here.
I actually thought that for the money the whole experience was pretty poor.
The cost was Us$18 + 10% tax +5% service. A total of 240,000 rupiah. It really annoys me when places advertise prices in US$. The currency in Indonesia is the Rupiah. Use it! It is disrespectful to do otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at Santai hotel, the staff was very accommodating. The food was very good. The small rooms were without furniture to sit on, but deck furniture was there. Nice Balinese coffee was served on your private deck each morning.

A short walk to atm and small convince store, where we found cold drinks, snacks, and limited gift items. The village has many photo ops.
I would recommend this to the seasoned traveler.

Room Tip: Chose close to the beach, better view and air circulation on patio. Rooms were dark IF you like to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixeychristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A friend had recommended this place and we agree: very nice and relaxing and right on the water.
We got what we booked: partial ocean view, and were happy with that.
Spacious room: an extra seat/sofa/chair and small table would have been nice, but hey.
Private balcony. Nice restaurant with good selection of food and drinks. Good and friendly service.
Right on the beach and one of the best spots for snorkeling just outside the property. Snorkeling gear rental.
Nice pool! Massage on premises can be booked.
We arranged to be picked up at our previous hotel and all went well and for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here for five days and stayed in three different cabins.

It was a mixed experience. The hotel is nice, the food is fine, amenities etc also fine. But the cabins were a mixed bag. And mosquitoes were a real problem that other places deal with much much better.

For example, there is a spa on site and the location couldn't be better, overlooking the ocean on a bed while getting a massage. But I spent the whole time swatting flies and mosquitoes as they tried to devour me.

The Good Stuff

-Pool very nice

-Snorkelling off the back is great

-cocktails

-Ocean cabins

-huge bathrooms

The not so good

The first cabin was small, and there was a smell of sewerage outside. We requested a move and paid a little extra and got an ocean cabin for two nights. Great view from the front of the pool, garden and the ocean. Unfortunately they couldn't keep us in the ocean one for the duration, but we got a different one at the back. Still not great, but better than the first.

-Mosquitoes: plug ins and coils in rooms not enough. Hotel should have sprayed regularly like other hotels do in Bali

-Not a lot of balinese food on the menu.

-smelly towels after one use

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexhamiltonaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends and absolutely loved it.

The food is amazing with extra effort put in to presentation and quality.

The service and setting also really add to it. The prices are really cheap for the quality of food you get.

I was really impressed

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hollaceb-bodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

U will not find any better food elsewhere in Bali! Prices are a bit higher but its worth it! We didnt sleep in the hotel but came 3 times a day for meals! (We stayed in Dream House and the food was awful)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent hotel, great and friendly staff. Close to the sea, reef just there!. Good food, unique breakfast, morning tea from 6am served at your own veranda. Safe place, clean, parking place, room service 24h, owned by Finnish couple. Staff speak good English.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.9 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 23 in Amed
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#20 of 23 in Amed
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amed Oasis
Amed Oasis
#11 of 23 in Amed
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santai Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santai Hotel Bali

Address: Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amed
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £43 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santai Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santai Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai Hotel Bali Amed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing