We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anda Amed Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anda Amed Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had 3 totally relaxing nights at Anda Amed. Our hillside ocean view bungalow was clean & comfortable - the gardens & views are just beautiful. The airconditioner did struggle to cool the hot & humid weather and it would have been nice to have a wndow to open. However, the friendly & attentive staff outweighed this - arranging tours; moped hire; snorkelling equipment. Cocktails by the pool, looking out the ocean, was just devine. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chips888_13, Owner at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Anda Amed Resort. Sorry to hear about the air-conditioning but all of our windows do open so I will make sure we point that out to future guests. I hope you find the time to visit us again some time. Kim & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    56
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
81
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Friends booked the Anda Amed for us and I had noted the mixed reviews. All I can say is that from the moment we arrived at our villa we were in heaven. After the lovely staff lugged our cases up the hill we sat on our veranda day beds which over looks the sea, had a glass of wine and decided this was the most beautiful accommodation setting we had experienced in Bali. Everything just kind of flows out from the hill to the sea beyond. Our unit #7 was not a single view, but a mix of ocean, roof tops, plant and bird life.

The only negative would be for people who don't like or can't climb up hills. (We embrace the exercise so it's a plus for us). There is a fairly steep winding but decorative concrete path that makes its way through the plants and up the hill to where the units are. You have plenty of privacy, with the exception of the villas that were adjoining presumably for families and friends.

All the finer details of hospitality relating to food, service, restaurant advice, drivers, the air conditioner, mozzie nets, billings etc were all perfect with none of the minor details left to chance.
For the price we didn't expect this. They give you a locked mobile phone to ring the owner or the front desk if you need anything and don't want to go down the hill.

The restaurant was excellent.. The owner Kim suggested the stirred fried chicken with basil which was indeed excellent. I liked the spring rolls and the Cap Cay especially. The chicken satay was also good. A friend had the Nasi Goring several times and loved it. I don't like Risotto but some people raved about it, though all agreed on the last night it wasn't as good as before!? The wine was cheap by Bali standards (mostly 250,000 rp per bottle). We stuck to the "Two island" Cab merlot I think it was, which was a good (but not great) standard. The desserts were good enough to have several times, though nothing in particular to recommend there.

The infinity pool and surrounds overlooks the sea so we swam every day and then moved over to the outdoor dining area for lunch, card games etc.

We had the "worst lightning storm ever" on the last night so we all huddled in the blacked out downstairs area with the staff and convinced ourselves that we would live, which we did, though it lasted long enough to get through another bottle of wine and was so close we could hear and see the sparks from the earthed lightning rods near the pillars. In the morning the only casualty was the wireless.

Although we are Australian, the few other guests at the time ware European as are the majority of guests in the town of Amed as far as we could see.

The "sunset bar" is about 50 metres up the road and is a great place to watch the sun go down and have a pre dinner drink, though we didn't try the food there.

Room Tip: Request a lower hillside villa if you don't like walking up hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chips888_13, Owner at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for visiting us here at Anda Amed Resort. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will get around to visiting us again sometime. Kim & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went to the restaurant because it was recomended in our rough guide. We choose a table near the pool. Really nice!

The risotto and the steak was OK. But the mashed potatos weren't great. Choose something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chips888_13, General Manager at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
I apologise if your meal was not up to standard. We are reviewing your complaint and will endeavour to correct the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We arrived at Anda and were pleasantly surprised of the beautiful setting. The bungalows were private, well equipped and nicely decorated. The garden, pool area and restaurant were great but i didn't appreciate the fact that the ugly electrical power lines across the pool view to the ocean had been photo shopped out of all of the photos on there website. It felt like you could almost touch them when doing a few laps. Thats false advertising!
Staff were fantastic. No complaints with them what so ever. Nothing was too difficult for them and they were very willing to help with everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They were very knowledgeable and were more than happy to provide information about the area and services available both in and outside the hotel.
The great disappointment came when we witnessed the aggressive and very rude behaviour of the english owner Kim and the manager towards their hardworking and gentle staff in front of some very shocked and disgusted guests. Their aggressive behaviour was extended to some unfortunate guests while handling what seemed to be some minor complaints. They showed a great lack of managerial skills as well as class and common decency. We will never stay there again as we were very offended by the lack of gratitude and the exploitation of these beautiful and gentle people.What gives them the right to treat people like that? If it wasn't for good staff and paying customers they wouldnt have a business.
They should be ashamed of themselves!!!!

Room Tip: A tip? Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chips888_13, Owner at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
I would like to let you know that the cables were not photo shopped out of the website photos. Infact when the hotel first opened those cables were not there. The hotel has asked the telephone company once a month for a year to pay to have the cables put underground however unfortunately this has never been successful. With regard to bad treatment of hotel staff, the staff in the hotel have been employed for many years and most surely would have left the hotel if their treatment was unfair or nasty. There are many hotels in the area and employment is plentiful. On the particular occasion referred to something quite unacceptable had happened and perhaps the matter could have been handled better but it stemmed from a very bad situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

The hustle of Seminyak is great for a few days but when you have had enough, head to Amed! I caught up with friend there for a lovely weekend, and Kim and her trusty pal Scooby ( a gentle German Shepherd, one of her many rescue dogs) who never lets her out of his sight, are hosts a par excellence. Kim has lived in Bali for many years and what she doesn't know about it and neighboring Lombok is not worth hearing. Cottages vary slightly in size and style, as they terrace up the hill, and each is totally private and has a lovely garden and view of the sea. The restaurant opens out on to the pool area, where duck-friendly popcorn is complimentary. The only blight on the poolside area is the ugly tangle of wires that cascade across the resort at eye level, in front of the pool and above the main road. Kim says she has been trying in vain to get rid of it for years, possibly because locals can tap into it for free. There are a number of restaurants and spas in the vicinity, and I recommend watching the sunset from the bar diagonally across the road, but have a beer or a soft drink, as the cocktails seem to be made from a local liqueur that is a bit dodgy. There is a nearby temple which is on top of a mountain.....quite a climb but worth it, I believe. Candi Dasar, where I have also stayed, is down the road a bit, with more shops and restaurants than Amed, but still with a sleepy village feel. And as for Kim being difficult to deal with, it seems she does not suffer fools gladly.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pandora1japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was actually staying at another (supposedly upmarket hotel) in the Amed Area. I was not happy there and so did a check around other hotels and came across Anda Amed Resort. It couldn't have been better. The staff were helpful, rooms simple but lovely, views forever and unlike in the last review my experience with the owner was great. She was happy to offer information about the area and was generally good fun. The restaurant is lovely, set next to the pool and with views out to sea. The menu was just enough and included Indonesian, Western and Vegetarian dishes. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

When arriving it was few steps to the restaurant and receptions, some of the rooms are closer and some further up the hill. If they are all the same they are all nice, simple, TV, lovely beds with huge mosquito nets, aircon, bath, shower, TV etc. They have an outside area with table a chairs which we nice to rest up before heading out for the day. Our room has an excellent view of the beautify sunrise and out to the ocean in the east. To see the sunset head across the road and there is another cafe/restaurant for that.

Rolling down the steps to breakfast and the infinity pool was fine, the breakfast menu was good, simple and fast, the staff we meet were all lovely.

The pool, beer and cocktails were outstanding !

There is a simple beach across the road, but it was rocky and mainly for the fisherman. They do have a co-op over there and we had a party with a massive (close to a metre long) fish that the staff cooked for us for dinner which was incredible.

If you want to snorkel/dive is it a great base, and a million miles from the hustle of Denpasar. Really this place is meant for you to relax and forget.

Room Tip: The lower rooms are more convenient, but the upper rooms have an excelent sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveColvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.2 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.7 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 18 in Amed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#7 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anda Amed Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Amed Resort

Property: Anda Amed Resort
Address: Jalan Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#5 Spa Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anda Amed Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Anda Amed Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Amed Hotel Amed
Anda Hotel Amed
Anda Amed Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing