We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the Life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is the Life!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed for a week with our two kids (aged 9) in Paradiso Villa. We arrived tired after the long but scenic trip from the airport and were greeted on arrival by the friendly staff with their always-smiley faces. We opted for lunch on our terrace in front of our villa overlooking the beach. Lunch was delicious, as were the breakfasts and the dinners we had at the resort.

We never got bored with the breakfast options and probably had the best fresh juices of all our holiday in Bali. The restaurant may not face the beach, as has been pointed out in previous reviews, but it is beautifully decorated, has a great vibe with ponds and water features surrounding it. The menu is extensive and we could not fault any of the dishes we had. It is set off the road, so there is not much passing traffic noise. The chocolate brownies were a massive hit, as was the carrot cake.

We absolutely loved the villa, the high quality furnishings, including four-poster beds and 2 lounge areas, our little private garden with terrace and outdoor shower with its gorgeous shower products. Our bath was filled with flower petals on arrival, a nice touch.

We didn't find the mornings too noisy, as the fishermen tend to use their sails, not motors. The roosters can be annoying if you're a light sleeper, but we enjoyed very restful nights with the sounds of the little waves breaking on the beach.

The resort itself is a quaint and well thought-out oasis with beautifully manicured gardens, fragrant frangipani and other blossoms, water features and lighting. We just loved spending time in and around the pool and enjoyed a couple of massages there too. It is definitely a great idea to spend a few days relaxing there and not doing too much. We had a peek in a pool-side cottage, which would be more than comfortable for 4 people. The cute little verandas all face the pool and have enough lush vegetation around them to allow for privacy. We noticed many travellers enjoy a drink here, read a book or just soak up the atmosphere.

We checked out a few other resorts in the area and were quite convinced that we had made the right choice to stay here. The resort seemed mostly full during our week there, whereas other top-ranked resorts reported much lower occupancy. I can only imagine that it is a lack of reviews that don't put Life in Amed at number 1!

Dinner options away from Life were easy, as most restaurants have a pickup/dropoff service. Sails is worth a visit and is an easy walk. The reception staff was always happy to book a table and pickup service for us with the restaurants which were further away.

We took our own snorkelling gear and found the snorkelling about 100m from Life towards Sails very good. Reef shoes are definitely a good idea as the beach is not easy to walk on and there can be sharp-edged pebbles. There is virtually no current, so we didn't find that we needed our flippers. We also snokelled at Lipah beach, which is just a 15min walk away. There is more extensive coral there and amazing fish varieties. At Lipah, next to Café Indah is a little boutique run by Made, whose very friendly and knowledgeable husband (also Made, I think) works at Life in Amed. Made offers massages at her boutique and they were definitely the best I had while in Bali. She is also a massage teacher, so she knows her stuff!

All in all, I cannot recommend Life in Amed highly enough. The staff run the resort seamlessly and all seem to enjoy what they do. It is a place where local life carries on within a few metres of the resort, which we loved. Our kids played football or volleyball on the beach with the local kids, the language barrier not an issue.

If you want to get away from it all and enjoy a mix of local life, customs and the luxuries we all love, including delicious food and comfy surroundings, then you will love Life as much as we do! We hope to be back one day.
Thank you, Sarah and your wonderful staff!

Room Tip: If you like a bit more space and your budget allows, Villa Paradiso is the way to go. The Perfumed G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taswalsh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    91
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
118
104
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very pleasant villas, ours had a view of the ocean and the beach. We had a Masters bedroom downstairs, a living area and one bathroom. Upstairs was another large bedroom with a smaller living room. The upstairs room was not as private as there is no door from the stairs area. Also only one bath but sufficient for us. The shower is out doors (tall walls provide privacy)
If you go on the beach you will immediately be approached by people trying to rent you masks and snorkels, or offer their massage services.
The swimming pool is small but pleasant.
Breakfast is not very big, we were still hungry. Dinner was much more appropriate size wise, and very tasty.
Personnel is friendly.
There is not a lot to do in Amed besides going to snorkel (about 10 min from hotel by car) or take a ride in a small fishing boat.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LVMABP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A beautiful peaceful little resort in a fantastic location and excellent value for money. All rooms are only a few steps away from the beach if not on the beach. Its a peaceful, relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta/Legian. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and great snorkelling just off the beach. The restaurant was great- the organic salad was delicious. Although its a little away from the strip of restaurants its very easy to find transportation and I actually think it adds to the charm of the place. I would definately return to Life In Amed and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giggleloop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We've been to Amed quite a few times and by far this little resort is the best experience we've had in Amed. Great location, awesome rooms, lush grounds, delicious designer menu and we dare say the best food we ate in Amed. The resort is Superbly designed with the perfect balance of mod-cons, natural beauty and artistic integrity with so much loving attention to detail. Our standard cottage was luxurious and very comfortable, we had the best night's sleep under the airy roof, and awesomest solar-powered hot showers in the cool outdoor bathrooms.There's a whimsical elegance to the entire grounds that makes you just want to hang out more in the resort itself, - the smack-on-the-beach positioning of the resort is perfect and we always felt as it we were the only ones on the very quiet beach. We ate all our meals at the restaurant, the menu is healthy and skillfully designed, the brownies & chocolate decadent cake are amazing! You can feel the heart and soul that went into crafting out this place. One night was not enough and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Beach cottages are perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CloudNineFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We found Life in Amed through a friend of the owner. While it is luxurious and very comfortable, it is pretty far along the road, and there isn't much right around it. We rented a scooter, and that allowed us to reach a wider range of restaurants and other attractions during our stay.

We stayed in one of the larger villas, which had a second-story veranda and an open-air bathroom, which we enjoyed. We didn't really need the first-floor bedroom because we wanted to stay in the upstairs one, which was brighter and more private. However, the AC was not really sufficient for the size of the place, and we found it cooler to sleep downstairs one or two nights.

Room Tip: If you can afford a villa, go for it (even as a couple)--it's We enjoyed Sari Sunrise Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spark_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a beautiful, intimate resort set in a remote fishing village outside of Amed. The rooms and grounds were pristinely maintained and the food was delicious. The owner, Sarah, has put her heart into every design detail throughout the resort and it shows. I know it may sound like an exaggeration, but I really did love everything about my weekend stay at Life in Amed.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the smaller villas which was perfect for one person, a couple, or even a family w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent five glorious days at Life in Amed after using their pick up service from the airport. We stayed in the Paradiso Villa - right on the beach. It was fantastic to wake up each morning and listen to the oceans, roosters and sometimes the pig next door. You might hear the fishermen as they leave each morning but noise is minimal.
We spent our time - snorkeling off the front of the hotel, sitting by pool, reading, eating and sleeping. Breakfasts are good (but if you’re looking for an 'eat 'til I'm stuffed' buffet you'll be disappointed), and more than enough to start the day. We had lunch most days at the hotel and a couple of dinners but if we had dinner at Sails (up the road) we always had dessert at the Life. The chocolate decadent cake is to die for…Thanks to Sarah, the owner, who recommended it for a chocolate fix!! Food was good at the restaurant and would recommend it.
Staff are helpful and pretty unobtrusive which was great.
The resort is not huge but we never felt overwhelmed with other guests around. My tip is stay in the Paradiso Villa if possible. Great views over the beach, nice verandah to sit and watch the locals especially the kids, and a couple of day beds upstairs and down if you want to sit inside. Also it has a bar fridge, safe and multiple air conditioners plus an outdoor shower with plenty of hot water.
We didn't have any hassles with the locals trying to sell to us. Just said a polite but firm no, thank you (tidak, terima kasih).
This is a place to relax and unwind - if you're looking for party central then this is not the place for you.
Will definitely come back, and maybe hire transport so we can look around the area further.

Room Tip: Paradiso Villa on the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lake_Eildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#4 of 18 in Amed
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 18 in Amed
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#7 of 18 in Amed
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Property: Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. We offer Yoga Classes to our guests and visitors to the Amed coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing