We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
173
131
33
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
131
33
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mangrove suite outdoor bathroom menjangan island national park infinity swimming pool bayview room romantic place dive shop diving activities pearl farm mangrove forest a bit tired motion sensor staff were so helpful satay small portions indonesian dishes
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 354 reviews
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 2 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at Gawana in early July. We have two children aged 15 and 8 and we all love snorkelling, which was the attraction of this resort.

Firstly, West Bali is a long, long way from Ubud, Denpasar and Kuta. In time, culture and climate. Our driver must have taken us on a scenic route as it took us over 5 hours from Ubud, dodging chickens, mopeds and dogs all the way. The landscape got drier and warmer after we passed over the central mountains in low cloud. Very dramatic.

Our sense of fatigue disappeared as we reached gawana as it truly is an oasis. The views are to die for and the architecture of Lumbungs and low bungalows is sympathetic and unique.

The Gawana is obviously not new place. Many of the fittings, fixtures and fabric are a bit tired, but this just adds to the charm. It's not the 'four seasons' but that's a good thing. We had two Lumbung suites, but in reality we only used one as they are easily big enough for four. Facilities in the suites are a bit basic but we were there for the snorkelling so we didn't really care. There is a games room, reminiscent of 50's holiday camps and a single on site restaurant. Eating out isn't really an option as the nearest village is very small and not set up for tourists but to my surprise and delight the restaurant was excellent. The chef really knew what he was doing and his creations would not have been out of place in 5 star horels in Singapore or Hong Kong. The tuna tataki was incredible.

Snorkelling and diving takes place at the nearby coral reef and is simply wonderful. The gawana has it's own dive centre and we were kitted out by Anya (an ex-pat German) in excellent wet suits an gear. We were also provide with a guide, a boat and pilot and lunch. All fabulous.

There has to be some down points though. West Bali is quite Muslim and I was awakened by the call to prayer at 4 am and the accompanying cockerel calls. The hotel also made a mistake with our booking and there was a prolonged negotiation to get it fixed. For obvious reasons this place attracts honeymooners and we were the only family there. if it wasn't for the Japanese scuba divers we would have felt like real goosberries!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Equality_7-2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

Wonderfully landscaped property in relatively remote northwestern part of the island (Taman Nasional Bali Barat). Much less touristy than Lovina, and definitely not a place to party or surf like Kuta and no huge resort style complex like Nusa Dua or Jimbaran. If you like nature at its best, surrounded by tranquility, facing a calm bay, opportunities to row and dive, in an intimate setting far from modern civilization, but still accompanied by attentive, knowledgeable staff who respects privacy, then this is the place for you. No television in rooms. CD players for music only.

Hard to find if you are driving, unless you are adventurous. Amazing adaptation of the indigenous architecture, and very tasteful incorporation of modern amenities into the bungalows. We stayed at both the Lumbung suites (inspired by traditional structures) and the Mangrove suites (only 2 available). We prefer the Lumbung for its unique design and mezzanine bed. Our parents like the Mangrove for its single floor plan with indoor-outdoor bath featuring a large soak tub fed with hot water from a nearby spring.

Dinner at the poolside restaurant was fine, not excellent, and expensive for Indonesian standard, but as expected in an establishment this calibre. There are not many dining options around the area, and we prefer to enjoy the property, so we were glad to dine onsite. Good wine called "Hatten Aga", especially the white, cultivated from a local winery.

The best feature besides the suites are the infinity swimming pool and the pier, very relaxing and quiet. Picturesque nature abound. Check out the pictures. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NigellaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

This was a very nice hotel with beautiful grounds. Very close to the dock to dive Menjangan Island. The food was very good. Nice pool overlooking the ocean. The only thing the hotel needed was a beach, but it is close to a lot of temples. They have the best staff.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tynert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made J, Manajer at Naya Gawana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Tynert2

Warmest Greeting from Naya Gawana Family
We would like to thank you for your feed back to us, and we would like to apologisefor being late to respons, we hope that we will have the honor to have you back for staying with us in your next Vecation and share a memorable journey with us in Naya Gawana.
Once again Thank you for your Review and hope you are having a lovely Day

Best Regard

I Made Juliarta
Operation Manager
Naya Gawana Resorts and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

My wife booked this hotel, one of four we stayed in on our Bali trip. It's 4.5 hours from the airport - if you travel up in the evening, you miss the opportunity to visit some under-visited and interesting sites on the way. It's way up in the North West of Bali in the national park - great for wildlife, onshore and underwater. The resort arranged reasonably priced transfers with a knowledgeable driver. It is peaceful and beautiful. We stayed in one of the two suites with private outdoor gardens and it's big plunge pool/jacuzzi fed by a natural volcanic hotspring was a real treat. There were only two other guests at the resort when we were there. The staff are friendly, gentle and helpful. The swimming pool has a view to die for. It was a great option for us as I could dive (slightly wacky, but very knowledgeable guides, especially for Secret Bay) while my wife used the spa and went bird watching and jungle trekking. The restaurant food was unexceptional, except on the night when we booked a special meal via the chef and it was outstanding. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and divers wanting something special: absolutely zero nightlife so ideal if you want a peaceful, special retreat. Maybe because we went in the rainy season we got a special deal, but we thought it was exceptional value for money.

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank MontySturdeeMount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews