We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst tour of my life! MUST READ REVIEW!!!!”

Hampton National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Towson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hampton Historic Site offers a glimpse into Colonial and early American lifestyles.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Worst tour of my life! MUST READ REVIEW!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tour would've been better if it was self guided. Tour guide was very strict on making everyone stay within five feet of her and veiwing areas were very hot and small. If someone tried to look in another room or stand in the doorway of the room she was talking about she would yell at them and make everyone stand extremely close to one another! It took 30min to get through 3 small, tiny rooms and we had not even got to the second floor yet!!! If you take the tour be prepared to be bored to death. Also don't try to leave the tour because the tour guide will not let you. This was one hour of my life I will never get back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Historical house, well preserved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Impressive house with a lot of history, well preserved and good tour. There is a small gift shop and a short movie shown on a tv. You can walk around the grounds as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Arrived to the site without any problems. I was disappointed to learn that the tours for the buildings only friday, saturday or sunday. Only the grounds were open for walking. There is a substantial amount of land to walk, but a guide was have made this better. Did not really enjoy this visit here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bklyngirl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tour Guide Makes the Difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Angela Roberts, Park Ranger, gave the 3 pm tour today, and did a Wonderful job. She is passionate about her job and it shows. Really opened my eyes to a perspective I could never gain from my suburban American 20th Century lifestyle. Highly recommended for anyone interested in the history of families in Maryland, enslavement of blacks and whites, or period architecture. Plus there are some nice nature pictures on their Facebook site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West tisbury, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rare Historic retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Beautiful gardens, acres of rare trees surround historic grand house and the surrounding peaceful farm houses, diary, carriage barns. Amazing staff gives free tours of the mansion and details of the grounds. A true retreat into another time. Peaceful benches to view the grounds and escape.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinyarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hampton National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Hampton National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing