We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/good bed, but that smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Towson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location/good bed, but that smell”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I was here for four nights while my daughter was in a lacrosse camp at the University. The hotel is conveniently located, just a few minutes from the large shopping mall and from the University. The breakfast was actually pretty good and the staff was very attentive down there. I also had lunch once in the Vietnamese restaurant on site and it was delicious. My biggest issue was with the smell. I don't know if it is what they use to clean things with or if they are trying to hide something but there was this smell that left me with a sore throat and a headache. I guess I am sensitive to smells. I would stay here again in a pinch but might search elsewhere first

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rick4184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    194
    91
    56
    50
See reviews for
244
88
54
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice bar. Average hotel breakfast. Staff were constantly cleaning-especially in breakfast area, which was quite impressive. Bar tenders were highlight of stay---they can really mix a drink! Kudos! Front desk staff were hit or miss but no major issues. Location was great and pricing was unbeatable for weekend rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgetDely, Manager at Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are pleased you decided to stay. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I always trust Tripadvisor. But, not on this one. The hotel is cheap, and there is a reason why.
It is filthy, and smells terrible. The two men out front are not drunk as one review stated. They are nice, with handicapps. But, they do walk around the hotel, and scared the children.
On our 2nd floor they held some sort of seminar and there were all sort of people walking around freely on the guest floor, which I found odd, and not too safe. Considering it was right beside our room. There are all sorts of people walking around this hotel all day. My biggest complaint is how dirty it is, and the smell. I am sorry, but I definitely would not stay here again. I don't think I would consider another Best Western after this. Life guard at the pool does not speak any English, he sits in a corner with his Ipod and ear buds. Front Desk girls are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iveybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Towson hotels

Lansing, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Here's my experience the last two visits with the BEST WESTERN PLUS Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites:

Last year my 82 yr old mom and I traveled to Baltimore for her cousin's funeral. She had a handicapped room at this property and the hand held shower unit wasn't correctly installed and fell on and cut her foot. The staff was very attentive and kind but didn't have a first aid kit.

Sadly this year another cousin died and I called for a reservation on Sunday evening for two rooms on Monday so we could attend his services. I was on hold several minutes and the person who answered the phone checked on me a few times to say she'd be back with me as soon as she could. After several minutes (I think more than 10) the harried staffer took my request for two separate rooms - one for a handicapped guest - for one night arriving Monday. It was chaotic in the background and I was hesitant to pass along my credit card info over the phone and the staff member confirmed in haste that it wasn't necessary to hold our rooms with a credit card since we didn't expect to arrive late the next day. Sadly, when my now 83 year old mom and I arrived on Mon at 3:30 pm the reservation had been put in the system for the night I called and the front desk staff refused to honor the prices for each room; indeed, the prices they offered were more than 50 percent higher.

We left to stay at another property less than a mile away and it cost much less. The rooms were clean. The staff was helpful. We will never return to the Best Western.

(I tried to provide this written feedback to the hotel directly; alas, I can t find a link.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMKrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgetDely, Manager at Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant one. We are making changes constantly and with these improvements, we do hope you will give our hotel another chance. Thank you in advance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Over the past several months. I have had quite a number of overnight visits to Rockville MD. My daughter has been expecting her second child. Because of its convenient location I have used BW Plus Towson. The staff has been accommodating above and beyond the norm. We have found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. There breakfast is a generous start to the day. We will continue to use them as our little family grows, and the rewards program is a nice bonus on top of everything else.

Room Tip: I have found rooms close to the elevators a pkus.
See more room tips
Green Features: Smoke free rooms are truly smoke free. I have found the environment to be well kept and welcoming.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgetDely, Manager at Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for enjoying your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I just stayed there this weekend. I was immediately greeted by two drunk bums in the front of the hotel. My immediate reaction was that the hotel was felt trashy. The staff is very nice but the room I was in was disgusting - right by the elevator and ice machine. The noise started at 5 a.m. The walls were paper thin. Could not sleep. There were so many stains on one of the mattresses that I had to have my daughter sleep in the bed with me. The pillowcases were dirty with someones hair on them. The carpet and chair felt stained and dirty - we felt like we couldn't take our shoes off so we showered with the flip flops. The breakfast was ok. Would never stay there again. Couldn't wait to leave. What a waste of money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineR113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here during a quick trip to Baltimore for a funeral. It was held in Dundalk and we were able to get there in less than 1/2 hour as the hotel is easy off/on the beltway. We arrived late, after 10 pm and the bar was still open so we could relax. The breakfast bar in the morning was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmksmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towson
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel
1.8 mi away
Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
194 reviews
5.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#29 of 66 in Baltimore
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites
Address: 1100 Cromwell Bridge Rd, Towson, MD 21286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel Towson
Best Western Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Towson
Towson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing