We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strawberry Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Baturiti B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

The property is well mantained with lovely gardens. Rooms are comfortable and you can be assured of a good night's sleep. It was definitely low season when we stayed - hardly anyone here. Food really needs to improve. Dinner at restaurant wasn't the best. Undercooked chicken satays and vegetable curry that had been frozen then heated, but still cold. Breakfast was quite basic. If you don't have a car, it's a bit too far to walk to another restaurant. You can walk to temple and markets but traffic is quite heavy and it's not a really enjoyable walk. Impossible to get transport from temple to hotel. We did a 4 hr trip to Munduk and surroundings which was really pleasant and highly recommended. Found a driver at the local markets. The local markets are definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voila88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

I went to Bali last December 2012 and decided to go again in January 2013. But something came up and I wasn't supposed to go to Bali due to that. Somehow, miracle happened and I did went on the plane and off to Bali in 4th January. For the whole trip, we stayed at Kuta Lagoon Resort & Pool Villas but because we wanted to see the Dolphins in Lovina, we choose to stay a night in Bedugul. To be exact, we stayed in Strawberry Hill Hotel just before Pasar Candi Kuning.

The place was AWESOMEEE.. (the bed, the hilly view, the washroom, and everything!) Had GREAT YUMMY nasik goreng specially made by Pak Agus & Pak Mohamad. We felt very welcome by the warm hospitality. The YUMMY strawberry juice freshly made from the strawberries at the garden completed our whole experience there. The room & the view ohhh.. just MAGNIFICENT!

The facility is of also good. We didnt really bother about the NO KETTLE issue like the rest of the commentator because we were too busy enjoying the place. I brought my son, 4yrs old and he LOVED it...

I hope to come here again and see the lovely faces of the staff there especially Pak Agus, Pak Mohamad, Ram (and the other tour guide that I cant recall the name) and hope to explore more of Bedugul... LOVE IT!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

This place caters to rich foreigner as well as Indonesians and the price reflects that with great ado ideation. Not much around except for the lake close by. This is a place to escape from the heat and being lazy and watching t. And ordering room service. Super cute property and the service was fantastic. The food was some of the cheepest we had and was pretty good. No charge for room service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tboneabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Strawberry Hill offers a pleasant and good-value accommodation option in Bedugul. The gardens are beautiful, and the cottages are spotless and very generous for the price: lovely bathtubs, great pressure in the shower, enough space for luggage, etc. The restaurant has a pool table and a dart board, free to use for guests. The views are nice, although not as spectacular as some make them out. And there is room service, as well as free WiFi.

The downsides? Breakfast - for which there is a neat system (boxes are ticked to select your choice the night before) - was repeatedly late (on our last morning they had not even begun to prepare it thirty minutes after it was meant to be served). The Indonesian food was tasty, as was the Western food, although the menue was fairly limited and the burgers were absolutely minuscule (not more than a quarter of the size of the bread). There is a laundry service, but our clothes all came back damp and absolutely soaked in some kind of scented laundry detergent. As did the room after every cleaning. And in the wet season, the rooms and linen are extremely damp. And it is a bit noisy because of the traffic, although not too bad when all doors and windows are closed.

All in all I would not say that this was a great place to stay, but it was pleasant enough and very good value. With some small improvements it could be even better.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others - ask for good views when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Strawberry Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your review and helpful comments. We are addressing all the matters that you have brought to our attention. Burgers have been fixed, and we intend that the laundry problems will be eliminated. We are working on breakfast punctuality.

As for dampness in the rooms during the rainy season, there's a limit to what we can do to overcome this - we have a dehumidifier in our housekeeping storeroom, to ensure that dry fresh linen reaches each room. Used and unused rooms are aired daily. In Bedugul we sometimes do not see the sun for several days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with my family. We love the room so much as it is overlooking the mountain and the view of morning mist is simply magnificient. We felt like staying at our own and dont want to leave. The room design and layout is very well thought of. I have no complaint with the hotel and service. However there are few things that might need attention or improvise;
1- its kinda weird to found out there are lot of flies even at night because the hotel is very clean and well kept. Its a bit annoying to have breakfast in the morning sorrounded by flies.
2- i would like to suggest the Management to provide kettle and hot drink facility, for those travel with small kid will definately need hot water for milk. As the restaurant close as early 8 pm and there is no cafe nearby it will be better to have coffee/tea in the room.
3- the breakfast is quiet dissapointing in term of quality and execution. Can be improve.

Room Tip: I stayed at room No 22, i think it has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terubuk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Strawberry Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you for a fair and balanced review, with some helpful comments.
Regarding the 3 points you make, we would like to offer the following response:
1) Flies
Indeed this is a problem that we would like to eliminate immediately, if we were able to, and we would like to point out that it has nothing whatsoever to do with standards of cleanliness in our hotel, which are high. It is a seasonal problem, and the present onset of the rainy season has made things worse for a while. Strawberry Hill is surrounded by fruit and vegetable farms. In recent years there has been a trend to introduce organic farming methods in Bali. Hence natural manure is used extensively as fertiliser, and insecticides are not used. The result is good in many ways, but an unwanted side effect is the presence of flies. Not a lot we can do about it, but as I say, fortunately the problem comes and goes according to seasonal weather patterns.
2) Electric Kettle in the Room
We have not so far provided this facility because our staff will supply freshly boiled water on demand at any time of day and night. Guests just need to call Reception to ask. Coffee and Tea facilities in the rooms may come at a later stage, but at present our room rates would not justify such a service.
3) Breakfast
We offer an a la carte breakfast, and we try to cater for many different guest preferences. We are unable to provide a buffet, because of unpredictably wide variations in occupancy rates, and we prefer to offer freshly prepared food. We are certainly always trying to improve our standards, and we very much appreciate your suggestions in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have stayed at this small boutique hotel several times in the last couple of years when we had guests visit us and we can always count on a great experience. The small cottages are perfect for an overnight stay and we love that you don't need air con since it's sonics and cool. Always remember to take something warm to wear! Also, try the Eat, Drink, Love coffee shop in the market place...great cappuccino and delightful staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not directly on the road for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliestesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I had booked one night in Bedugul but stayed for two. it was by far my favorite place in Bali. First the hotel: gorgeous, modern mountain cabins, very confortable. The hotel has a nice unexpensive restaurant with a mac with the internet and a pool table. The service at the resto was really slow though.

The hotel room has a binder with different tour opportunities. I asked them about it and they made the guide come meet me at the hotel so we could chat. His name is Ram and you should book him if staying in Munduk or Bedugul. His english is good and he is a very friendly, happy person. He designed a custom tour for me and we rode on his motorbike, it was a great day. I highly recommend!

I also walked to the temple (30 min), next to the highway, not the best walk. The botanical garden is 10 minute walk and very beautiful.

The only thing I didnt like was the smell of menthol in the room, and the sheets were damp because of the humidity.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The wifi did not reach the last cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audream9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baturiti
3.8 mi away
Pondok Nyoman
Pondok Nyoman
#1 of 1 in Bedugul
4 reviews
17.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#68 of 200 in Ubud
933 reviews
13 mi away
Aneka Lovina Villas & Spa
Aneka Lovina Villas & Spa
#11 of 26 in Lovina Beach
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Tulip Saranam Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Puri Candikuning Retreat
Puri Candikuning Retreat
#1 of 15 in Baturiti
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Hotel

Address: Km. 48 Jl. Raya Denpasar-Singaraja, Baturiti 82191, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Baturiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Baturiti
Price Range: £28 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Hill's individual cabins incorporate features of a typical Indonesian mountain-style residence, such as wood floors, and wooden-clad walls. Each has a comfortable, colourful and cozy interior, a balcony facing one of Bedugul's dormant volcanoes, and its own en-suite bathroom complete with bathtub and plenty of hot water, for those unexpectedly cool high-altitude evenings. Our restaurant serves tasty Indonesian and international favourites, and on cool nights boasts Bali's only real log fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strawberry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Hotel Bali/Baturiti, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing