We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and awesome restaurant ”
Review of Kebun Impian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kebun Impian
Ranked #5 of 60 Karangasem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and awesome restaurant ”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Kebun Impian, and it was a really relaxing and enjoyable time! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and offer a great view on the ocean! John, the owner, and his wife are very welcoming and nice!
The breakfast was delicious and generous.
Finally, we had dinner there both nights and the meals were excellent!
Minor detail: the wifi is really slow, this being way it's a great way to be disconnected :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneParisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
57
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

On the first day on the new year, under pouring tropical rain, we had a nice and simple lunch at the restaurant. Good atmosphere, a bit slow service, kind owner. All in all a pleasant way to spend the afternoon, overlooking the Lombok strait and munching away on Indonesian food.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank adriana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The beaded bottle of Bintang beer proffered to you on arrival by John... somehow he always remembers what you like...Wayan always looking younger..."Team Kebun Impian" always smiling...want to go snorkeling, fishing, surfing, sightseeing, John will fix it.

Try the barbecued tilapia fresh from the pond...they use coconut husks for fuel for the barbecue, hence the special taste.

They always have interesting people staying there. We've had numerous late night sessions shooting the breeze with John and Wayan and his guests.

Any more superlatives and you'd think this was a paid commercial, it ain't !

Can't wait to get back,

Glynis and John.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 575Glynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

On a friend's recommendation, I checked into Kebun Impian for a week's quiet holiday. Due to a computer booking error, I arrived a day before expected and they were full. John, the owner, quickly rectified the situation by driving me over to his friend's resort down the coast. It was fine, but I thrilled when John showed up on time 2 days later and returned me to Kebun Impian, in the lovely oceanfront bungalow. I had a private house with a private deck and a really cool outdoor shower. All the stone and tile work was designed by John, and his lovely wife Wayan is the resident chef. They made sure I had transportation to the local water temples (must see!) and to a yoga class in Amlapura. I had several massages and even my hair done. Staying at Kebun Impian with it's calm cliffside cabanas for reading or lunch, and it's really cool pool designed by John, was a true vacation. John and Wayan treat you like family while still giving you privacy and space. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front is best, then the 2 in the main house are excellent. The 2 bungalows in the back are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

In October 2013 my family spent an incredibly relaxing fortnight with John and Wayan and their team at Kebun Impian. From the moment we first arrived until our departure, we were treated extremely courteously, waited-on hand and foot and wanted for nothing. We were collected from the airport and driven in their own private 7 seater to their location in the village of Seraya Barat which is in the far south eastern corner of the island, just about as far as you can get from the more infamous touristy parts of the island. Here we were guaranteed a peaceful and stress-free holiday. Our driver was family member Kadek who was available to drive us whenever and wherever we wanted to go. The roads of Bali vary a lot in condition but even the best parts are not for the feint-hearted being crowded with motor bikes, cars and lorries and are, for the most part, much narrower than we are used to in Europe. It is then, of major interest to the reader that never in the whole two weeks did we ever feel unsafe with Kadek. He is a very competent and careful driver and he very definitely puts the comfort and safety of his passengers first.
Kebun Impian consists of a compound in which there are five guest rooms, three of which are at the back in the gardens. It is here that my family were housed. There were us two grandparents and our two daughters with their respective partners. One daughter has two little boys aged four and two.
The rooms were very clean and well maintained with very comfortable beds and large showers in en-suite washrooms. The rooms all have terraces where you can sit in comfort outside if you wish. The large central terrace acted as a meeting point where the whole family could sit and socialise and where John would sit and avail you with all manner of details and useful information of the surroundings and what was on offer.
Central to the garden was a complex of fish ponds where John breeds crayfish for eating and also many small fish which are useful in eating insects. In this endeavour, by the way, the fish are helped by the local geckos which can often be found guarding the accommodation against marauding flies and mozzies. They are comical little characters which live high up on the walls and which are no bother to us humans at all.
To one side of the compound is a large covered area (these are much in evidence throughout Bali and known as Balés, pronounced Bah- lays). This is the restaurant where we took all our meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Beyond the fish ponds is a small lawned area and then a lovely swimming pool, cleverly divided into three areas: a kiddy-safe shallow area, an adult shallow area and a deep-water channel for serious swimming. The grounds end at the sea; literally, or should I say, littorally as there is just a small beach made of pebbles and then the sea. On either side of this rear boundary is a small balé where you could sit in peace and watch the waves crash onto the beach. The sound of the tinkling pebbles as the waves receded was mesmerising. I often got up at the crack of dawn (about 5.45) and sat here to watch the sun rise out of the sea. Once or twice I even ventured down onto the beach where I was surprised at the antics of little fish that "walked" over the larger pebbles and even jumped from one stone to the next! Anyway, to complete my description of the grounds of Kebun Impian I should mention the fabulous collection of trees and flowering shrubs that festoon the compound with all manner of botanical delights ranging from coconut palms to Bourganvillias, Hibiscus, Gardenia and my own favourite, Lotus. John was, by trade, a talented stonemason and evidence of this talent is to be found all over the garden where exquisite carvings abound, none more so than in the small temple at the front of the compound where a pair of dragons guard the entrance.
John's wife is Wayan who is a great cook. Wayan is the driving force behind this business and works tirelessly behind the scenes organising the team of waitresses, cooks, cleaners, room-changers, pool cleaners, fish pond technicians, etc. Wayan's food was a delight. Breakfast was included in the room rate and ranged from the usual eggy choices to Indonesian treats like nasi goreng. For lunch I often settled for salads, leaving the real culinary delights for the evening. There are other places to eat locally but why bother when the food here was so good and so reasonable? Being a seafood lover I tried all the fish dishes on offer including marlin steaks, grilled crayfish, prawns and Ikan pepes, a local speciality consisting of a fish and herb mixture cooked in banana leaves. The meat and vegetarian choices were just as yummy including the chicken satay kebabs, various curries and the tofu and tempeh bites. Remember that although Indonesia is a muslim country, Bali is a predominantly Hindhu island and that pig products like pork and bacon are easily available. Desserts were varied but if I could pick out two favourites they would be the delicate, incredibly light coconut and palm sugar filled pancakes and the wicked fruit salad with a chocolate dipping sauce.
The pace of life at Kebun Impian was such that we were more than content to wile away the hours in the compound just sitting relaxing, having a massage or manicure, talking, playing with the kids in the pool, reading, photographing the wildlife and in all these respects, John was a congenial host but ultimately he insisted that we see a bit of Bali and was a great facilitator, taking us himself to various places or organising Kadek to drive us. Even a trip to the local mall, "Hardy's Mall" in Amlapura was an experience with John as our guide. Another great shopping trip was to the outdoor market in Amlapura where we wandered amongst the locals selling their fresh produce of vegetables, fruits, spices and fish. A 20 minute walk from Kebun Impian takes you to the lovely water palace of Taman Soekasada and a drive with Kadek can take you to even lovelier palaces further afield and to white sand beaches, the town of Padek Bai where you can hire boats for fishing or to Ahmed where there is a superb coral reef crowded with exotic fish a few metres off the beach which is the nearest I have ever been to swimming in an aquarium. It has to be said that other attractions in Bali are far enough away from Seraya to necessitate a very long drive and spending four of five hours in a car with two small children in thick traffic was not my idea of time well spent, so we missed a lot.
Lastly I must mention the wonderful cultural experiences. John and Wayan are practising Hindhus and were incredibly kind in allowing us to join them on a trip to the local main temple. We wore sarongs and really entered into the spirit of the day which included listening to a full-on gamelan orchestra. The people of Bali are very spiritual and we thoroughly enjoyed the rich mixture of colour and sounds and mingling with these friendly, inclusive people.
Kebun Impian costs around 50 dollars a night per room for bed and breakfast and as you may have gathered, I couldn't recommend it more highly. Any reservations? Maybe I should mention the many sets of steps without any handrails which would make it difficult for the elderly. Disabled people might also find it difficult but this writer is himself lower limb disabled and managed without mishap.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the three "Ocean View" rooms at the back of the compound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarkajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

. This is our second visit to Kebun Impian, we just love it here and can't wait to come back. Wayan and John's hospitality is the best and the girls are so sweet and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. This time my friend Andy and i did one of Wayan;s cooking classes. We first went to the local market to buy all the fresh ingredients, this was great to see , the people just doing what they do, not some show for the tourists. Around 11am we started preparing the food, satays, tempe, corn fritters, Balinese salad and black sticky rice for dessert. What a feast we had YUM !!! I would recommend anyone staying to do the class.Also have a massage by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We'd like to thank John and Wayan and their staff for an enjoyable few days at Kebun Impian.
Wonderful breakfasts and delightful food in general. The fresh water crayfish dish are certainly a treat. Our garden setting bungalow was quiet, secluded and private. The position of the pool is stunning. Thanks John for the opportunity of watching the Collingwood / Essendon footy match in your lounge room, with a Bintang in hand. See you again at the very next opportunity. Dean and Robbie

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lathdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karangasem hotels
6.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
804 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aashaya Jasri Resort
Aashaya Jasri Resort
#4 of 60 in Karangasem
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Flow
Villa Flow
#4 of 82 in Karangasem
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taman Ujung Resort & Spa
Taman Ujung Resort & Spa
#13 of 60 in Karangasem
27 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Matanai
Villa Matanai
#22 of 82 in Karangasem
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kebun Impian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kebun Impian

Property: Kebun Impian
Address: | Dusun Meraja Seraya Bara, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kebun Impian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kebun Impian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kebun Impian Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing