We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will arrive as a guest - and you will leave as a friend”
Review of alam Batu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karangasem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
alam Batu
Certificate of Excellence
Beckenried, Nidwalden, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You will arrive as a guest - and you will leave as a friend”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First of all:
A part of our party was Scuba Divers
Another part would learn Scuba Diving
Another part just like to relax

Even our arrival was impressive: The welcome was warm and familiar - and this was authentic, not a professional show.
The first impression was: Very clean, well organized, intimate-familiar. A place to be very comfortable. This impression was confirmed every day of our 16 days.

The Diving Center was in the same manner as the resort. And very professional managed.
The housereef is maded for a lot of dives because it is beautiful and diversified.
One of our party learned to dive (PADI Open Water Diver plus Deep Dive Special) and the education was very serious and professional. Not even a suggestion of mass processing or laxness.

Alam Batu is a small Resort with his 12 Bungalows. And this is also the loveliness of it: Very familiar - also between the other guests. But if you want to be for your own there is enough area in the wonderful and lovely garden to abandon.
This ones who are looking for partying and loud nightlife are on the wrong place here.
But if you are looking for privacy, rest, nice dive sites - you are here on the perfect place.

There is also a Spa and it's in the same manner as the complete resort: Small but familiar, clean and well (I cannot say more because I am not the typical Spa visitor...)

The food is excellent: A la carte or buffet, but alwas prepared and served with love. In fact the service is outstanding everywhere in the resort.

The Bungalows are spacious and clean in the middle of a well cultivated garden. More than enough privacy.

The beach is not for being there, because it's volcanic sand and stones - not for lying there. But this doesn't matter: Allover the garden you will find "Bales" with seaview: Better as every beach place.

If you want to go for sightseeing you can rent a car (with driver I recommend) from the resort or you can participate on organised tours. Also if you want to go out for other reasons as dining or so you have the possibility to do of course.

For Balinesian conditions the Alam Batu is not a cheapcheap resort, but it's wort every penny you spend. And for Europeans it IS priceworth of course.

Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: If you wish the maximum of privacy: Book the "AYAM 1" villa first or if it's not avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklaus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Good that we had booked 16 nights in advance, enjoyed each and every day. Perfect size of resort with only 11 villas, excellent dive base with brand new material, interesting guests, most of them from Germany and Switzerland, some from Overseas. Employees were just amazing, they made everything possible with just a smile. You find everything you need in the villas, no unneccessary things like tv or internet (wlan in the restaurant is absolutely sufficient). Delicious food à la carte, but buffets and barbeques were even better. Beautiful spa area with many massage options (we recommend at least one treatment a day). We will visit again, thanks to Danny and his crew.
Remark: it is not really a b&b, more a small resort

Room Tip: Our favorite is number 11, close to restaurant and pool. You do not really need a room with A/C as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affoltern am Albis, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was my first visit to Alam Batu. Already the transfer from Denpasar to the resort was a very nice experience. The resort is located directly at the volcanic beach with only 11 spacious and very nice bungalows in a beautiful garden. There's enough space to relax on a 'bale' or at the very nice pool. The food (à-la-carte and sometimes buffet) is delicious! I also very much appreciated the very individual service at the dive center, it was always possible to make a wish for a certain dive spot and the dive team (Hall, Jelena, Nengha) a few times even did a boat time just for myself, great!! Danny, the manager, takes care of everybody and everything. I also enjoyed a massage at the beautiful spa - wonderful! I seldom had such a relaxing holiday as here. I did very much enjoy the familiar atmosphere in this resort, I came here alone and immediately was integrated. For sure this was not my last visit in Alam Batu!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed at the Alam Batu for the first time, but it will surely not be the last stay. Luckily I had booked for two weeks, so I was able to enjoy the place for quite a while.
I loved the little size of the resort. Only 10 bungalows and a villa, all surrounded by a wonderful garden. A lovely pool, a good spa and everywhere sun beds to relax and enjoy the weather.
The newly built diving base is a dream for every diver; Enough space for everyone's material and also a camera room. And the house reef is a paradise. No need to stick to a schedule, early morning or night dive, just as you feel like. Great is also that the kitchen is open from 8am till 10pm, getting something to eat after a dive is therefore no problem. Of course, they also have two boats to go diving on other sites, like on the Liberty. The dive for the Liberty starts at 6am to avoid the large crowd.
The employees make you feel welcome. Danny, the resort manager, is very helpful in every matter.
And I shouldn't forget to mention the outdoor shower. A great invention!
I will come again. No worry about "single" holidays. The restaurant with the four big tables makes people get together.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Untersiggenthal, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon at alam Batu beach bungalow resort and can truly say - it was perfect. The small resort is nicely situated directly at the beach. The bungalows are surrounded by a lovely park area with a lot of flowers, palm trees in which there is even a little fountain and a small pond. Our bungalow was very nice. A lot of power plugs were available, there was a minibar and an open rooftop bath. We did not had an Aircon, however this was also not needed. The feature I liked the most however, was the veranda with its very private padded relax corner and the beautiful view over the park area towards the beach. The food was excellent and we could choose everyday between buffet style and à la carte. The dive base has been just newly built, is just a few steps away from the restaurant/reception area and offers a lot of space to store and prepare the diving equipment. There is a 800m long nice house reef directly accessible from the beach which made it almost unnecessary to visit other dive spots, which is possible twice daily via zodiac. All staff - be it housekeeping, service or in the dive base were very friendly and helpful and flexible in case of any wishes from our side. We enjoyed the time very much and will for sure come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
12.0 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Siddhartha Ocean Front Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kajane Tulamben
Kajane Tulamben
#32 of 82 in Karangasem
38 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Alba Dive Resort
1.0 mi away
Kubu Indah Dive & Spa Resort
Kubu Indah Dive & Spa Resort
#8 of 60 in Karangasem
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to alam Batu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about alam Batu

Property: alam Batu
Address: Jl. Batu Pemasuh | Desa Baturinggit - Kubu, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — alam Batu 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“alamBatu” is a beautiful, spacious resort on Bali’s North-East coast, located approximately 5km from the dive area of “Tulamben”. The terrace shaped landscape spans over 1.6 hectares with big lava cliffs extending into the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alam Batu Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing