We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a familiar atmosphere”
Review of Villa Arjuna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karangasem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Arjuna
Vilters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a familiar atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Villa Arjuna is a small hotel away from the city and close to the seaside. It is not recomended to swim in the sea because of the sea current but the pool area and the garden are very nice. We took a Balinese cooking lesson with a local family and a Mountain Tour to a Temple with the Dutch Hotel owner. I can really recomend both activities I had also a 1,5h massage (for 150 000Rp.) which was one of the best I have ever had. If you look for a hotel with almost no tourist, relaxing atmosphere and close to the local people - Villa Arjuna is the best place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I liked Arjuna a lot. Beautiful garden and room, nice swimmingpool where you can overlook the sea and a very warm welcome from the owner. The fixed menu in the evening is quite expensive when you compare it to restaurants but very tasteful.
I also liked that you can get your own drinks and just write down what you had. This means that they trust their guests and in the evening you can stay as long on the terrace as you want. Which is nice when you meet other people and stay up till late like we did. Els and Hans also have a foundation to make it possible for girls from poor families to go to school. Just loved it there and certainly will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had 2 nice rooms near the noisy beach. And yes you hear the ocean at night, but it wasn't that bad for us. The rooms where very nice, one of the best we experienced in almost 5 weeks Java and Bali.

Tip: rent a scooter for app. 60.000 rupiah! We enjoyed that very much. We also did a Balinese cooking morning. This was nice, but a little bid to expensive.

Overall: a very nice, clean and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchrSchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Our room had a large balcony overlooking the attractive garden and swimming pool. No aircon, but a fan over the bed kept us cool. Small restaurant in the garden, good food. The owner, Hans, took us up a nearby mountain in his 4x4, with some of his adopted children. When not in the pool we lay in a shaded bower, just a step away from the rocky seashore.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFARankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Our travelling agency announced this hotel as a quiet and welcoming residence. Our experience was different. At first, we were supposed to stay in a room next to the kitchen, known as the "family room". The room was big, but was old and uncomfortable. There were hairs laying on the floor and the bathroom was small and dirty. After we complained, the owners moved us to another room, that seemed to be in the guest house of the neighbours property. That room was clean and had a nice view. The water heater was broken though, so there was no warm water. The owners mentioned that they had tried to fix the heater (which clearly didn't work out) and they were not planning on replacing it.

Dinner is served at a couple of tables centrally on the property. At 7pm you get a plate of food and the owners tell you can take as much as you want. After having finished our first portion we went for a second plate, to find out that most of the food was gone and the rest was quite cold. You can take your own drinks from a refrigerator. Strange enough, although there's practically no service, the prices for the food were higher than in any full service restaurant we have eaten during our holiday.

We did not like the "mountain tour" offered by the hotel. It more seemed to be the "one man show" of the hotel owner than entertainment of the participants. The cooking course was really nice. It was organised in the home of some locals, who were extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hooboox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanz70, Eigenaar at Villa Arjuna, responded to this review, 1 October 2016
After all this time it hurts to read this kind of reviews.
We are very proud to tell every one we listened very carefully to these remarks, we do not say complaints!, and we can say it all is checked and improved.
look to the pictures of our little resort, only 7 rooms on the shore of the Great Ocean.
It is our paradise and we do not keep it hidden.
Check the recent reviews and you can be sure we want to do the utmost for you, your family and your holiday.
Be welcome and enjoy your stay at Villa Arjuna, personalized comfort and happiness all around.
Hope to meet, Hanz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karangasem hotels
2.0 mi away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Matanai
Villa Matanai
#26 of 80 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kebun Impian
Kebun Impian
#9 of 55 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Campuhan
Villa Campuhan
#18 of 80 in Karangasem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ayuri Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Subagan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.8 mi away
Turtle Bay Hideaway
Turtle Bay Hideaway
#12 of 80 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Arjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Arjuna

Property: Villa Arjuna
Address: Seraya Barat, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Villa Arjuna Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing