We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxed”
Review of Villa Flow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Flow
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally relaxed”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I travelled two months and during my trip this was one of the most beautiful and relaxings spots I experienced. The beautiful green surroundings are worth to be discovered by bike. The owners have two mountainbikes which you can take for the whole day to make trackings through the ricefields and to White beach. Seraya itself shows the real Balinese life and try to pick up that rythm; easygoing, go to bed early and enjoy the nature's music early in the morning. If you like massages..please try here. An amazing experience of a local man which I will categorize as "the best massage" of Bali.

Room Tip: The coconut villa is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renate020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
107
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Villa Flow is a beautiful place in beautiful surroundings far away from the hustle-and-bustle. True Bali, so there are roosters-- and there is very little to do after sunset. We just went to sleep at 9 pm, which was actually nice and relaxing.

The owners were away when we were there, and although the service was very friendly, it was a bit difficult to ask questions. We made our own tour of Eastern Bali with the help of a map and a Lonely Planet, but would have appreciated someone around to ask for tips and guidance.

Their organic food is great but there are no other places near-by (restaurant on the beach is pretty nice though). The beach is a good walk away, not close and the nearest beach has strong currents (not really for swimming). Book for a trip to white sand beach.

The services were ok, but overpriced.

Our main complaints were:
- no door on the bathroom/toilet. The lack of a door may look zen-like and trendy but when both of you are suffering from diarrhoea, a door would just make everything a bit nicer.
- no kettle in the room. Especially as the place is in the middle of nowhere, it would be nice to have the possibility of making tea/coffee in the room.
-portion size (specifically breakfast). My poor husband was starving. Two miniature muffins may be enough for a tiny female yoga instructor, but not for my athletic husband.

We still enjoyed our stay, and would go back-- although maximally for 4 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joethetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izeilstra, Owner at Villa Flow, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Hi Joe the Traveller!

Thank you for having stayed with us at Villa Flow, and for having taken the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you appreciated Villa Flow and would return!
We are sorry to read about the inconveniences you have experienced and would like to address these.
Our staff is sourced directly, and purposely, from the small village where Villa Flow is located. While the staff receive English lessons twice a week, it has proven difficult for some to master a language that is unfamiliar for this region. For some travelers that is the charm of heading to East Bali, for others it is equally understandable that this may be experienced as inconvenient. The will to properly address your needs though, as well as the tools to cater for them, is definitely present, and we have urged our staff once again to do their best to improve their English.
Villa Flow is located in a remote village, and with this there are unfortunately fewer places to head off to compared to the more touristic areas. Nevertheless, the area does have some real gems to go to and with the respective owners of three restaurants we have made transport arrangements to facilitate this.
Villa Flow stands for healthy and organic food, and has a menu that has been well researched and developed with care. We are sorry to hear that you found the portion sizes insufficient for your husband. There is however at all times the possibility of ordering additional dishes from the menu. In addition, healthy snacks and fresh juices are offered at all times during the day. I am sorry to read that you were not fully aware of this availability.
Lastly, a kettle is available for guests who would like to make themselves a cup of tea or coffee in the room. We will make sure that our guests are notified of this in the future.

Looking forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Long overdue but not forgotten! We had some wonderfull days (4 of us, may 2012) at this amazing place. The owners (Inge & Serge) hooked us up with some wonderfull people, a local guide who took us walking through the ricefields ending at a great restaurant run by a passionate lady (Penny) from Australia. The masseur that know just the right spot to treat and their great staff that served us the delicious food!! The villa has great rooms, pool and garden where they grow their own veggies. We'll be there next time, ENJOY !!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysC0ffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We were totally charmed and thrilled by the most exquisite hospitality at Villa Flow for our weeks holiday. We wanted to get away from all the hustle and bustle and it really gave us the relaxation and comfort we were looking for in beautiful surroundings. Serge and Inge are delightful hosts, always on hand to give us advise about the local area and assisting us on places to visit. Their staff are incredibly gracious and attentive - we did not want for a thing. The food was absolutely delicious and we came away feeling thoroughly healthy, relaxed and most of all inspired.

Room Tip: The Coconut house stands independently and has incredible, uninterrupted views of the coast. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

If you are searching for outstanding relaxation and very high quality in service and the beauty of the real authentic East Bali I would recommend everyone to stay in Villa Flow. You will be feeling at home right a way because of the splendid view and excellent elegant accommodation in Villa Flow! The staff really touched us because they always smile and really cooked fantastic healthy and extreme good food! Especially we want to thank the owners Inge and Serge for their excellent service and for letting us taste the Balinese wine!

Room Tip: Every room has an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Serge and Inge have created a wonderful place to escape the western world and indulge in a little R&R to unwind in blissful surroundings with hosts who can never do enough to help make your stay everything you would have hoped for and more. The food is fabulous and oh, so good for you being 100% organic. Yoga instruction is first-class and the massage treatments are out of this world. They also organise great excursions too that are far removed from the standard Bali tourist trail. Thank you both - wishing you every success.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

As soon as you enter this new & luxurious guesthouse, you will be amazed by the beauty and the serenity. I loved how they did combine contemporary design with local furniture and the charm, warmth & intimacy of a private hotel..
Everything at Villa Flow has a touch of ‘home’ to it; offering elegant accommodation & warm hospitality with a quiet, relaxing and un-intruding atmosphere.
Furthermore Inge & Serge care about the environment and the people around them. They invest most of their time in sponsoring and themselves supporting primary education to underprivileged children in Bali as well as addressing the basic issues of health and development of the community they live it. The implementation of their different projects is done in a very professional way with passion and commitment. Waww & deserving most respect!! Anne S

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
5.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flow

Property: Villa Flow
Address: Seraya-Barat, Karangasem 80851, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Flow 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet and peaceful coastal town of Seraya in East-Bali, Villa Flow offers a unique experience to those looking for something special. An intimate boutique hotel of high quality standards and service. Villa Flow offers an excellent healthy cuisine,5-star spa treatments, daily yoga classes, private access to secluded beachfront and tranquility. Villa Flow is the perfect low key exclusive luxury base from which to explore East-Bali, the Gili islands just off Lombok and Bali’s best diving locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Flow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Flow Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing