We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Villa Flow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Flow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a marvelous stay at Villa Flow last weekend.
It's a beautiful place in a great area of Bali; quiet, peaceful and authentic.
If you are looking for a relaxing stay with great outdoor cycling and hiking options in Bali like it used to be,
And if you enjoy healthy delicious food,
This is your place to go!

With a driver you can also explore other parts like Ubud or Seminyak, but we were happy to get back to Flow after the ride!

Room Tip: Only six rooms, all fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

One of the greatest places I have ever been!
Beautiful location, the villa is magnificent! The staff is very helpfull and nice and the food is GREAT!
Would recommend this place to everyone and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was the first time I traveled to Bali. Well, unfortunately the trip is not meant for leisure travel as it was a business trip. Nevertheless, thanks to Villa Flow for making this trip memorable. You will find complete peace there as it was surrounded by gardens, plants and trees. There are lots more, but they are too beautiful fill in the margin here. You must experience yourself rather than just listening. If you have a chance, Villa Flow is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Villa Flow is a hidden gem off the beaten track, which is hard to come by in Bali as most spots have already been discovered. Our stay was absolutely lovely and here are some highlights that we will dearly cherish:
- Attentive service from the bottom of the heart and excellent advice on cuisine, activities and transportation methods eg. from Bali to Lombok and back
- Stunning scenery and warm property that made us feel at home from the moment we arrived
- Unique experience with delicious organic food from the garden, detox, yoga, massage and many other cool facilities
- Off the beaten track, so not crowded and touristy as Nusa Dua and the rest of the island

We would consider ourselves seasoned travelers and Villa Flow is a must-stay boutique hotel that we would highly recommend to anyone going to Bali. We will definitely go back to enjoy this excellent property.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to stay on either top or bottom floor, but they both looked equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HsuYung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Attentive and friendly staff! Food is healthy and delicious! It is really a real Bali experience!
The view is great, villa flow is built overlooking the sea... This gives a very relaxing and enjoying get away!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingle215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a fantastic holiday in Villa Flow. The staff is super-nice and professional, the view is breathtaking, the food is really yummy and the lounge chairs and pool are very relaxing.
A massage or manicure/pedicure on their terrace with views on the palm trees and the sea is almost unreal.
We enjoyed the snorkling and diving at Amed and the White sand beach. Hikes through the rice fields with the vulcano on the background is quite an experience.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I'm almost hesitant to write this review because I'd like to preserve this place for myself! As we walked through the threshold of the gates, I knew we were in heaven. We could immediately see the ocean in the distance, with the infinity pool and beautiful grounds framing the view. Upon arrival, we were immediately ushered into the open-air living room (with gorgeous furnishings - it feels like a 5 star hotel) and brought fresh juice and tea while we checked in. After check in, we were taken to our room. We were on the second floor of the main building in the back. We didn't have a private balcony - but I'll discuss that further in a moment. We stayed for two nights. We arrived around 4pm - after getting settled in our room, we enjoyed a Bintang pool-side. The pool was quiet and warm, with lots of good places to rest and swim. The pool chairs were comfy and sturdy, and the pool towels resting on each chair were large and thick. We had dinner at Villa Flow the first night. It was langostines (I think - little shrimp-looking things), corn, and maybe quinoa. All delicious. It was probably a little on the light side for us - but honestly, we needed it after lots of heavy vacation-eating. I think I lost weight there, but I never went hungry or felt deprived in anyway. I felt clean and refreshed. Note that they only serve beer - but it appeared as though you could have brought your own wine. You can dine wherever you please - there are two floors of outdoor living areas, and you can also dine on your own balcony if your room has one. We enjoyed breakfast both days - I had a fluffy egg white omelet and coconut pancakes, with juice and tea. The fresh juice was a delight! I felt so nourished and hydrated with all the tasty beverages. On our first full day, we headed out for scuba diving and then enjoyed the afternoon by the pool. We enjoyed tempeh sushi for lunch with carrot-ginger soup. I loved it - but it was really a "snack" for my husband. That afternoon we both enjoyed massages by the priest. We thought the pressure was a little much, but it was still a really good massage. The second night we headed to Candidasa for dinner at the recommendation of the hotel. It was good, but a 30 minute drive each way seemed a bit long. The second morning I had a private yoga session with Kawi. He is awesome! He was the same quality if not better than may top notch NYC yoga teachers, and, his English is understandable, so he could really get into yoga philosophy which I loved. The yoga room (which is also the massage room) is semi-outside. So I could hear the frogs and other creatures making fun noises. I could even see one frog! The one thing to note is that because the room is only enclosed with a wall on one side, and curtains on the other 3 sides, including the side effacing the main part of the villa, there was some noise. One guest was gabbing on and on for food during my massage, and then her child was screaming during my yoga session. That's sort of the one piece to mention - while there are lots of great outdoor living spaces, they are public - so you'll be sharing them with others. Other guests might have children or might treat those spaces like they would their own home. Another family staying at the Villa while we were there left a lot of their things (including clothing) pretty much all over the hotel - on the large sofas directly outside our room, (unused) swim diapers on the chairs by the pool, strollers, toys, all over pretty much. My husband even saw one man lounging in boxer-briefs on one of the public sofas right outside our room. It was just a little odd - but honestly, that could happen at any hotel! And, the staff really made an effort to pick up the items scattered around - but I think something should have been said to the guests, but that's really just not the lifestyle there.
Those things were really very minor though. We had plenty of privacy (the room was spacious - just not really anywhere to sit other than the bed) - and we were almost always at the pool by ourselves. If anyone joined us it would be the resident yellow lab - Beau. Beau is about 3 years old but he's a total puppy. He loves to be cuddled and he loves to play. And, if you don't like dogs, the hotel staff will gladly keep him away.
I noticed a few comments on noise and bathrooms. Yes, there is no door on the bathroom, but the toilet isn't directly visible from the rest of the room (at least it wasn't in our room), and, it's so easy to go outside that we rarely had issues. Even if you wanted to shower (which was visible from the room) the other person could just go out into the patio. We didn't have any issues with noise. There are roosters, but we found that to be the case pretty much all over Bali. There weren't any roosters running around the villa though. I didn't hear much road noise at all - maybe there was a cremation ceremony going on? I also didn't see any trash on the roads. I think one of the other reviewers had an isolated experience. Compared to the other areas we went to in Bali (Kuta and Ubud) we found Villa Flow to be incredibly remote and serene.
Also, note that even if you find the meals kind of light there are plenty of places to eat out at (a cab will drive you for next to nothing and some of the restaurants even offered free transfers) and you can always order extra food or snacks. The staff will pretty much do anything for you. Kirsten is awesome - she really sets a great tone at the villa. She is so calm and relaxed but also willing to serve your every need, I felt like that attitude really permeated throughout the villa and the experience.
So we've been back from Bali for about 5 weeks, and I still mention Villa Flow regularly. I cannot wait to go back. When we go back to Bali, Villa Flow will absolutely be on our list.
Also, note that it's about two hours transfer from Kuta/Legian. We hired a car for the day and stopped at the bat cave and the water garden/temple on the way (which is very close) and also stopped for lunch. It was about US$45. After our two nights at Villa Flow, we transferred to Ubud, again, for $45. We stopped at the Elephant Temple on the way - we could have also done Mt. Batur (and probably should have) but we'd already booked a bike tour our of Ubud (which we don't recommend doing).
Also, we didn't do the "White Sand Beach" trip, but we would have had we been there another day. We heard great things about it from other guests. Overall, Villa Flow is a serene, relaxing experience. I think it's for city folk (like us) as well as people who like a more relaxed lifestyle. There is plenty to do at the resort and outside, and lots of great space to take in the beauty of East Bali. The only thing I would change is that I'd fork over the extra cash for a private balcony or the honeymoon villa (it was a separate little two story villa away from the main building, with it's own porch). I like having some private outdoor space when on vacation!
I really just can't wait to go back....I might need to go look for airplane tickets right now!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, spring for the private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahitijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaFlowBali, Manager at Villa Flow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Tahitijess,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and extensive review!

We are pleased to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and we have passed on the compliments to Kawi, our Yoga teacher.

Villa Flow is built as a place where people meet and share experiences, therefore some of our Rooms share the large roof top terrace, where you can find cozy sofa-lounge areas as well as a dining area, which allows you to have dinner under the stars. For all guests who are looking for more privacy, we also have some Rooms with a private balcony. Guests can always mention a certain room preference at the time of booking - we will always do our best to honor the guest requests however due to at times limited availability at Villa Flow we cannot not always guarantee this.
Rest assured for your next stay, I will ensure that you will be accommodated in one of our rooms with a private balcony!

Once again, thank you for so elaborately sharing your experience and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Kirstin Kumpf
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karangasem hotels
5.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
611 reviews
6.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Candi Beach Villas
Candi Beach Villas
#4 of 28 in Candidasa
117 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Candidasa
Sea Breeze Candidasa
#2 of 28 in Candidasa
547 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flow

Address: Seraya-Barat, Karangasem 80851, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range: £119 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Flow 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet and peaceful coastal town of Seraya in East-Bali, Villa Flow offers a unique experience to those looking for something special. An intimate boutique hotel of high quality standards and service. Villa Flow offers an excellent healthy cuisine,5-star spa treatments, daily yoga classes, private access to secluded beachfront and tranquility. Villa Flow is the perfect low key exclusive luxury base from which to explore East-Bali, the Gili islands just off Lombok and Bali’s best diving locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Flow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Flow Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing