We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of Jasri Bay Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jasri Bay Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and it didn't live up to the extremely positive reviews we had read on this site. Although the photographs of the rooms looked beautiful, in reality the place is tired and the outside beds are all damp so you can't really lie down on them during the day. The staff did make an effort to make our room look beautiful on arrival but unfortunately it was a downgrade on the honeymoon room we had booked as a ship had caught fire two weeks before we arrived and was being dismantled on the beach directly in front of the room. This meant knocking and clanging all through the day into the small hours. We were not told of this before our arrival.

We were initially given a small downstairs room 'under the owner's room' but we were told that he was away so no one would be above us. After about an hour it was obvious someone was upstairs as there is no soundproofing at all and you can hear every step above you. We were then moved into the large middle villa to have to ourselves for a couple of night, this was a lovely villa but as I said, the outdoor seats were all damp and a bit smelly, we also had to keep all the shutters down to keep the wind out so it was quite dark and dingy inside. There are only small internal lights. We also had quite a few power cuts so the television and lights often went out and someone had to come to reset them.

The lulling of the sea was more of a typhoon, there was a full moon which meant high tides and strong winds (this of course couldn't be foreseen).

As far as the food was concerned, it varied according to the chef who was on duty. We ordered the same thing twice and it didn't taste the same or even look the same. I have an allergy to corn and so asked that none was used in any of our dishes - the soup was brought up one day with loads of baby sweetcorn in it, When we said I had a severe allergy to it they said they didn't realise baby corn was the same as corn.

We did not get any complimentary afternoon tea or other refreshments which are advertised on the website, we only received what we ordered and paid for. We did tip the staff when they delivered the food but when we were leaving after 4 days we paid the outstanding amount for the food we had and after this we were then asked for a tip for the staff working at the resort. To be honest, we always tip when we get good service and did so during our stay, I refuse to tip for less than adequate service.

It has taken a while for me to write this review as I thought it was probably just a one off and our bad luck with the weather and the chef on duty, however, we are currently booking our next long holiday and again rely on the comments on tripadvisor so I feel I have to be honest about our experience in this resort as once you are there, you are there, there is NOTHING around the place unless you ask the manager to arrange transport - which again is at a cost!

Room Tip: Don't go into the ground floor room under the owner's apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayGirlWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Manager at Jasri Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
We truly regret that you did not have a good experience at our Turtle Bay Hideaway. All your comments have been noted and we are endeavoring to improve our communications with our guests as well as the quality of our rooms and property in general. Currently we are undergoing a complete renovation and upgrade of the buildings and gardens and staff training. We will add your comment about the loud sounds from the waves breaking on the shore in our website and emphasize more clearly that we offer "rustic wooden tribal cottages" in the spirit of "elegant camping". Our main goals are guest comfort, safety and health in a beautiful natural environment. Again we apologize for the unfortunate situation of the shipwreck which "wrecked" your vacation in Kelapa Cottage, and the other shortcomings of our retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    16
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
58
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed in Turtle Bay Hideaway (TBH) in beginning of December, just before the high season. We stayed there as 13 people group, so used all the villas.
May be some of my friends will give an extra review, but in the meantime my impressions.

Generally speaking, this TBH cannot be rated the same way by all the people. I've seen, positive reviews and actually, understand their reasons. However, I personally not really satisfied with our week there. Mainly because I'm used to some more civilised and "reliable" service and holidays.

I was quite surprised that many things there looked very poorly maintained:
tile around the big swim.pool with big cracks, some day beds were in mold, bad linen on ground floor rooms was quite wet and smelly, bathtube and taps were with some scurf.
and the things like wet smelly linen and not very clean bath were really irritating.
Another con for ground floor is noise from the upper neighboor - wooden floors with no anything else (insulation, seal or so) provided perfect sound conduction - so if your neigbours wake up early you wake up as well.

Bath/sink/shower on the Kelapa villa are actually outside completely, so the privacy is quiestionable and if any isects would decide to visit you, it might be challenging to take a bath.
No air conditioning in all 3 villas. We've been there in off peak season and it was not easy to sleep, so peak season might be even harder. Although, second floor rooms are a bit better - if you fully open windows its quite nice due to breeze, but ground floor has insects outside, so open windows will change temperature problem into bugs.

Generally, holiday here might be quite nice for adults or with elder kids, but not small ones. And if you like minimum level of comfort this might be not the best choice on the Bali.

Some tips for the area: Joglo resaurant is quite OK and if you'd visit them a few times, they can give you a discount (we had 10% for food bill); Andre SPA is quite nice as well;
If you're going to drive around, TBH will provide you with cars and drivers. Be careful with your requests - if you ask to bring you to the snorkeling place they will bring you to one of places which they have a deal with, and it might be not the best one. We've asked to bring us to white sand beach, so we could snorkel there, and we ended up on black sand/stony beach, to the specific cafe, so we saw it was some deal between the driver and cafe.
Buy souvenirs in Candidasa - its 2-3 times cheaper than Denpasar or airport.

General Bali hint. Our 3yr old baby had some cough for 3-4 days, while we didnt see signs of sickness. Finally we realised it was sort of adaptation period. But of course, you should be careful anyway.

Room Tip: aim for second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasriBali, Owner at Jasri Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Alexander, thank you for your review which we take seriously to heart. We regret that you were not comfortable during your stay and will make every effort to make sure that this does not happen again to other guests. We are in the process of renovation to repair the structural damage to our sea wall and terraces. As for the cleanliness of our rooms we are removing all mold in the day beds, sinks, tubs & shower walls and all linens are clean, fresh and dry. We had an unfortunate loss of staff to ceremonies and illness the week before your group arrived and therefore did not have our normal, professional staff to serve you. Not that this is an excuse, just an explanation. We also have plans to provide insulation in the ceiling of Mandala which is the only bedroom with another guest room above on the property. We will put a notice on our website that Turtle Bay is not recommended for children 12 years and under. Thank you for your valuable comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I like this place very much. The best place to hideaway and relax from daily stress in a large city. Me and my wife stayed in a Villa Kelapa and loved that very much. We enjoyed the bath outside and a swimming pool near the villa and the sea. The general service is very good and the property team is very friendly and delicate. I would like to specially mention very nice cooking, delicious food, especially vegetables from the own organic garden and tasty sources must be tried. My special thanks to Made Sutarma – the manager of the property does a great job for the guests to feel comfortable and relax. He is very helpful and supportive. If you stay here I suggest visiting nearest temples and water palaces, these places must be seen. The beach is rocky though and hard to swim in a sea but you may go to white sand beach which is 10 min by car and enjoy swimming there. I would love to return to the Villa once again.

Room Tip: if you are a couple and want to hideaway - choose Villa Kellapa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here few days during our honeymoon and we were really amazed by the design and beauty of the houses. The sea though is rough and the waves are crashing against the shore - this can be pretty scary at night and you really need to get used to it.
Swimming in the sea is not possible, but just 10 min by car there us a nice white sand beach - one of its kind- turquoise water nice snorkeling area.
The design of the villa is stunning - really beautiful- the Chinese daybed at the infinity pool is inviting you to relax with a nice sea-breeze.
Perfect place to hide-away....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngeB110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Like an extract from a movie we arrived at dusk the staff following us in to our villa with plates of delicious food which they set out on our dining table on the veranda. A magnificent four-poster also on the veranda - with mosquito nets billowing in the breeze, waves crashing against the shore, the remnants of the sun-setting, a glorious gold in the sky. Its a beautiful location. Its very secluded, even from other guests. The food was excellent although on days when the manager was away the menu became somewhat limited. The possible downsides are that you cannot swim from the shore (but there are pools) and you do need transport if you want to get around as it is to far to walk anywhere. It is very different from anywhere I have ever stayed and it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The waves are very noisy - but that's the only noise you have to worry about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Everything in this place is intended to help you relax and get this unforgettable feeling of being part of Nature. Surrounding trees and flowers, your own grass lawn, crushing waves and of course the staff who does its job accurately yet not intervening your privacy.
Oh, yes, and food! It alone is worth traveling here. All comes from property's organic gardens (fish comes fresh from the sea) and cooked just right not to spoil its natural taste and health.
There are quite a few attractions in the area but we barely forced ourselves to go for a short tour given that the main attraction around is TBH itself!
Villas and suites are spacious and clean. We stayed in Mandala suite which is just 30 meters from the ocean so we could observe it playing not leaving our large bed.
And if you want some cons about this place, there is one - no Turtles :-)
We definitely make our way here during next trip to Bali!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikaKirill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After staying in five star resorts, we really wanted a different experience and something away from the main tourist areas of Bali. This was certainly the place to fulfill this need. We stayed in the honeymoon villa for three nights with our own pool and enjoyed the privacy of swimming and simply lounging around in our own time. The staff were friendly and never intruded on our privacy except to take our meal orders! The food is fresh and very tasty and I think we worked our way through just about every menu item during our stay. We also enjoyed some outings to local attractions for about 2-3 hours duration which was sufficient since we wanted to spend the bulk of our time at the villa. Our only criticism was the mattress and it could do with an upgrade to facilitate a more restful sleep. Other than this, Turtle Bay Hideway is a perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julz826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karangasem hotels
5.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
804 reviews
4.1 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
588 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aashaya Jasri Resort
Aashaya Jasri Resort
#4 of 60 in Karangasem
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Matanai
Villa Matanai
#22 of 82 in Karangasem
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Campuhan
Villa Campuhan
#18 of 82 in Karangasem
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasri Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasri Bay Hideaway

Property: Jasri Bay Hideaway
Address: Jalan Pura Mastima | Jasi Kelod, Karangasem 80811, Indonesia (Formerly Turtle Bay Hideaway)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jasri Bay Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a tribal wooden villa with infinite swimming pool by the beach and the rice field surrounding. The location is in the remote place for your peaceful stay meanwhile you can feel the hospitality of Balinese by visiting and exploring the main village because it only takes 15 minutes by walk to the main village. We have an organic vegetable garden to supply all guest meal to keep up the quality and standard of food taste and hygiene. Your privacy will be always our priority. This is support by the design of each villa and the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasri Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasri Bay Hideaway Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing