We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do - cooking class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Asli Restaurant

Bali Asli Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30 minutes from Candidasa village, and 30 minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali's most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it's people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour's garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on "a day in the life of..." every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must do - cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A fantastic experience and an absolute must for any visitor to the Karangasem area. Bali Asli is an amazing place and offers great food and we had a wonderful time experiencing a day in the life of a fisherman.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrusaderSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    52
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kaneohe
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must when in Bali.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Bali offers many cooking classes but none compare to the Bali Asli experience. Chef Penelope Williams makes magic happen. I experienced the 'Day in the Life of a Balinese Lady' in order to travel to the morning market in nearby Amlapura with Penny. She is an expert on local ingredients and local recipes and clearly understands the traditions, culture and influence of that region. You will learn to make exquisite dishes then enjoy them at her restaurant. Be sure to have a locally inspired cocktail or two. Well worth the drive if you are staying in Ubud or Sanur. See you again Penny!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rggKaneohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliAslirestaurant, Owner at Bali Asli Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Kaneohe,
Thank you very much your you wonderful review, Im very happy to know that I made magic happen for you!
I hope that your culinary adventure to the market and the dishes that we cooked together have left you with inspiration to experiment on your friends.
I look forwards to sharing some more recipes with you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great food and wine. Well-trained staffs. Food was decilious and tasty in all ways. We definitely come back in our next vacation to Bali.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iamjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped in after touring around the beautiful areas of Sideman and Tirtagangga - off the main drag and along a small road, the views from this place completed the day.

It was a quiet day, and Penny the Australian exec chef spent a bit of time with us explaining the background of the restaurant. She loves being able to shop the markets every day and harvest from the nearby gardens to produce fresh seasonal food.

We had a set meal (megibung) which included samples of all the dishes - a stressless way to order.

The restaurant serves meat but no dairy - I forgot to ask why. My pick of dishes was a spiced coconut curd wrapped in leaf and steamed or grilled. Must try!

Homemade ginger beer to accompany. Lots of drinks choice otherwise. Exceptional Bali coffee.

Its the sort of place you could chill out and spend the after noon. Loos with a view too.

Penny is supported by a team of locals who together cook great food.

Worked out about AUD$25 a head but well worth it.

Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosycoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A day of learning and eating the best of Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

A real treasure. We wrote back and forth with Penny ahead of our trip to Bali, as we were making an 'amazing race' type trip for extended family. Penny was wonderful planning a day for us - a scavenger hunt for the drive from Sanur, a trip to the market with a guide to gather ingredients, and then a morning of learning about Bali culture and cooking. The staff was wonderful, and the view of the mountain behind it all was stunning. And the food we cooked was amazing. This was a great way to get away from the busy-ness of Ubud and the beach for the day - well worth the trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bali Asli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing