We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the Maddening Crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 6 days in this lovely peaceful place. We had No.2 cottage, small, comfortable, nice garden outlook with glimpse of the sea. The dining room overlooks the small pool and the sea. Breakfast is limited and we went elsewhere for dinner.

The location is superb, clean black sand beach, clear water, and good snorkelling off the south end of the beach. Even though Lipah is no Kuta or Seminyak, there was a choice of about 10 eating places within 5 minutes' walk, from reasonable restaurants to cheap, good, warungs. No shopping, No Night Life, just clean sea and sand and friendly people.I would certainly go again for a relaxing holiday...

.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

we spent 4 lazy days in the sun in bhuana beach cottages and were very pleased indeed. we found the place through tripadvisor. newly constructed, we had the second bungalow: nice room with comfortable big bed, large open air bathroom, veranda, fridge, watercooker, nice pool, sunbeds, beachfront, nice breakfast with fruit and pancakes and eggs with bacon. friendly people although most of them do not speak english very well. all very clean, plenty of clean towels each every day including beach towels.
when we were visiting, only 2 of 4 bungalows were occupied and the new rooms were not yet finished so it was a quiet piece of heaven for us. hidden paradise next door provided massages (Rp 70.000 for a real balinese open air massage), coffee and free internet which also covers the bhuana beach area, very handy.
getting up at 5.45 h in the morning to see daybreak and the glorious sun coming up over the see is really worth while. driver Komang from cafe Barung has been driving us to Tirta Ganga and other places, nice quy, good driver! especially our dinner at Sails (fresh calamari, golden prawns) was a treat that we can recommend.
travelling along Bali coastline from south via east - north - west and back, Amed is still unspoiled en Bhuana Beach cottages a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myriam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We recently spent a night at Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages. There are 4 cottages and also a newly constructed addition which looks like either 4, 2 storey accomodations or eight rooms (sorry not sure which). Check in was very prompt, we were shown to our room (cottage 4) and the staff brought the paperwork to us. The room was absolutely spotless. Comfortable bed, tv mounted on the wall, small fridge, wardrobe, dressing table, air-con. Situated at the end of Lipah Beach, next to Hidden Paradise. The cottages do not actually face the beach. Breakfast was pancakes, eggs, toast, fruit and jasmine tea or coffee, Bali, Java or Nescafe. There was only one other couple staying at the time and it was very peaceful. The beach was also fairly quiet. Staff were friendly and kept a very low profile, they had plenty of smiles but I don't think they spoke much English. We would have no hesitation in returning. I think the new building is finished as they were filling the ponds which run under the walkways as we left. I have uploaded a photo of the new building also.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sansui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Really nice relaxing place in Amed: 4 very nice cottages with beautifull garden at small vulcano-sandy beach. Good staff and good menu at restaurant, but try some local warungs too! (see my other reviews for that). No wifi, but a drink (Illy coffee?!) at neighbour hotel will get you their wifi-code, which (most of the time) also works at the cottages.
They are building 8 appartments in two-storey building (finishing in Juli 2012). Pool/beacharea probably not fit for another 16 persons and less quiet also I think....
Tip for (local or Bali-) transport: search for dex living on Facebook! Reasonable pricing and good knowledge for tours/tips!

Room Tip: Cottage no. 1 is closest to beach but even cottage no. 4 is just a few metres from the beach; all co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellen2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have to admit we don't normally frequent properties within this price range but the reviews were so good we thought we should give it a go. However, accommodation in Amed is relatively cheap anyway. What we found was a cheaply constructed room that is showing signs of deterioration very quickly. We were in bungalow 2 and the bathroom door was so warped it had to be kicked in order to open it. All the panels were out of place. It had to be kept closed as the bathroom is open air so if kept open would allow direct access for mosquitoes.
Cleanliness of the room, pool area etc was top level.
There is a kettle provided but no cups, coffee/tea etc. Strange, but I suppose if you asked you might be given. We had our own anyway.
There is no shelving in the bathroom to put toiletries. We turned the rubbish bin upside down to save having to take the bag in and out all of the time.
There was no local information available either in the room or at the bar area - there is no reception as such - but a shop gave me a tourist brochure for the area. On mentioning something inside it to the Manager he then produced one. My reasoning is they don't want their clients knowing what is available in the area as their money then stays inhouse. In fact, no information is given regarding the operation of the complex, ie b'fast etc.
It took ten minutes to provide me with a pool towel.
Found the Manager sitting on our verandah reading our magazines that we left on a table. Found this to be more unusual than a problem.
We didn't find the building works to be a real problem but we were out most of the time. We found it to be soul less. The staff were lovely but talking with them was an issue due to their lack of english. One staff members english was good but we never saw him again after he checked us in - despite him saying if we needed anything to ask him.
I mention all of the above purely so people are aware that it is not perfect but for $50 a night you get a clean room with a comfortable bed, hot water, fridge and tv.
We would have been happy to pay more and for the items listed above to be non existent.
If you are offered bungalow 2 ask if the bathroom door has been repaired/replaced as we did mention it on departure. The response indicated they were aware of the problem with it.
We checked out all the beaches and in our opinion Lipah was best.

Room Tip: There is construction at both ends of the property. By the beach the hotel next door is building on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TazmoPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

There are only 4 rooms on this resort. The room is spacious & romantic. A very quiet & relaxing place to stay. There is nothing much to do in Amed, suitable for those who want to have a good rest without getting interruption.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SweetAppleLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have been hoping to review this wonderful place since we returned in early October but it was nowhere to be found and I gave up - I kept emailing the address on the leaflet I brought away but it bounced back everytime. Another TA'ee has just asked me where we stayed as I had referred to it in another review so I searched again and up it popped - there is now a web site (different email address!) as well as one previous TA review - I am so pleased.

We stayed in Amed for 8 days late Sep early Oct 2011. We had booked and prepaid for 7 nights in another place in Lipah but that was the wrong side of (at times) a busy road and after 6 nights we decamped to the BBB Cottages. It was bliss - quiet, beachfront, the infinity pool right by the ocean and a really good restaurant with a proper chef producing excellent dishes.

The staff were a contrast to the professional "team " at the original place - these were gentle people in a quiet gentle place - very much how I expected the Balinese to be. Every morning a lady put a small Hindu presentation of foliage with incense burning at the path entrance to the chalet type rooms - whether or not they were occupied.

There were only four rooms but plenty of space for more. The garden is carefully tended but I guess before long that some of it will give way to more accomodation.

Snorkelling has always been number one on our tick list and the whole Amed coast has a good reputation but Lipah seemed the best reviewed. There were many different colourful fish species and corals but we were not very lucky in the way of other sealife but did see an amazing electric turquoise star fish. Baby corals were growing very close to the shore which is a good sign - in some places all the near-to-shore coral is dead or dying but not Lipah. We took our own gear but you can hire equipment on the beach.

Had some really good massages but the area seems to have strong demarcation lines and the girl from the first place could not come to me in the second!

Unfortunately we only had two days and nights to enjoy this place - had we realised earlier how much happier we would be there we would certainly have "bitten the bullet" on the prepaid accomodation and moved - having travelled over 7000 miles to find belatedly exactly what we wanted it would have been foolish not to!

Prior to moving accomodation Bali had gone on the "been there done that list" but now we will certainly return some day to Amed and Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
0.3 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
13.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
868 reviews
18.6 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#2 of 18 in Sidemen
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amed Harmony Cafe and Bungalows
6.6 mi away
Kubu Carik Bali
Kubu Carik Bali
#1 of 2 in Ababi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages

Address: Lipah, Amed, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range: £18 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing