We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Experience! Loved it.”
Review of Amed Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amed Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 61 Karangasem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We enjoyed three nights at the Amed Beach Resort. It is a cosy (five room) hotel right on the beach in Amed. We found it online and had no idea what to expect but from the moment they picked us up at the ferry in Padang Bai to when they dropped us off in Lovina, we had nothing but great hospitality and lots of smiles! Thank you to Nick, Eddie, Pijar and Wayan. We are travelling with our two children and they could not have been kinder. They were on time for pick ups and everything was as promised. When our son had a headache, they even went out and got him medicine! The meals were great and we even special ordered a whole tuna one night as a family meal and it was delicious:) We swam several times a day in the pool, had massages onsite, watched local kids playing on the beach and enjoyed hours of tours and driving from Wayan and Nick. Our final day took us through mountains, landslides and when we changed our plans they had no problem taking us to a new destination and making sure we were set up in a hotel and ready to go. THANK YOU SO MUCH. Great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms great- pool view. We had a double, twin and extra mattress. Perfect for a family of four!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Amed beach resort is fantastic! It would recommend this place to any one. Fist impressions were great, we were greeted by Eddie. The room was excellent, a four poster bed with canopy and an outdoor bathroom. The restaurant was the best... make sure you always ask for the "special". But most of all the staff, or should I say our friends were fantastic they made our trip! My partner and I stayed for 6 nights and we wish it was longer. Amed is laid back which was perfect. You can hire a scooter and ride the Amed beach strip or wander along the beach to some fantastic snorkeling spots. Everyone in Amed is lovely. My review wont do justice as to how great this place is. A massive thank-you to Nick, Eddie, Komang, Wayan and everyone that made our stay unforgettable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent three nights in Amed beach Resort in October 2013. The location of the hotel is perfect, just on the beach. The swimmingpool is quite big and clean. The rooms are wide and offer a very nice view on the sea and on the volcano.

The hotel has only 5 rooms, the personal is thus really helpful and very friendly. We enjoyed a lot to go to a balinese ceremony in their family temple. They also offered us to go fishing with a local fisherman one morning. This experience was unforgettable. You can rent snorkeling equipement at the hotel with a nice snorkeling spot just by 10 min walk on the beach. I know that you can also rent scooter at the front desk.

The restaurant is good with a mix of Balinese and International food. They're making perfectly the fish of the day (mackerel or barracuda for example). You can easily order at any time. It's also possible to order drinks at the pool!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybec17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We loved it here. It's quiet and small and the staff are very friendly. We enjoyed our time with the staff and their family and friends so much, we extended our stay so that we could go to the local bar - Pacha Bar to listen to a Reggae band with them. Nick, the manager, also took us on a very enjoyable day tour of sites in the area and was a great driver and guide. During our stay, I was awaiting news from home on how my mother's surgery went, which meant we had to stay up very late at the restaurant (to use WiFi). Not only did the staff continue to serve us plenty of Bintangs long after their usual closing time, they also kept us company, along with some of their friends and then asked how my mother was doing numerous times in the following days with genuine concern. Nick told us early on that their motto is to treat guests like family and it is definitely true. This is not a place where the employees act stuffy and ultra-professional, it is place where they will likely grab a seat at your table to chat with you when you've finished eating and their work is done. They'll joke with you (especially "Eddy Murphy" whose cheeky humour is very entertaining), explain Balinese culture to you and simply enjoy getting to know you, if you invite them. However, they are also respectful of people's privacy so, if you don't invite them to chat, they will leave you alone.
The area of Amed is a group of small fishing villages along the coast and the residents are usually up before dawn and asleep in the early evening so don't expect nightlife. The exception is Pacha Bar which brings in live music 2x a week on Tues and Fri only. This is a casual and fun night out for tourists and locals alike. There is good snorkelling off the beach in Jemeluk Bay which is about a 1km walk along the beach from the hotel - a black sand (very hot) and more rocky than sandy. Reef shoes would be a good idea here. Snorkel trips and dives are easily arranged with locals and dive shops and the reports we heard from those that tried them, loved them.
The room we had was traditional Balinese in decor and design. It was good-sized with a double bed, mosquito net, air conditioning and partially open-air bathroom with hot water shower. We were on the second floor with a nice sized wrap around balcony, which afforded us beautiful views of the sunrise in the morning and the fishing boats throughout the day. The hotel has a pool with a shallow area for children and sunbeds with umbrellas. The hotel is right on the rocky black sand beach and can be a bit confusing to get to because the parking area is behind the wall of resort and the signs are small but, in these villages, everyone knows each other so any local can point the way. Hopefully, in time, the entrance and signage will be improved as they're making improvements all the time. Their walk-in rate is a bit steep but cheaper prices can be found on booking sites and there's more room to negotiate during slow season.
Food in the restaurant was very good with a nice included breakfast everyday. Most importantly, the beer was nice and cold! One evening while we were there, the village children performed traditional dances for us which was lovely and often the staff practiced traditional instruments throughout the day, offering to teach guests who were interested.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel to people looking for a break from the touristy areas and a chance to see how rural Balinese live. We will visit again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a better view of the ocean/sunrise but main floor rooms are nice too, overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travmudskippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very nice and small hotel (4 rooms) directly on the beach. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly.
Bed isn't that good. the matress is waaay too soft. Breakfast was very good even tho I had to pay extra to have omlett and pancake at the same time. But well hotel wasn't that expensive so its fine.
Would come again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcimayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We went to this place because of all good reviews on tripadvisor. We were only very satisfied directly when we arrived. The people that are working there a little bit strange. They just sitting the whole day and they do almost nothing. The rooms of this place are ok, not best we had, but bed was good and shower was ok. Only cabin in bathroom was old and dirty.
Swimmingpool was little dangerous and very slippy, also the beds are very very old and dirty.
We eat one night in the restaurant, but the food was not really good. So we only did breakfast there because it was included. But also that was terrible, if you ask for hard boiled egg you will get a raw egg, juice is awfull and the bread is wet. I think the price is too much for what you get, I know that there a much better places in Amed to stay, where staff is much more friendly and accomodation is better. This place is not a clean place, when you use your napkin they will use it again for another guest without washing it.
If you need internet you have to use the restaurant, because there is no internet in the room.

Room Tip: There are seaview and poolview rooms, but I don't think it worth the extra money to choose seavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very nice spacious room, small bathroom but clean
the family is doing there upbest to make you're stay as pleasant as possible. They take you to the familly temple, and they are playing live Bali music in the evening.
I would recommend this hotel as one of the best we had during our stay in Bali and Lombok

Room Tip: I would prefer the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bordeaux60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
3.6 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
153 reviews
2.5 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
0.1 mi away
Surya Rainbow Villas
Surya Rainbow Villas
#11 of 81 in Amed
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amed Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amed Beach Resort

Address: Amed Beach, Purwa Kerthi, Karangasem 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Karangasem
Price Range: £16 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amed Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amed Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amed Beach Resort Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing