We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT HAPPY!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amed Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amed Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 54 Karangasem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOT HAPPY!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived and escorted to our room by some very enthusiastic Balinese. Our room was clean and took us a while to realise it had no fridge or TV (I emailed them to ask if they had a DVD in the room and they replied with a no - could have said they didn't have a TV to connect to the DVD). On the way up from Legian we stopped and purchased some nice pâté and cheeses to go in our fridge so had to store them in the bar fridge which was most inconvenient - climbing over staff who were most interested in what we were eating and drinking. Their Indonesian food was very good but breakfast was very ordinary - fruit juices were terrible - the staff took it upon themselves to literally sit with you for most of the meal which was very irritating - dont mind a chat but really! They loved sprouting aussie slang which was also very annoying! There was an array of family members coming and going - cousins uncles aunties etc always hovering and watching you in the pool. After 2 days we had enough (and lost our money as we had pre paid - bells should have rung when it was on,y $35 per night) and moved out to the lovely Puri Warata (see review) but couldn't have stayed there any longer! Would not recommend this resort at all!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadow094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amedbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Amed Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Shadow094,
Thank you very much for staying at Amed Beach Resort.
In our hotel, we treat all the guests as our family. That's the authenticity of Balinese when contacting with foreigners. However we apologize if we somehow made you uncomfortable. We've already given our staffs in-depth training on how to be more professionals in doing their job.
Regarding TV and Refrigerator that absence in the room, we want our guests not to distract with TV. We want our guests to be fully experience staying in Amed, doing what they love doing outside, i.g: snorkeling, diving, sightseeing, or just lay down relaxing by the pool.
So about the refrigerator, we will provide cooler box for storing your drinks to keep it in your room upon request.
Since we are building new rooms which will be expected finished on October, we will complete the room facilities. We'd be pleased if you give us another chance to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with family / friends. Nick, Eddy, Daizy, kohman & staff truely looked after us.
Rooms are extremely clean, ours on the ground floor, overerlook the pool. Whilst the 2 room upstairs have views up & down the coast.
You literally walk out of your room, past the pool & onto the beach. The snorkling is quite poor here but if you walk south, or hire a bike, there is decent snorkling off Amed Dive Cafe or even better further south at the water garden.
The staff organised a morning boat trip, with the local fishermen, for a snorkling trip to the Japanese wreck & then the water garden.
Nick (the owner - son of a local fisherman) organised a culteral dance night for us on our last evening. Four young girls, from Nick's village, dressed in traditional atire performed several dances whilst we dined on smoked duck & local vegetables. At the end Daizy then performed another dance & then proceeded to get all of the restaurant guests to, individually, perform with her. Quite a laugh had by all.
On of those places where you arrive as a guest & leave as a friend.

Room Tip: Be aware that the local children will pester you selling salt (a local product) stating that they ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_m2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Pros: Atmosphere, decor, staff, food. Romantic...
Cons: Location - far from most activities but for a few days a perfect getaway!

I have to admit when we first crossed this large black sand lot with a small pig stye where we stopped that we perhaps were in the wrong place.
Wrong - I went ahead of my husband to make sure it wasn't a mistake when suddenly three young men come around the corner to greet us. They immediately take our luggage as we followed them around the corner and what do we see? Paradise!
This lovely little boutique hotel has just 5 rooms, a restaurant, pool and meticulous landscaping all facing the ocean! What a surprise and FYI it looks just like the pictures that other reviewers have submitted.
Only 3 years old the rooms are beautiful with petals on the 4 poster canopy bed, very modern river rock bathrooms with rain shower heads and plenty of hot water. A nice seating area outside that looks over the pool and ocean beyond.
What really makes it special are the young men that run the hotel - they are very friendly and literally treat you as family. Pejor invited us to his home to meet his lovely wife Wayan and their little boy Augus. We were so touched to be invited over. The other family members were also helpful. We needed a bracelet repaired and one of the staff personally took us to a silver smith who fixed it on the spot and charged us next to nothing.
Breakfast was included and the banana pancake was perfect and delicious. We only stayed three night so we decided to eat at their restaurant all three times. The food was exceptional and prepared by an Uncle whose name we never did get - but made sure to thank him for his great cooking.
We were there late Jan. so the weather was not on our side - ocean too rough to swim and several heavy rainshowers. It would be amazing to visit when the water was calm and weather less unsettled!
Thanks everyone at Amed Beach Resort - this review is long over due.
Audrey and Lyn

Room Tip: They charge a little more for the upper rooms and for a few dollars less the lower rooms still have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel and rooms were in a decent condition, apart from a cockroach in the bathroom. It has a nice swimming pool and is on the quiet side of beach. However, it is far from the main snorkelling and diving spots. Walking isn't the easiest and it's pretty difficult to get around without a scooter from here. The hotel restaurant was really good. The hotel offered decent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We enjoyed three nights at the Amed Beach Resort. It is a cosy (five room) hotel right on the beach in Amed. We found it online and had no idea what to expect but from the moment they picked us up at the ferry in Padang Bai to when they dropped us off in Lovina, we had nothing but great hospitality and lots of smiles! Thank you to Nick, Eddie, Pijar and Wayan. We are travelling with our two children and they could not have been kinder. They were on time for pick ups and everything was as promised. When our son had a headache, they even went out and got him medicine! The meals were great and we even special ordered a whole tuna one night as a family meal and it was delicious:) We swam several times a day in the pool, had massages onsite, watched local kids playing on the beach and enjoyed hours of tours and driving from Wayan and Nick. Our final day took us through mountains, landslides and when we changed our plans they had no problem taking us to a new destination and making sure we were set up in a hotel and ready to go. THANK YOU SO MUCH. Great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms great- pool view. We had a double, twin and extra mattress. Perfect for a family of four!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Amed beach resort is fantastic! It would recommend this place to any one. Fist impressions were great, we were greeted by Eddie. The room was excellent, a four poster bed with canopy and an outdoor bathroom. The restaurant was the best... make sure you always ask for the "special". But most of all the staff, or should I say our friends were fantastic they made our trip! My partner and I stayed for 6 nights and we wish it was longer. Amed is laid back which was perfect. You can hire a scooter and ride the Amed beach strip or wander along the beach to some fantastic snorkeling spots. Everyone in Amed is lovely. My review wont do justice as to how great this place is. A massive thank-you to Nick, Eddie, Komang, Wayan and everyone that made our stay unforgettable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yverdon-les-Bains
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent three nights in Amed beach Resort in October 2013. The location of the hotel is perfect, just on the beach. The swimmingpool is quite big and clean. The rooms are wide and offer a very nice view on the sea and on the volcano.

The hotel has only 5 rooms, the personal is thus really helpful and very friendly. We enjoyed a lot to go to a balinese ceremony in their family temple. They also offered us to go fishing with a local fisherman one morning. This experience was unforgettable. You can rent snorkeling equipement at the hotel with a nice snorkeling spot just by 10 min walk on the beach. I know that you can also rent scooter at the front desk.

The restaurant is good with a mix of Balinese and International food. They're making perfectly the fish of the day (mackerel or barracuda for example). You can easily order at any time. It's also possible to order drinks at the pool!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cybec17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
3.6 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
2.7 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.7 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arya Amed Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
2.6 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#2 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amed Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amed Beach Resort

Property: Amed Beach Resort
Address: Amed Beach, Purwa Kerthi, Karangasem 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amed Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Amed Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amed Beach Resort Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing