We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute serenity!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Matanai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Matanai
Geelong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute serenity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at Villa Matanai for the duration of a retreat I was attending at Santiago, and the moment I stepped into my room I knew, retreat or no retreat, I would find the peace and tranquility I had come to Bali for. I was lucky enough to have a sea view room on the second level and it was the loveliest room I had ever had. I must say here that I am generally a budget traveller, but this room had virtually two walls of glass and I could lie on the bed and see the ocean through the palm trees. There was a large terrace in front of my room that, although anyone could access it, they seldom did, and as soon as they realised it was a private room, they beat a hasty retreat. The hosts of the Matanai are very friendly and obliging and although I did not need to eat there, I heard from others that the food was good. There were little things that might bother you if you expect perfection. For some reason, the water that came out of my shower was never even warm, but others did not have this problem, and as I don't worry about little things, I took it in my stride. The weather was hot after all! There was no power point in the bathroom, but a hole where it had been, and I had to stoop to look in the mirror. Apart from that, I found the Matanai glorious! The pools were great, and the villagers were so lovely and friendly. I have been to many countries, but Jasri in Bali really struck a chord in my heart. It is easy to get a car and driver to take you further afield for a few hours or even the whole day if you wish. If you are just after a restful experience, the Villa Matanai and surrounding walks are enough to sustain you for a while. I just loved it!

Room Tip: For singles or a couple, it is worth paying more for a superior room, especially if you are going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The atmosphere in the villas and area is secluded, peacefulll and especially a treat to be able to enjoy thiis. We came here more than once and will be coming back. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the food is of good quality and tastfully cooked especially the Indonesian dishes that are our favourites.
From early morning sunrise untill evening you can experience all the sounds that nature brings you.
The sea, which is only 50 metres in front, the birds, the grasshoppers etc. A little paradise has been created here by the management regarding Bali in all ways! Away from the buzz that you can find in many places on Bali, you relax here in a special way! Villa matanai 2 where we stayed offers you privacy in a beautifull garden with your private swimminpool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenKuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I've been coming to Bali on holiday for about the past five years and have seen most of the island. there are a few places I always come back to, and Villa Matanai is one of them. it's one of the places I consider to be a "second home" in Bali -- located in the sleepy village of Jasri, a cool little village that runs on Bali time, shamelessly laid back, fueled by cold Bintangs and fresh coconuts. If you're looking for Kuta-style nightlife, this definitely ain't the place for you. but if it's a chilled-out escape that you're after, Matanai a fine choice. great for couples, more adventure-minded travelers, and surfers. there's a right-hand point-break here that's epic when it's working, though it's a bit fickle so it isn't so overrun with surfers as some of the other more well-known east coast breaks. Jasri is about 15-20 min. drive north of Candidasa, and easily accessible by either taxis or public transport (US$1) if you feel the urge to go hang out in town with other tourists, do some shopping or go out for a more upscale dinner. there's also a fantastic beach 10 min. south of Jasri called White Sands that lives up to its name and makes for a great day trip of swimming/snorkeling since the beaches in Jasri are too rocky for swimming. Villa Matanai makes up for that shortcoming with a well-manicured lawn that stretches out to the ocean, two nice swimming pools and plenty of poolside chill out space with good music and a friendly vibe as you swap adventure tales with other travelers. sunrise over the bay here is breath-taking and full moons rising over the bay will leave you speechless. rooms start at about US$30/night, which is a steal considering what you'd get for that in Candidasa. the grounds are beautiful and quiet -- sometimes a bit too quiet, as the evening tends to wind down by 9pm or so. rooms are tastefully decorated and clean with good facilities (ie, hot showers, nice linens, and good internet access in public spaces). staff is also very friendly and helpful, with a kitchen that puts out a great breakfast and a good surf'n'turf-style lunch/dinner. tips: if you're eating at Matanai, stick with the seafood & burgers or local Indo food and skip the Thai/Indian dishes. make sure to visit Charlie's Chocolate Factory, a funky bungalow right next door where they make amazing handmade all-natural dark chocolates and natural soaps/Surf Yogi chocolate-based sunblock for export around the world. other gems in Jasri include the Royal Water Gardens and a natural spring where you can swim in cool crystal clear water for an entrance fee of about US$1. lastly, be sure to sit down and have a cold beer with Aussie owner Vin who lives on the premises and never fails to deliver a great story about Bali "back in the day"...

Room Tip: ocean view or the rooms in back facing the pool. if group of 4 or more, or want more privacy, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

third time spent at the matanai and hope that it doesnt get to popular that its hard for me to book next year.vince and agung offer great value accom and food and the place gets better each time as vince and his team make improvements.If youre after a stay away from the madness and are over shopping and like relaxing,reading,your own company, short walks and maybe a bit of surf this is perfect.Most guests seem to be on the same wavelength so our stay was enjoyable.Vince can arrange a driver at a reasonable cost to take you on the coast road to Amed and the nearby water palaces , a dont miss day.Hard core surfers probably would be disappointed as surf is irregular and small, but if my missus can spend a week there it must be good

Room Tip: all rooms have fans and a/c some have ocean views and tv etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaud00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited in 2012 and stayed for 6 nights in 2013. Everything is getting so much better showing how making an effort really shows. A number of options of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets.

The staff are friendly and efficient. They know when to be around and when to be seen as needed. Food is great and it doesn't get any better for location or amenities.

The owner has a passion for the place and won't be satisfied until he has completed all the tasks he has set himself on improving the place. This is what you want in a property where you are a guest for a short time.

If you are looking for a villa that provides solitude but you still want to get answers when you ask for help, this is the place for you. Be a little daring and get away from the same old, same old.

Would recommend the villa for anyone wanting to not be treated like just another tourist.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeTwoClerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Easy to find once driving trough Candidasa ... Front beach villa with simply all you need for a splendid stay in a relaxing part of Bali ... If it is about relaxing and/or surfing, delicious (Indonesian as well International) snacks and meals, enjoying the environment, the need of WIFI and an upmost friendly host Vincent ... That and more you will find at Villa Matanai. Simply Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIDIHERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I was visiting Bali with my girlfriend and her family for 2 weeks (4-5 days at Villa Matanai). We started in Ubud which was great to see the culture, but wanted to wind down and relax a bunch more, so we headed to the Villa (a recommendation from a friend).

The price was amazing for the value of the room, pools, etc. They played music at our request and were extremely friendly, they ordered in a masseuse for some other clients (I'm not a fan of massages, but it was an option). They had a driver specifically for the Villa (and some vans) to drive us around (at a small cost). I don't know what more I could've asked for, really.

I definitely recommend staying here - it was fantastic - the staff were uber friendly (they were sad to see us leave!). We bonded really well with them, and were able to joke around, but they were still very professional and efficient. The food was easily 4-5 stars (though I stuck with the Chicken Satay Stir Fry because it was so good, so I haven't tried all their stuff yet) and they knew when to offer us more drinks, or when to let us chill out, or we could just hop over to them to chat.

It's very near white sand beach, and the owner of the Villa took us to White Sand Beach, referred us to Gusti's Warung (best Mie Goreng Ayam to date), and the beach was beautiful. We had also gotten a ride to Candidasa to try out some of the stores (the stores seemed to have lots of items that were being sold in the Ubud market, and for cheaper... doh!)

The pool and some minor polish things were still needed to be done, but overall, if I'm ever in Bali again, there's no question that I'll be trying to get some rooms at this Villa.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karangasem hotels
0.3 mi away
Aashaya Jasri Resort
Aashaya Jasri Resort
#5 of 54 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle Bay Hideaway
Turtle Bay Hideaway
#12 of 80 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kebun Impian
Kebun Impian
#10 of 54 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kangkung Cottage
Kangkung Cottage
#10 of 18 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jepun Didulu Cottages
Jepun Didulu Cottages
#12 of 29 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Ayuri Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Subagan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Matanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Matanai

Property: Villa Matanai
Address: Jl. Pantai Jasri | Jasri Beach, Karangasem 80813, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Matanai 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Villa Matanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Matanai Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing