We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Warung ever ...”

Warung Padang Kecag
Ranked #4 of 122 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The small restaurant (Warung) near the main road and the beach.We serve Western and Indonesian Cuisine.Open 11 am - 11 pm
1 review
“Best Warung ever ...”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our hostel was located very close to this special warung. We only had breakfast at our hostel, so we followed the recommendation of the hostel's staff and it was worth worth worth it!!! We went there several times for dinner and lunch and tried nearly the whole menu (Vegetarian, fish, meat, traditional dishes and even pasta...). Without exception we had a wonderful time there and the food/drinks/dessert were delicious. Nevertheless the prices are quite cheap and there is no additional service charge. During lunchtime it's not very crowded, but from 7 p.m. it's sometimes hard to get one of the tables (around 9). Be smart, hop in and make a reservation before.
Everyone who is into boring tourist food like pizza and burger won't be happy in this place.

Conclusion: Prices = Warung, Quality = Superior
We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    79
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looks like a Warung, serves food like a stared restaurant”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Following a recommendation of our driver, we had a first dinner here. After the first one we had no doubt that we will eat here until the end of our stay. If you arrive for the first time, it looks like just another Warung. But with the first appetizer you will learn that this place is different. All dishes we had were freshly made, extremely tasty and really creative. Appetizers, mains and desserts, all exceptionally good, better than all others we had during our tour through Bali. Try gourami, fresh from the pond. We had preordered Babi Guling, which is usually known as fatty and heavy. Here we enjoyed a wonderful interpretation of this Bali classic with different vegetables and just a reasonable portion of meat and crispy skin. So 5 stars rating and a clear recommendation for this hidden jewel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrZ918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best find in and near Candidasa”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had dinner there, last night. When looking over the price list, I seriously doubted the quality. However, this turned out to be the best food I had in Bali. I had spicy sweet chicken and black rice pudding and my SO had the Mahi-Mahi with orange and spicy chocolate and we both had some cocktails and a couple of Araks. I actually felt sad when I finished my chicken and took an extra 5 minutes to scrape anything left in the plate, it was THAT good. In total we paid about 20k, tip included.
I recommend this to anybody in the area. Even if you make a short trip, it's well wort it!
Excellent staff and serving!
Bonus: there's also a small souvenir shop :)
Enjoy!

Went there on the 10th of June 2014

Helpful?
2 Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No better tasting food found in Bali! Top quality at no money :-)”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were glad we were doing the "Morning Walk" with Marcel, a Swiss, from the nice Candidasa Beach Hotel, he gave us the business-card of a small restaurant a few steps from the hotel (turn left if you leave the hotel, on the opposite side of a temple, at an edge).

Usually I do not eat lunch when I am on vacation, breakfast-buffet plus dinner is enough....
But we were keen to try that place. In the meantime I have been there 3 times in the afternoon.

Chicken minted Sate with balinese vegetables an rice as well as fish Mahi Mahi orange with small roasted potatoes and vegetable not only looked like the serving in a top restaurant, but also tasted excellent! Each dish Rp. 45.000 which is only less than 3 Euros!

You will be surprised - whenever you'll pass that region in the East of Bali, just drop by!
Facebook: warung padang kecag,
Br. Mendira, Candidasa-Karangasem

I drank fresh pineapple-juice (pressed for me) which was also wonderful.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wienerin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazingly good food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

No visit to Bali is complete until you've eaten here. The food is so so good and priced very well. We stayed just around the corner at Villa Gils (amazing as well :) so we were lucky enough to visit this place a few times. Do not miss the roast suckling pig (need to order in advance) and the chocolate samosas. The chef is from one of the leading hotels in the area and his wife greets all the patrons warmly (every time we went it was quite busy with repeat customers). Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warung Padang Kecag also viewed

Candidasa, Karangasem
Candidasa, Karangasem
 
Candidasa, Karangasem
 
Candidasa, Karangasem
Candidasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Warung Padang Kecag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing