We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to visit or stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I got married at Tirtagangga on 2nd October 2013. It was heavenly! There is nothing that the owner, Haryo and his amazing team will not do for you. It was overwhelmingly beautiful and we were treated like royalty for the 5 days we and our families stayed at Tirta Ayu. Whether you are a hotel guest or just having lunch there, you will love it. The food, the people and the surroundings are all beautiful. All this at an extremely affordable price for 5 star luxury.
We will return as soon as we can and cannot recommend it enough. Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful Villa style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriK595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Sherilee,

Thank you for your comment , our team look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

You might as well enjoy the view of the water palace and there's no place better than at the restaurant!

The prices are great considering the location! It might be a good idea to order a table with a view out over the water palace if you want to be sure to be seated in a nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ceklarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your compliment , we look forward to your next stay with Tirta Ayu .

Regards,
Haryo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is located in a top location within the water place but getting in to it is a battle with luggage as the distance to carry is long. However, apart from the location, it is very much long on price and short on value. The room, Villa Agung, is very spacious but lacks warmth with very uncomfortable chairs both inside and out. It has a more or less private pool filled with fish but after a while this becomes somewhat mundane. The restaurant is over priced and under performing. The warungs outside the palace grounds are half the price with better food. However the staff are many and seem eager to please but not too forthcoming with information unless one knows the questions to ask. No information in the rooms about the area and no tea/coffee making facilities. Despite the three large rooms there is nowhere to put one's luggage except on the floor. A luggage table or rack would be appreciated. Guides arranged through the hotel are twice the price of guides arranged just outside the palace entrance. The service is the same.

Room Tip: Take one of the smaller rooms near the hotel swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Both, the rooms and the restaurant are real gems. Our room was large and the living space headed to a pond with big koi. The service is excellent and very friendly. We had a fantastic dinner with view over the gardens of the water palace. Tip: If you stay over night enjoy the gardens when the tourists are gone or in the early morning. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for comment , look forward meeting your next holiday and regards from The Water Palace , Tirtagangga. Bali


Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in the Raja villa for 2 nights. The bedroom and shower room are very spacious and lovely. The only thing we would alter would be to add some more outside seating near the small private pool. When we were there the weather was not that good and the only place to sit outside was on 2very spectacular chairs, but unfortunately not very comfy for extended sitting and reading. The staff were so very lovely nothing too much trouble, we were treated like Mr and Mrs Raj in the restaurant where we had a table overlooking the spectacular water garden for breakfast lunch and dinner. Hot stone massage was lovely and reasonable for the length of time it took. Swimming pool not that big and seating around the pool is limited, not enough loungers for all the villas, but we were lucky for the odd hour to get 2 beds together.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

There can be few views in East Bali to compare with the one from the Tirta Ayu Restaurant looking over the beautiful Tirta Gangga Water Palace gardens. Newly refurbished, this British-run restaurant sets a high standard with a very extensive menu and friendly, helpful staff who will even remember your name on return visits. Enjoy a leisurely visit to the 'must see' Water Palace and enjoy lunch here enroute the coast, or stay overnight in the Raja's room or one of the beautifully appointed villas on the site - all competitively priced and very gracious. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our plan was to stop and just visit the Water Palace during our drive from Sanur to Amed. Upon arrival we were all hungry and decided to try the restaurant inside and we are so thankful we did. The restaurant is very nice decorated and has amazing views. The staff was incredibly attentive and provided excellent service. All of our meals were delicious and we all listed it a one of our favorite meals during our entire trip. A wonderful stop during our drive and a great experience. Highly recommend enjoying a meal at the restaurant during your stop at the water palace.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
7.7 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
6.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Batur Indah
Pondok Batur Indah
#15 of 61 in Karangasem
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kubu Carik Bali
Kubu Carik Bali
#1 of 2 in Ababi
35 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Watergarden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Puri Sawah Bungalows
Puri Sawah Bungalows
#27 of 83 in Karangasem
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bali's ultimate number one holiday destination the fabulous Tirta Ayu Hotel (which means lovely waters). Located within the beautiful, secure 22-acre grounds of Bali's most treasured Royal Water Palace at Tirtagangga and situated in the Karangasem Regency of East Bali which is overlooked by Mount Agung. Views of the surrounding countryside are blessed with some of the most amazing rice terraces with the warm crystal clear ocean in the distance. This is real Bali at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirta Ayu Hotel And Restaurant
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing