We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven from the madding crowd”
Review of Dewani Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dewani Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at Dewani Villa for our first four nights of a three week trip to Bali and Lombok. We try and make it a rule that the first few days of a long haul trip are chill-out recovery and adjust days.
Dewani fulfilled the promise. A hotel staff driver picked us up from the airport all smiles despite the two hour delay on our flight from Singapore. It's a good 30 minute drive through the traffic chaos of Denpasar to the rapidly disappearing rice fields of Kerobokan. This is Dewani Villa's only drawback - if you don't have your own transport it's a bit of a hike into the main tourist areas of Seminyak and Denpasar. But taxis are cheap and worth every rupiah in the heat of the day. Plus you get the benefit of no traffic noise and the hint of a more pastoral Bali.
We were greeted in the tiny reception area with ginger tea and oodles of fuss while our bags were taken up to our room. Iced beers quickly followed. Our room was the upper floor of a round villa with thatched roof, large balcony overlooking the pool, teak floors, mahogany furniture and a huge four poster bed. Packed with local character and charm but still practical and comfortable.
The whole hotel site is pretty compact with only seven (I think) villas in all. The garden is packed with plants, trees and flowers of ever tropical persuasion. Avocados hang temptingly out of arms reach. We have the pool practically to ourselves for the entire stay, which suits our rest and recovery plan perfectly. Breakfast is the usual travellers fayre of eggs any way you like, pancakes, fresh fruit, the best Balinese coffee. All made to order for you by the two smiling staff in the open-sided communal dining area. Breakfast is the only real food you will get at Dewani Villa. For lunch and dinner you'll have to go out, but that's no problem in Indonesia. There's a very nice Italian restaurant (Lestari Grill) just 200m up the road.
The hotel has its own (associated) vehicles and drivers so arranging trips into town, full day excursions or transport on to your next destination is easy and very affordable.
The staff throughout our four night stay could not have been more helpful. Always smiling.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithPyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here for ten nights and we had the most amazing, faultless experience! The villas are gorgeous, extremely clean and well-maintained. The four-poster bed is massive and very comfy with the romantic bed curtains doubling effectively as a mosquito net (not that we saw a single mossie during our stay, they must spray lots). The wooden furniture is very authentic and gorgeous. The bathroom is huge and the outside shower is amazing- and nice and private!

We used the pool every day and on many occasions had it to ourselves even though the hotel was full. The pool was beautiful and clean. The towels were ready every morning on the sun lounges and we were always offered tea and coffee.

Now on to the much discussed breakfast! Well... Made makes a killer banana pancake as well as delicious eggs any way, crispy bacon, croissants, fresh fruit, juice and really good coffee!

The staff are absolutely amazing! They are the most friendly, helpful, obliging and smiley hotel staff we have ever come across and are sure not to be beaten!

The hotel is a five minute drive to Seminyak. But don't be put off by its 'out of town' location As the staff take you In to town for free in air-conditioned cars. And a taxi is less than $1.50AUD back. We initially had considered places in Seminyak due to their proximity to shops etc but we are so glad we decided to go with Dewani as it was so nice and peaceful. A taxi costs next to nothing!

We can't recommend this hotel enough. Considering how poorly Bali hotel staff are paid, their service and attitude is incredible (never at any point throughout our holiday did any one show any signs of expecting a tip) and we were very happy to leave a generous tip (to be shared amongst all the staff) and would encourage others to be thoughtful and do like wise. Personally, you aren't going to miss $10 per staff member but for them it really does make a difference between having a hard month and making ends meet.

Highly recommended and If we returned To Bali we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Thank you to all of the staff for a beautiful holiday.

Lucy and Andrew :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at Dewani for 7 nights in a pool view room. The rooms were nice and large and the outdoor (but private) shower was a novelty. The pool was great for those hot humid days, the garden was well tended and you had a choice for breakfast which was nice i.e. cooked, fruit, pancakes, or Indonesian on request.
It is a drive from other centres in Bali but enjoyed it personally as it reduces traffic noise and in my opinion is a tonne more relaxing getting away from it all. The hotel also do a free shuttle into Seminyak and other areas though so we found the distance didn't really limit us in any way- and taxis are very cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed here for only one night in mid December 2012 prior to checking into a private villa my husband and I rented with friends. I booked a standard garden room on Expedia for an excellent discounted price but we arrived to find ourselves upgraded to their nicest suite. The hotel was booked at this point so, perhaps they gave our room away for the week. We we greeted with the friendliest of smiles from the staff member that picked us up from the airport and when we arrived at the hotel, we found the rest of the staff were just as gracious.

The hotel grounds and pool area were well kept and, while we can't speak about any room other than the suite (which was incredible), I have a feeling the other rooms are quite nice and as pictured in any advertisements you see. Our rate included breakfast (and free wi-fi), which was served at a dining area by the pool and which was very lovely and included eggs and breakfasts meats made to order in addition to fruit and juice. The hotel also could make arrangements for dinner delivery to your room but, as tired as we were, we went out anyways and they steered us to a nice outdoor restaurant just down the street (all we could manage after 36 hours of travel :)

All in all, although we only stayed one night, I am sure we would have been happy at Dewani Villa for an entire week. If you can get a good rate, we would highly recommend this hotel and their wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Lovely little place about 10 min from the heart of Seminyak. Staff so friendly and eager to help. Service was spot on, and whenever we needed anything it was resolved in under 5 minutes. Rooms are clean and lovely for the price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NISchulze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at tis lovely place. Just a 10 minute drive (which the staff will happily do for free) from the hustle, bustle, traffic and fun of Seminyak (and the return taxi will only cost about £2)
The rooms in the honey pot style thatched villas are spacious, the 4 poster beds comfy, the heavily carved Indonesian furniture lovely, the outside shower (don't worry, it's very private!) a pleasant experience, the gardens are beautifully tended and attract dragonflies, butterflies and birds ... And of course the geckos
All the staff so friendly, warm and welcoming
Good swimming pool
Great value for money

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthEssexHeadlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This place is amazing. The staff, the environment and surroundings, the rooms, the service. Everything was amazing.

We stayed here for 5 nights and at the end of it, we sure did not want to leave. The staff were so friendly, we felt like we were a family. The menu at breakfeast was basic but it was sure delicious. There are only like 6-7 rooms and everyone is away from each other.

The public pool was clean and you have access to it at all times. As long as you are silent and do not disturb anyone else.

I highly recommend Dewani villa's to anyone who wishes to go ot Bali and stay in the Seminyak area.

There is no room service at Dewani but you are welcome to bring all sorts of drinks and food back to your Villa.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and they are absolutely warm and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kerobokan hotels
0.8 mi away
Marbella Pool Suite
Marbella Pool Suite
#24 of 36 in Kerobokan
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 36 in Kerobokan
694 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Avenue Bali
Grand Avenue Bali
#53 of 119 in Kerobokan
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Widyas Luxury Villas
The Widyas Luxury Villas
#76 of 119 in Kerobokan
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kampoeng Villa
Kampoeng Villa
#9 of 119 in Kerobokan
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Adma Umalas
The Adma Umalas
#13 of 36 in Kerobokan
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewani Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewani Villa

Address: Jl. Dukuh Indah | Banjar Semer, Kerobokan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range: £17 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dewani Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dewani Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewani Villa Hotel Kerobokan
Dewani Villa Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing