We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sardine

Sardine
Ranked #21 of 195 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SamsoKnight
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Friends took us here on our recent trip to Bali and when they promised paddy field surroundings in the centre of Semanyak, I was dubious.
However, it's amazing!
We had lunch on a Sunday and lingered over it for a good few hours. The cocktails were fantastic (as was a rehydrating coconut water) and then the food was just great; fresh, of a fantastic quality and just right for sitting outdoors in the shade on a warm day.
The tables are well appointed and the seating very comfortable. Service was very warm and professional but not fussy.
After lunch we were able to have a walk and take some photos in the rice field and then even stocked up on some new napkins in their small boutique.

I think that this place would be amazing to have a private party / wedding while the sun went down!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamsoKinight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,641
    664
    282
    95
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to Sardine for lunch and it is definitely a lovely restaurant, great food and should be on your list of restaurants to visit. The setting is really nice, beautiful furnishings. The staff were very nice, friendley and efficient. As it was lunch, we had a fairly light meal - I had the sashimi and my husband had the chicken - both really lovely. It can be a little slow to get a taxi back to Seminyak but the Security man was extremely helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthy of its Reputation”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A meal at Sardine was on our 'must do' list for this Bali visit. We were not disappointed. The service is smooth, very efficient and welcoming without being pushy. The extensive fusion style menu made choice a problem - it all sounded delicious.
Our entrees of mussel soup, tea infused salmon and soft shell crab; main meals of scallop ravioli, panache of seafood and seafood pasta were all that was promised. The drinks and wine list is very extensive although quite expensive.
It definitely maintains its reputation of one of 'the' places to go in Seminyak.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not just Sardine!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Came with a group and was a little concerned that only fish on menu. Started with scallops and duck to follow. Both excellent and beautiful restaurant. Word of advice, if you walk out back don't try and actually walk into the paddy fields, a friend did and got very muddy. LOL!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A nice suprise”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

On a recent trip to Bali my wife and I took a day trip out to Kerobokan to see the rice fields that we had visited many years before. To our surprise most have now disappeared and only a few small holdings exist in this area one local told us.
The 'Sardine Restaurant' was located just off the main road Jalan Petitengel in Kerokokan. When we walked into the grounds the traffic noise just seemed to melt away and the soft casual music of the restaurant took over and gave an overall relaxed feeling. The ceilings was quite high and the main structure was made from bamboo of different sizes giving the room a really nice feel. The restaurant side walls are open but have water proof blinds fitted in the event of rain.

When making our booking some months prior we requested a seat facing the rice fields and we were delighted with the position and view. (It is best to book and reserve a spot to avoid disappointment as the restaurant is very popular with tourist and you could be seated at the front of the restaurant, still nice but no rice field view).
As we were early we walked around the rice fields which we later discovered are harvested 3 times a year and the rice given to an orphanage which we thought was a great gesture from the owners and when the next crop is planted after harvesting the owners employ Balinese workers to replant the new crop and guests attending the restaurant can participate in the planting if they want to.
Once seated we were brought cold water, some ice (enough to sink the Titanic which was great as it melts so quick in the heat) and a drinks menu, which we both had this really nice lemon and ginger drink and found it to be very refreshing.

We made our selections from the menu and the food took about 30 minutes to arrive, this time delay might upset some people but remember here the food is prepared fresh for you while you enjoy a drink making the overall experience a delight, A far better outcome than the food being left in a warming dish to dry out and be warmed in a microwave when you order.

The food was delicious, not to spicy in fact just right for us, and the sweets were just great. During our time here the staff were most attentive and constantly filled our glasses with ice cold drinking water,
The staff we really good and the service we felt was better than a restaurant we had visited the previous day in Nusa Dua. We had a brief conversation with one of the owners a young Canadian lady for a while who gave us the history of the restaurant and talked about how the restaurant was designed by her Mother an artist who wanted to keep the traditional Balinese feel. The restrooms were clean and modern which can be a problem in some parts of Bali.
Overall a great experience and would definitely be a place to visit on your holiday. The restaurant is fine dining, the meals are not overly expensive and good value for the prices, , I would check about non smoking areas before you confirm a booking as they do not only cater for smokers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing