We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential, but not worth the money as it is.”
Review of The Grove Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grove Villas
Ranked #23 of 43 Kerobokan B&B and Inns
Jakarta,Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Has potential, but not worth the money as it is.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Where do I start?
This place was very disappointing indeed. I stayed in the 3 bedroom villa, and our first night was terrible. Guest toilet flooded. Ac didn't work, and upstairs was like a furnace. Our toilet was leaking. The shower handle came off. There was hair in the sink. The kitchen looked grubby and was in need of maintenance. The microwave stank. The spot where the oven was supposed to be was empty. The kettle was rusty and broken. Breakfast was barely edible because it was ice cold when it arrived. We also had a look at where breakfast was prepared and it was horrendously dirty. Disgusting. My aircon was extremely noisy and didn't work that well. It was a huge pain, since Bali was really hot, and it would have been nice to have a little relief from the hot weather outside.
It's really a shame, since the actual building is nice, the furnishings are good quality, as is the bedding. But they don't seem to get it.
We complained to the manager, and after a lot of going back and forth, she gave us a complimentary mini bar, and gave us a voucher for a free night plus fifty percent off the next night at their other properties in Seminyak.
We appreciated that they responded seriously to our complaints. They try to be friendly and helpful, but the maintenance is terrible. Perhaps the owner doesn't think that there is a problem, thus the manager's hands are tied.
I will commend the reservations manager, Susan, and the villa manager, Agung Ayu, for doing the best they could. Unfortunately, the villa was just not up to standard, and I wouldn't stay there again unless they sorted out all the glitches and overall maintenance of the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahmiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We snapped up this villa on groupon. Found it clean apart from the ants and it has a good layout. It's a far stretch from Semiyak, so if you are looking for something within walking distance, don't bother with this one. The manager was an awkward guy and quite intrusive but friendly. Best order an Indonesian breakfast, the rest of the food bordered on inedible. Overall its good value but found it a bit average.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batterthangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My big family of 7 adult and 4 children spent 5 night here during christmas 2012 . It's a very quite and hidden location , but there is 24 hours security . Everything in the villa was nice , the bed , bathroom , dining room , pool , friendly staff . . you must have vehicle because the location is too far from the crowd , although there is a minimarts nearby

Room Tip: The 4 room villa is very suitable for big family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Brockmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is not exclusive or fancy villa, but very nice for those who love private & quite place.

The access is quite hidden near Seminyak (5 minutes using car) and surroundings by other exclusive & private villa. You will found hilly & small road with rice field view.

They have at least 7 villa consist of 1 villa 4 bedroom, 3 villa 3 bedroom, 3 villa 2 room and i have seen all during my stay, and it's all quite same. Except there was one or two villa has a glass door to separate between pool and living room/ pantry and protect your skin from mosquito bite.

Some villa has working table and chair on each room, but some others don't.

BUILDING CONDITION
The building seems about 5 or 7 years old with average condition. There were few moldy spot but it don't bother a whole building. At least, you will feel comfortable deluxe room for sleep and free from fungus

BEDROOM
I lived in Villa D (forth in a row), and it has 3 bedroom;

Master Bedroom
- Had shower & Bathtub
- Queen size bed
- Located on 2nd floor

Secondary Bedroom
- Had shower only
- Queen size bed
- Located on 2nd floor

Third Bedroom
- Had shower only
- The room is narrow compare to others
- Located at 1st floor

All room equipped by Air Con, wi-fi, amenities, intercom, hot/ cold water, bath towel, beach towel but they don't provide slippers or kimono.

Also, they don't have door separator for each bathroom and great for couples :)

LIVING ROOM
They provide you with big flat TV (around 40 inch), DVD Player & Sound System with USB Port. So you can have a little party if you don't use the monitor. It's quite comfortable to make conversation or just watching TV together. Tips: You can use the pillow chair if you want to sit on the floor.

PANTRY
They provide big kitchen set and dinner table. Also if you want to cook yourself, just open the cabinet and you will found all cooking set & dinner set. Don't forget that they provide with big refrigerator to keep your meal stay fresh or frozen, also has a cold beverage inside and be billed after you check out. But they also have free mineral water at gallon and you can drink as much as you need. But too bad, they don't provide ice cube on refrigerator! My suggest, you can make your own ice cube using refrigerator or just buy at local mini market

POOL
The pool was quite big for 6 people or more and it has beach towel on the side. They had a shower near the pool, beach chair and toilet in front of pool. But be careful of the leech and bugs, since there is a big bush behind the wall. Also you can ask an engineer or room service if you need your pool to be cleaned. On the afternoon, you can hear the sounds from bunch of big frogs...you can take this as funny moment or just annoyed.

SERVICE
You can choose your breakfast at 2 styles: Asian or Western. All includes to your room charge (free). And they would request your option the day before.
Notes: The cleaning service will not remove anything from the desk or original place. So make sure, if you leave a trash, you better put on the trash bin by yourself (e.g. empty bottle/ can, wet shirt, or anything). They just mop the floor and clean up your after breakfast, or change the towel. They just avoiding the complain from guest by not touching any private guest material.

TIPS
Watch out for the cat. They would steal your meal! You better put your food on refrigerator or just finish it.

COMPLAINTS
- If you try to calling reception or security guard from intercom, they were very slow respond! It would be fast if you go directly to Guard Post on the front gate.
- Make sure that water supplies tank were full. If you don't aware of this, than prepare you ran out the clean water in the middle of night.

CONCLUSION
If you were detailed person, you won't fit with this villa since you must tolerate with the service and old building condition. But if you looking for fun and nice place with good price villa, this is for you. The ambiance so hommie and comfortable as long you don't rely on room service. Just serve yourself and have fun, and enjoy their promotion rate. I'm sure, i will go back again if I had a chance

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I spent 2 nights in this villa with my friends for a weekend getaway. we really like this place a lot.
we booked 2 rooms villa with our own swimming pool, it was superb. the rooms are very spacious with large bathroom, the kitchen area and lounge are also big.
i particularly love the tranquil ambiance in the villa, making the sunbathing activity became our favorite time in the villa.
the location is really good, close to seminyak area for eating out and shopping.
breakfast is pretty much standard, so if you want big and special breakfast then i would suggest you to leave the villa for a quick nice brunch around the area. plenty to choose from.
the staffs are helpful, but need to remind them to clean the pool every morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakartan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Staying at Villa 1, a 2-bedroom pool villa next to the security post.

Positives:
- A large villa with generous pool, spacious living, kitchen, bedrooms (king-beds in both rooms)and toilets.
- Cheap and tasty food delivery available from villa, takes abt 30mins - 45mins for delivery.
- Staff are helpful
- Taxi can be arranged in around 15mins' times

Negatives:
- too near to residences area, you need not have an alarm as the rooster at the residence compound would wake you up early each morning....
- breakfast is miserable with omelett, hard & dry toast, small pot of tea. Not prepared at villa, hence can be cold at certain days.
- very remote, not many drivers know the exact location. Min. 8-10mins drive to nearby areas like Kerobokan, Seminyak (cost around Rp20,000-Rp25,000)
- a few occassions staff just entered the villa without any notice while we were in the villa, gave us a shocked! Felt extremely "unsecured" as somebody could burge into your villa anytime though front door is locked.

Overall:

Ideal for those who drive, otherwise you can buy your own groceries and do your own cooking in villa. Then you can laze around the pool and watch DVD in the villa...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We recently get to visit Bali once again since January due to a friend's visit. She has never been to Bali before and so her first experience in the land of the gods. The verdict is...she loves it and had planned to be back in 2 months' time. Nothing strange for us cos Bali is a place that either you love it to death or you just visit once. The people I have spoken with on the way back told me they love Bali and every year since they first step foot on this island, GOD has make them feel peace and human;)
It's a place to be oneself, do whatever you want, rest and relax.

This time, we check on new villas and found one very reasonably priced. It was the Grove Villas in Umalas area. It is near to kerobokan area after Seminyak main town.
It is remote but we saw many villas along the way. They are just frantically building more and more villas cos of the demand.

There are 5 villas altogether on this estate. It was huge and reasonably priced.

The staff were hospitable without being a nuisance. They practically left us alone unless we need them.

This is a 2 storey 2 bedroom unit.
It was good for a family or group of friends. The price include only one breakfast on the first day. We stay 3 nites.There was no F&B outlet and no main reception. Guess these villas are privately owned and managed by one party. The breakfast could have been better. Just toast,eggs and tea,no coffee but we did bring our own coffee.;)

There is a good size pool but we were so busy getting out all day that we did not have chance of lazing by the pool...;(

The room was big enough with a separate bathroom and closet area. The master bedroom has a desk and a bathtub and a TV but the guest room does not have a TV and only a standing shower. It was fine for us. It was clean overall.

Security at the first villa entrance. This villa is the most noisy cos it is near to the local housing and security post...;(

The living room and kitchen were the best places; huge sofas, big TV, DVD player, table top for cooking, huge refrigerator, oven.utensils, big dining room, plenty of cloaset and drawer space, etc...wow!
It was huge. There was a glass door between the outdoor and living room and kitchen area and it kept mosquitoes away. The rest of the villas have open concept which is dangerous if you have little children as they may wander into the pool. We hope the owner may consider closing off the area with a door.
Good Bed mattress and good interior. Each room is big for 3 pax. Some can even sleep in the living room sofa and day bed. It can house 6 to 8 persons.

Only set backs were:
Poor breakfast
Airconditioning was weak but we did get them to fix it. They did and we were happy.
Showerhead of one room not working well.
Noise from outside-it is a villa to rest but located near the road and local housing does not do any good. The window in the bathroom must be sealed. Otherwise, every morning and nite, you hear people talking loudly and play soccer and kids crying...;(
There were mosquitoes so you need to get them to use the electric mosquito repellent.
The TV reception gets interrupted intermittenly. Believe cos it is further from town, the satelite signal may not be perfect.You will be concerned if you are a couch potato head.;)
You need to have a car cos it is not within walking distance to any town, etc.

However, if you seriously do want to rest, cook at home and treat it like your home, this is the place for you.Otherwise, you will need a full time driver. The distance also makes you less willing to get out once you are home.10 minutes drive to a nearby town.

Overall a no fuzz, long stay independent stay villa.;) Would definitely stay there if we have a longer trip.

Agoda has good rates.:0

Room Tip: Don't take first unit as near the local housing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUVBALIBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
0.0 mi away
Maca Villas & Spa
Maca Villas & Spa
#26 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
0.0 mi away
The Buah Bali Villas
The Buah Bali Villas
#6 of 113 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berry Amour Romantic Villas
Berry Amour Romantic Villas
#1 of 113 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Villas

Property: The Grove Villas
Address: Jalan Kelecung, Kerobokan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Kerobokan
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Villas Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing