We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice secluded hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We loved it here. As it was the last day of our holiday we were looking for exactly what we got - a private pool villa hidden away amongst the rice paddies with excellent service and food.

The staff are magnificent - special mentions to super friendly Wayan (July) and Citra who pours a great cocktail. The villas are superb with crystal clear pools, outdoor living, HUGE bedrooms and completely luxurious beds. The only let down was the electrical wiring in villa 101 which caused the bathroom lights to flicker when they were switched off (very weird!).

The food was really terrific, breakfast and dinner. The public pool is absolutely divine to swim in - picture perfect! We would highly recommend the Villa to anyone who wants to get away from it all. TV reception is poor (who watches anyway?!) but internet access is very good.

Note it's a few km's to the beach and you can take one of the 3 shuttles to Seminyak at 10.00, 3.00 and 8.00 but you need to wait for the next one to get back, or you have to arrange your own transport back (a cheap taxi trip).

Don't shop in Seminyak Square where the shuttle drops you off - the souvenirs there are highly over priced. Walk down the road from there towards the beach for 5 mins and you'll find a large market where you get far more range and cheaper prices. The restaurants there are good too.

They were very kind to allow us a late check out at 4.00 for no extra cost and looked after our luggage until our departure at 7pm. Enjoy De'Uma Lokha, we certainly did. It's a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 as it is at the front and you hear the security guys chatting to guests all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4D3N in the one room pool villa. The place is next to nice paddy fields and is a treat for guests. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the villa tremendously. The shuttle trips to Seminyak Square were helpful and coming back, the cab drivers didn't have any problem locating th villa location too. We enjoyed the daily breakfast and I like that my breakfast was able to be customized according to my preference in terms of selection and proportion. We also enjoyed the jacuzzi and our bed was big and comfortable. The candlelight dinner was nice and the staff went the extra mile to decorate the pool w petals and surrounded it with candles. We had a memorable time and highly recommend this villa to those who want a place that is unique, easy on the pocket yet not comprising on quality and style.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

De'Uma Lokha Luxury Villa's is everything you need for a quiet relaxing time spent in Bali where you can get away from all the hustle and bustle if that is what you need, with your very own luxury private pool Villa. we have spent time in Legian, at the "Lokha Legian" of course, where we thrive on talking and mixing with the locals, we have been there many times and know most of the locals by name and have become good friends and always look forward to seeing them again. One thing we have found with the Lokha group is they do look after their staff and it shows as they are so happy in doing their job as no task is too much trouble. The Staff, from Reception to Gardeners and from Bar staff to Chef's and kitchen staff and even to the wonderful Spa girls where a massage would have to be the highlight of the day, nothing is too much trouble as they are always ready to greet you in such a way that only the Balinese people know how. I love these Balinese people and cannot wait to get back to De'Uma Lokha or even the new Lokha Hotel and Villa's in Ubud. Whatever your taste in vacation I'm certain you will find it at The Lokha - Legian - Kerobokan - or Ubud.

Room Tip: A Three Bedroom Villa would be fantastic for three couples looking for a getaway as each villa is se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy162_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The place was relaxing, quiet, clean and you only get locals in the area as it is at the middle of rice fields. The staff were very friendly but some could not understand English very well. They offer free ride to seminyak square which is about 10 min away. About 45min away from the airport. They have free bicycles on hand which we used to ride around the area and go to local food restaurant and coffee shops. Very nice, recommend for your honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glendasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

After a week in Seminyak, we had 3 very relaxing nights here. The villas are in great condition, very comfortable, and we barely saw another guest during our stay as there are only a handful of villas. Plenty of staff means the service was excellent though. Can't wait to go back. For what you get, the price was also excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Villa is in very good condition. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. My wife and I have excellent stay for a week. Kitchen staffs, spa staffs are top notch there. We usually rent a van from the villa, which includes gas and driver for US$50 to $65 a day. The traffic is one of the worst I have seen so going around in the chauffeured van is almost a must. I don't have a good experience taking taxi service as they will either over charge you up front or drive around in circle to jack up the meter.

One caveat is somewhat remote location which means night time stroll for a snack will be difficult or not advisable. I knew about this ahead of time so not a problem for me but can be objectionable to some people. They have solid wifi connection which more than compensate for lack of mobility during the night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

It's about 2-yrs old.

Good taste in the design of the property.

Staff very attentive.

Never disturbed by staff. They were always very polite when talking to us. Nice and big smiles on their faces.

Quiet. We were very lucky to be one of the two guests in the property during our stay.

If you want to be in the middle of the action, this villa is not for you. If you like seclusion, quiet but still close enough to the attractions, you can consider this place. Located approximately 20-30 drive from Kuta, Seminyak, Legian depending on traffic.

Resort has free shuttle that takes you to Seminyak and back. Check with staff for schedule. Outside the scheduled shuttle times, they will call a taxi for you. Taxi fare to Kuta area is approximately 65k-75k IDR depending on traffic.

Blue Bird taxi is a reliable company that uses meter. Tip not required but I round up to minimize loose change.

The villa has nice size pool adjacent to the restaurant and spa. Staff keeps in clean.

Free breakfast included. Can eat @ restaurant or ask staff to deliver to villa.

Restaurant has a nice selection of foods for lunch and dinner though we did not eat there except for breakfast.

Fresh juices are amazing. Probably the best juices we had. Staff blend the fruits upon our order. Natural taste/flavor. No sugar added (at least that what the juices taste like)

We stayed in one bedroom private villa with private pool that is about 2.5 x 6 m dimension and approx 1.2 m deep (check with staff for specifics or visit their web site for more info). Love it. The villa has a outdoor living room and kitchen with gas stove. Has water bottle that dispenses drinkable water.

220V electrical outlets that uses two circular prongs. Bring appropriate adapters, converters.

Bali has a tropical weather with high humidity. Insects are part of the environment. Staff does a wonderful job of insect control. Staff burns incent type of bug repellent that has a pleasant aroma. It's not completely insect free but De'uma Lokha staff does a better job than most Westerners do in their own home.

Expect to see and hear geckos. Be assure geckos are NOT running wild getting on to furniture and your luggage. You are in Indonesia. A tropical country. it's expected to see this type of reptile. Refer to previous paragraph. The staff really does a wonderful job on making guests feel comfortable. @ no time did we feel insects, geckos gross us out.

2 free bottle of water daily.

Free fresh fruit plate in room upon arrival.

Flower petals decorated in the shape of heart on our bed and outdoor beach chairs upon arrival.

Staff also filled the outdoor bath tub with water and covered the water with flower petals. My wife had her very first flower petal bath ever!! She enjoyed this experience very much.

Floor to ceiling curtains blocks fun well for those who like to sleep in.

Comfortable king size bed.

Very good temperature control system. Has a ceiling fan as well. Never felt uncomfortable during our stay.

Amenities include bath robes, slippers, hair dryer, cloth hangers, in-room safe, tooth brush, tooth paste.

Outdoor rainfall shower separate from bath tub.

Free WiFi in your villa. Reliable. Fast.

Free bicycle rentals.

Spa on resort has nice selection of massages though we did not use it.

The facility offers candle light dinner by the pool that includes a bottle of wine. We did not use it.

Facility also offers several tour options. We choose the 8-hr tour with our personal driver and car for a flat fee. Because it was only the two of us, De'uma staff was able to customized the trip and take us to destinations that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willwu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
0.2 mi away
La Villa Mathis
La Villa Mathis
#1 of 35 in Kerobokan
623 reviews
9.8 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
3.5 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#36 of 87 in Legian
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
13.8 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 199 in Ubud
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Bumbak Dauh | Br. Anyar Kelod, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia (Formerly De Uma Lokha Luxury Villas and Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
#10 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range: £102 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa - Luxury in Serenity Nestled in idyllic and secluded cluster, The Lokha Umalas Villas and Spa is a Bali villa coming up with a breathtaking view of paddy field and undisturbed privacy. Each lavish villa offers a spacious room to unwind and relax. Whether for a romantic interlude or business travel, our villas in Kerobokan extending over 4,100 square meters of verdant tropical garden can cater your needs. A total of 15 units of luxury villas near Seminyak can become appropriate options for your sojourn in Bali. Ideal modern architecture with Balinese-influenced style yields stunning ambiance. While, the gorgeous interior of soothing colors merged with wooden furniture brings in comfort to these villas in Umalas. Rooms go harmonious with the outdoor natural look. This impeccable design is just like a cool air provoking the feeling of openness and relaxation on the verge of dreaming. So, do not miss to immerse into the luxury of this resort. It is only 45 minutes' drive from the airport. Besides, these villas in Bali also sit within proximity to some favorite premises like shopping oasis, amusement park, nightlife hubs as well as business complexes in Seminyak and Kuta. As our service, we are delighted to provide a scheduled shuttle service to Kuta and Seminyak at free of charge. Seminyak and Beyond - Seminyak - Umalas Villa Kerobokan, Seminyak is now another suburb of Kuta, just north of Kuta, Legian and Seminyak. It is a mixed tourist/residential area on the west coast of Bali. Because of its, high density of boutique shopping, cultural and entertainment center and many clustered fine eating establishment, it has rapidly become one of the most well-known tourist areas on the island. There are few notable establishments in addition to few commercial strips with popular and lively restaurants, bars, villas and good crafts/furniture shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing