We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uppala Villa Seminyak
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice room but poor service”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was expecting alot more from this place and was sold from the internet pictures and a promotion with a driver. Even though the room was good the service their was unfriendly, also the location of the hotel was inconvenant being along way from shops and restuarants. One the first night there we were charged 150000 rp on top of the free airport transfer for going to a restuarant on the way to the hotel, which was a bit rude since we paid for the dinner for driver and companion. We were then billed 350000 rp for a simple Padang style restuarant for 4 people which was a rip off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPVogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asih Y, Front Office Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear Daniel V
Warmest greetings from Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak...

We would like to thank you for your stay with us at Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak... . We very much appreciate your feedback about our property. We will pay attention to fix all the poor services you mentioned and take this case as a good lesson to improve our service in the future. Hopefully we still have a chance to serve you better for your next future visit to Bali..
Traveller's feedback is a valuable source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service and care.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak in the near future

Salam Hangat
Yadnya Asih


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    70
    45
    14
    14
See reviews for
41
153
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I just got a Voucher for staying 1 night at Uppala Suite. So, I take my Family out on Saturday.

The Suite was great, on the Ground floor is The dining area, Living room and with fully equipped kitchenette. For 2nd floor is where we sleep, with 2 Bedrooms - 1 Bedroom with King Size Bed and the other room with 2 Single bed. The private plunge Pool is when you open the main gate.

The property is new, the location of the suite is just 200 or 150 meters away from the main road. And about 15 to 20 mins away from the lounges, clubs and restaurant at Jalan Raya Seminyak and Laksmana, like Ku de ta, Potato Head, Trattoria, Cucina Italiana, Ultimo, Soho and etc.

My family's and myself would happy to stay here again. I would recommended you to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeYonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asih Y, Front Office Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear JoeYonathan

Warmest Greetings from Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak..
Thank you so much & Highly appreciated for recommending Uppala Villa & Spa Umalas and for sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure to hosting you and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially appreciated our staff service.

We have passed your compliments about our friendly and hospitable staff to our team.

Traveller's feedback is a valuable source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service and care.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak in the near future


Salam Hangat
Yadnya Asih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just return from Bali, and stayed at the Uppala Suite Kerobokan.
I check in and found the place clean and neat, I open the main door and there was the private plunge Pool. The dining area together with fullly equipped kitchenette is on the ground floor, than I went upstair and there were 2 Bedrooms one with Kind Size Bed and the other room with 2 Single bed with full amenties. Staff around was very friendly, generally Balinese people are very friendly.
This poperty is very new, the locattion of the suite is just 150 meters away from the main road, and if you are looking for a quite place than i would recommended you to stay here. The suite is about 15 mins away from most of the lounges and Clubs and restaurant, Jalan Raya Seminyak and Laksmana where there is a variety cuisine, style like Ku de ta, Potato Head, Trattoria, Cucine Italiana , Ultimo, Soho and etc.
I took some picture and you may want to see for yourself.
My friends and myself would happly stay hear again.

Room Tip: Uppala Suite is located at the Kerobokan suburb of Seminyak, All Suites is a two-storey with 2 kings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asih Y, Front Office Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear William S,

Warmest Greetings from Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak..
Thank you so much & Highly appreciated for recommending Uppala Villa & Spa Umalas and for sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure to hosting you and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially appreciated our staff service.

We have passed your compliments about our friendly and hospitable staff to our team.

Traveller's feedback is a valuable source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service and care.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak in the near future


Salam Hangat
Yadnya Asih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My travel plan was for 6 persons. Found Uppala Suites which I thought was a bargain. 3 bedroom suites / villa for a reasonable price.

To get a confirmation direct from the villa was a tedious chore with e-mailing back and forth. Maybe because there were changing management or something else. I got the confirmation after 3weeks.

From the airport with the typical traffic congestion, the journey will take you about 35-45mins to reach Uppala suites. It is located about 150metres away from the main street. The entrance to the street leading to the villa - Kerobokan Prison. That street is very dark & unlit.

Upon reaching the villa. Staffs are friendly. Generally, Balinese are very friendly people therefore nothing much can be said. My confirmation slip was for a 3 bedroom villa - which i was told 2bedroom villa with an attach walkway to another 1bedroom villa and there is a swimming pool. Much to my disappointment, upon checking in, I was informed that there is no such villa. So they have given me 2 villa with 2 bedrooms. My friends & I got the first villa on our left.

Upon entering the villa, I saw a dip pool (1.2M deep, 4feet x 7feet maybe). When ask, is this the swimming pool - YES. The walkway - a patch of "garden" behind the villa which was dirty & unusable. The villa is a two storey unit - a kitchen, a fridge, a water dispenser, bar counter, sofa, TV and a standing fan in the living room 1st level. Up the stairs, I was greeted by two bedrooms. 1 bedroom has 2 single bedroom & the other has a queen size bed. Both rooms has attached bathrooms & air-con. Minimum amenities were given. Personally, I don't think I want to stay a double storey villa again. After a tiring day, I have to climbed up the stairs just to get to my bed. The good thing is that we do not need to buy water at all.

The dip pool was sufficient for 6 adults to dip - not to swim. The living room was very humid. Knowing Bali's weather, it is unpleasant to sit in the living room without air-con even with the standing fan , it didn't help.

Wi-fi is free. But be warned, it was very bad connection especially when 6 people are trying to get connected at the same time. Even when we are not doing it simultaneously, one has to move around the living room to the signal.

Breakfast place- it seats an average of 24 people and it is on the 2nd floor. It has minimum spread of food. Egg station - does typical eggs. Bread station - white or wheat. fruits are warm. Coffee are instant sachet coffee. Cereal -2 types only. It was also warm at the breakfast place so making it a little difficult to enjoy our breakfast.

If you are entitled to a free transfer to the airport, please make a booking 1day in advance & specifically informed that what time you want to leave the villa. The transfer service is being out-sourced therefore they need to book it early.

Having experienced it, my friends & I have decided not to stay or recommend Uppala Suites to our friends & families.

To further travellers looking at this review, you have to decide whether is it worth it. If you do book a villa, all the best to you and wish you good luck.

i will add photos soon. It is in my Iphone

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asih Y, Front Office Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear Bagarib,

Warmest Greetings from Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak..
Thank you so much & Highly appreciated for recommending Uppala Villa & Spa Umalas and for sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure to hosting you and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially appreciated our staff service.

We have passed your compliments about our friendly and hospitable staff to our team.

Traveller's feedback is a valuable source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service and care.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak in the near future


Salam Hangat
Yadnya Asih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Me, my husband and our 3 month old daugther stayed at the Bismarkia Suits for about three weeks during our month long stay in Bali... We'd started out with 3 night in the W Hotel & Spa and though it might not be quite the same standard, I would still recommend it to everyone. The service was excellent, breakfast every morning in our villa, staff was so polite and attending to every need.

We didn't really use the restaurant except for breakfast, but this was great - especially the pancakes...

It was nice and clean and we had absolutly nothing to complain about. We even had 3 nights away (went diving in Tulamben) and they let us keep our Villa free of charge. I know it might have been becuase thay had just opened and weren't fully booked, but still it was great service. We could just pack a small bag and let everything else stay in the Villa!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Signe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asih Y, Front Office Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear Signe D,

Warmest Greetings from Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak..
Thank you so much & Highly appreciated for recommending Uppala Villa & Spa Umalas and for sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure to hosting you and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially appreciated our staff service.

We have passed your compliments about our friendly and hospitable staff to our team.

Traveller's feedback is a valuable source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service and care.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak in the near future


Salam Hangat
Yadnya Asih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed four nights over Chinese New Year and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are massive, with a good sized kitchen and lounge downstairs (by the private pool) and bedrooms upstairs. The beds were really comfortable, and we had the best sleep we've had in a long while. The hotel is on a quiet suburban street in Kerobokan, and Seminyak is only 5-10 minutes by car (or take the hotel buggy for free!)

The staff were ultra-friendly and helpful the whole time we stayed. Breakfast was also superb, and alternated between a buffet selection or a la carte menu - where trying the nasi goreng is a must!

We would happily stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daave_Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asih Y, Front Office Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear Daave_Marshall

Warmest Greetings from Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak …
We loved to hear that you feel happy of all our facilities and services. Your generous comments have been warmly received by our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to Uppala Villa & Spa Seminyak on your next holiday in Bali. Thank you.

Salam Hangat
Yadnya Asih
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The power/electricity generator of Bismarkia Suite is located right on the street near the neighborhood is not nice at all. When the generator is ON, the noise of this machine is disturbing the neighborhood. So noisy!
Why they never care about other people? Is it typical of Indonesians; when they have money, they can do whatever and no care to others?
How come this people can get permit to build of a hotel in this kind neighborhood?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker11532344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan B, Manager at Uppala Villa Seminyak, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear backpacker11532,

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to learn of your unpleasant experience with our generator location. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Your feedback is very important as we carefully analyze all of our guest feedback to identify areas of improvement in the hotel's service and facilities, to continue to meet our guest expectations.

We would like to assure you that we have followed all Government regulations and obtain neighborhood consent prior to the construction of the hotel.

We sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and we look forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.

Sincerely,
Wayan Bagiarta
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
3.2 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#98 of 338 in Kuta
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marbella Pool Suite
Marbella Pool Suite
#16 of 35 in Kerobokan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#13 of 338 in Kuta
751 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Ixora Kuta Resort
2.7 mi away
Adi Dharma Hotel
Adi Dharma Hotel
#34 of 338 in Kuta
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppala Villa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppala Villa Seminyak

Property: Uppala Villa Seminyak
Address: Jalan Intan Permai No. 18 | North Kuta Kerobokan, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Uppala Suite Kerobokan)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uppala Villa Seminyak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uppala villas Seminyak is designed for those who love space and it has a private pool, fully equipped kitchen, air-conditioning, and an expansive living area for you and your kids to rest and play in.Comfortable for both energetic and leisure travelers, Uppala villas Seminyak provides effortless access to most of your home comfort facilities and it's nicely located just minutes away to main Seminyak streets, Petitenget Beach and many nearby local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Uppala Villa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppala Villa Seminyak Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing