We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mexican Foods”
Review of La Libre Taqueria - CLOSED

La Libre Taqueria
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The focus at La Libre is fresh and healthy Mexican food. All kinds of tacos, big nacho plates and burritos with a selection of house-made hot sauce to try. Be warned: hot means hot! We serve a variety of cold, cheap beer and a wicked sangria. LA bar-style decor with air con inside or patio tables available. Open breakfast, lunch and dinner. Delivery available between Seminyak and Echo Beach. Now open 7 days a week.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican Foods”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've been there a few times and we also ordered their delivery service. Foods at La Libre are consistent and delicious, only the price is a bit steep. For the few times we went there, the place is always quiet, we're easily the only patrons dining there and it makes the ambience somewhat cold. We are definitely a loyal customer because of its proximity from our place, but I'd we move out, there are definitely nicer Mexican restaurants to visit here in Bali. Service is expectedly acceptable, most of the time, the waitresses are friendly and smiley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petit-firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican food ”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Can highly recommend this little Mexican establishment. Can highly recommend the pork tacos .. Absolutely devine. If staying in the Umalas area definitely worth a visit or two. The only suggestion I would have is that it might be worth investing in some cooling for the restaurant proper - we ended up sitting outside as we found the heat inside too stifling :)

Helpful?
Thank CazG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ring of Fire!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have been here a few times and have always really enjoyed the food, up there as the best Mexican cuisine in Bali!
Tonight I thought I would take a chance with a Ring Of Fire chicken burrito. I like my food spicy and usually douse every meal with chilly or Tobasco sauce and when others at the table are complaining the food is too hot, I can usually barely feel it. The waitress warned me that the Ring Of Fire is "very spicy" but I assumed that this was just an obligatory warning for the chilli vulnerable. I was wrong...
This burrito was probably the hottest thing I have ever put in my mouth. I managed to get 3/4 of the way through it before giving up as my tongue was on fire, my eyes watering, my stomach burning and my beer running low. I cant say it was enjoyable as I actually couldn't taste the food I was eating due to my burning mouth. It did help clear out my sinuses which was a positive! Hats off to the people that can eat one of these things without combusting!
I personally think that it would be improved by replacing some of the rice (which holds much thermal heat) with extra lettuce, and adding some avocado and sour cream to provide some contrast and relief to the overwhelming spice.
Do not take this as a complaint as I was clearly warned before hand and have thoroughly enjoyed every other dish I have had there, highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBGFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Foodgasm!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I'm absolutely in love with the mexican food here! Definitely (for me) the tastiest mexican restaurants you can find on Bali! I'm a regular so I usually stuff my face with the burritos and tacos! The quesadillas are freaking amazing as well! I highly recommend the beef and pork quesadillas, the meat is really superb! Not to mention the Sangria is really amazing :D!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best mexican food I've tried in Bali”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

They have the best Mexican food and chillies I have ever tried in Bali. The prices are also amazingly low. However there is only one flaw and that is the music. THERE IS NO MUSIC! they can have no DON with no music.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Putu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Libre Taqueria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing