We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brown Feather Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

really cute and affordable place to stay if you would like to be near seminyak.
the staff are very friendly and helpful. they have bicycles that you could use for free.

great location - not too far and not too crowded. it is by the paddy field - so we did have a small roach/insect. Also, guests returning at night could be reminded to keep their noise down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stgdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. It can be good references for us to know where we are in the service and for the guest to get useful info about our property and its surrounding. In case of insect, we do provide repellent for those who are sensitive with insect. We will take a note about reminder for those who are returning at night to keep their volume down.

Have a good day!

Kind regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have recently held a wedding in bali. I've booked all 16 rooms in Brown Feather hotel for two nights, for my guests to stay.
I would really like to thank Komang and his staff for the transport arrangement and room distribution. He will follow up with me eg on guests arrival date, rooming list, transport pick up time to my wedding venue. When the transport was late to pick up my guest at brown feather hotel, he did a follow up for me. Thanks yo him that my guests arrived at the wedding venue on time for the ceremony to start. It's not easy to have an overseas wedding, it's nice to have someone to go beyond his duties to help out.

All my guests that stay at brown feather hotel are all from aviation industry, pilots and cabin crew. We are all frequent traveller and have high expectations when come to hotel stays, and service standard. Being a small, unique, boutique hotel, Brown feather won my guests over. Thank you so much to komang and team.

Location is fantastic too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank lyloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear CPP,

Thank you for taking time writing us a sweet review regarding to your recent stay.

We have shared with all the team member that you're enjoyed your stay with us and, in return, we all are happy to have achieved it. Everything were done by default and it is our culture at Brown Feather to pay extra attention to guests' need.

We hope you both a prosperous life after marriage and wish to welcoming you and your aviation guests back in the near future.

Kind regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My parents and I had a great time and your staff were so welcoming and friendly. The decor of the rooms is just fantastic. The bed and pillows soooo comfy! I even noted down the brand so I can get something similar for myself! I will definitely be recommending the hotel to my friends. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myportablelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear LF,

We all are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at BF.

Kindly let us know if you need our reference to get the comfy linen and pillow so you can get yours and make your morning feeling as you did at BF.

Thank you for recommending BF to your friends and hope to welcoming you and family back in the near future.

Best regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Strong steady Wifi, cozy decor, great view of rice paddies & morning glories, and lovely smelling rooms (vanilla & lavender I believe)! It was such a pleasure to come back to my room in Brown Feather after each long day out exploring Bali. The staff are friendly & helpful (although a little shorthanded at night), and all facilities worked well. Also within walking distance to many eateries and shops along Kerobokan, so it was convenient to walk around and explore the area. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room further in, the ones beside the road can get quite noisy for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeraneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Jeraneen,

We do appreciate your sweet review on TripAds.

Yes, you're right that we put an aromatherapy with lovely smell of vanilla & lavender. As many also say that out room is cozy and rustic. There are numbers of pre-wed session being held here. Since the hotel is only 16 rooms, we received quite a few 'group' inquiries from school boys to wedding group.

We hope to see you again in the future either privateer or in group of 16 rooms.

Best regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We've stayed in a few places around Bali before, and Brown Feather definitely tops our list for most unique. It was a pleasant, colonial style place which was a little way off the main road, but provided a restful haven. We traveled in a group of 4 and booked 2 superior rooms for our first night. The bed was big and comfy - could have easily fit 3 people; and the toilet - spacious and clean. It was a 2 storey hotel and the superior rooms were located on the 2nd floor.

Our 2nd and 3rd night were spent in the bigger Halona room on the 1st floor.. we were reduced to a group of 3 people and the hotel was kind enough to bring an extra bed in. Everything was perfect as well in this room; had a wonderful night's sleep - it was so quiet and peaceful. There was a convenience store right next door if you forget any amenities or just need some water or a snack. The hotel provides shower amenities, tea/coffee, and bottled water.

Breakfast was lovely and rustic, with two selections of either an American breakfast - eggs, toast and sausages, or an Indonesian breakfast - fried rice and eggs. It also came with a coffee/tea, juice, and a side platter of fruits. There are only 2 breakfast tables available and one has a great view of the pool area and rice padi field. The main table sits under a canopy of leaves so you might have some friendly ants interrupting your breakfast, but otherwise we enjoyed the view and ambiance. Though there were only 2 tables, we had no problem getting seats for breakfast, particularly because there weren't many rooms at the hotel.

For food, there's the ever popular Naughty Nuri's Warung just down the road, and Watercress Cafe (which serves awesome brunch and is full of foreigners). And we loved that Batu Belig beach is so nearby! It's actually about a 10-15 minute straight walk from Brown Feather, but under the sweltering Bali sun you would want to take a cab. Costs about 6500 RP from the beach to the hotel.

We also would like to commend the staff at Brown Feather, they were invaluable help from the booking 'til the checking out! For starters, I saw the rates for the Halona room, and sent an e-mail inquiry for a 3rd person's rate in the room. A Komang Swesen replied the next day with a detailed breakdown of the rates, and when I was pleased with it, decided to book via the official website about 4 days after the first time I saw the rates. However, I noticed that the online rates had increased by then - by about USD10, and promptly e-mailed the hotel again to ask if we could pay the first rate we were quoted. They very kindly agreed, and we are very appreciative of the hotel's integrity! They could have easily refused to let us pay the cheaper rate, and cited demand as the factor for the increased price on the official website, but they stood by their words, even when we had to go through a different and more arduous Paypal route instead of directly via the online website. Thank you!

Secondly, we were celebrating a friend's birthday at the hotel, and though we only requested for a birthday cake, the staff went the extra mile by decorating the bed with a lovely "Happy Birthday" message, and had a cake and card all ready by the side. She was so pleasantly surprised when she walked through the door!

In general, everyone was very pleasant and helpful; even the servers at breakfast greeted you with a warm smile on their faces, and they even send you off as you are leaving, waving goodbye as the cab drives off. All in all, Brown Feather has the whole package - wonderful design, excellent staff, and a restful, peaceful experience. I would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you so much for your long, nice words.

We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Insect interruption during outdoor breakfast may be the the price we got to pay when living with nature. However, apart from having pest control to spray the area three times a week, we will place some coils around that point to control the insect during breakfast on daily basis.

Birthday surprise and final wave before the taxi drive off are part of our culture at Brown Feather. We do not only excited when you check in but also when you are leaving that we hope to see you come back in the future.

Best regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

this was my first time in Bali and i will definitely be back to stay in Brown Feather again! We were initially worried about the location of Brown Feather, but it's actually really easy to find and situated on the main road and not off the beaten track. There's a Circle K just directly across the road, very convenient. You can find acclaimed restaurants very nearby, Sardine and famous bbq ribs, Naughty Nuri's. Bluebird cabs are easily available when you need to head out and most places in Seminyak are pretty close by, around cabfare of US$2 max.

Perhaps it's the low season so we felt like we had the entire B&B to ourselves. Breakfast was made on the spot. The pool was a bonus on very hot days and was just literally 2 steps from our room. Loved the industrial design and furniture of the rooms and the whole green decor of Brown Feather. The bed was too soft for our liking but after a very tiring day, that can be ignored. Also loved the view of padi field once we opened our room window!

Room Tip: rooms at the end facing padi field
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twitchhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Hweech,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review on Trip Advisor.

We like to read your review and it would be very helpful to others who is looking for accommodation around Kerobokan areas. Indeed, we are surrounded by numbers of nice restaurant and takes only minutes to the heart of glamorous Seminyak.

Have a good day and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

i run business in bali and visit many times a year since staying at brown feather i haven't stayed anywhere else! the service from the staff is second to none with myself and my partner receiving a personal handwritten note from the staff that we weren't able to see the day we checked out saying how much they love having us there as we treat everyone with as much respect as possible.

Room Tip: try to get a room as far back from the front of hotel as the road is a little noisy sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cags23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swesen, GSA Team at Brown Feather Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Cags23,

It was great to meet you in person especially knowing that you had a great experience with us. Your tips will be useful to future potential guests.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a good day!

Best regards,
GSA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
0.3 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#2 of 34 in Kerobokan
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 34 in Kerobokan
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
#63 of 149 in Seminyak
454 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fontana Hotel Bali
Fontana Hotel Bali
#36 of 251 in Kuta
796 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sol House Bali Legian
Sol House Bali Legian
#15 of 87 in Legian
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Feather Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Feather Hotel

Address: Jl. Batu Belig no. 100, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kerobokan
#6 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range: £26 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown Feather Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown Feather Batu Belig, Kerobokan, is one of those accommodation available on the compound that offers uniquely vintage ambiance from the very front of the lobby to bathroom corner. Pre-wedding photo shoot is often take place here and most of our guest are checked out with big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brown Feather Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Feather Hotel Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing