We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctuary from the hell that is Kuta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Balisani Suites
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sanctuary from the hell that is Kuta”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I travelled here with my wife in October 2013 for three nights. It was our first trip to Bali, and all I can say is thank god we avoided Kuta. This place is a little further away from the action (It cost us around AU$2.50-$5 for taxis into Seminyak's main streets) but it's really peaceful, clean, and right on the beach. The perfect place to de-stress. There are likely a heap more luxurious hotels with all the bells and whistles out there, but for the price, we thought this place was amazing value. The breakfast was more than adequate, the pool and bar are great and not too expensive. We stayed in room 220 which was in the absolute back corner of the hotel, but one that overlooked the beach and the garden. I think we must have been close to the housekeeping laundry, because the plumbing would occasionally make strange sounds for no reason, and the housekeepers would tend to congregate outside the room after their shifts. No big deal unless you're taking a nap in the middle of the day. Also, the wifi didn't work all the way back there, so we had to go to the lobby lounge to access internet. The internet by the pool was pretty unreliable as well.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs and winding corridors so if mobility is an issue, ask for a a room close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank balloonforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    301
    117
    60
    24
See reviews for
79
225
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 days and had a reasonable time here, but the resort is a bit hit and miss, for the positives;

- Crawling distance from the beach
- Nice pool with plenty of sunbeds (a rare find indeed!)
- Rooms are in good order and clean
- Nice spa for fairly reasonable prices

For the negatives;

- The lower rooms don't have a bath and have single beds (ugh)
- Gigantic mosquito problem both in the lobby and in some of the rooms...
- ...made worse by the fact that there are no klamboes available in the room, even when requested
- No wifi outside of the lobby (really?)
- Horrid, run off the mill breakfast buffet
- Restaurant staff can get extremely inappropriate at times, intruding upon your dinner experience
- Insanely overpriced laundry service (about 1.5 euros for a pair of underpants?) that managed go ruin one of my white shirts to boot

Overall I'd barely score this a 3 out of 5 as a result

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (200+) are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastiaanvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

very good value for money with nice and comfortable rooms, nice breakfast as well as a pretty good menu for lunch or dinner.
great pool area with sunken bar which is always good to have a cocktail while being in the pool and being right on the beach it offers a nice sunset.
really nice location if you are looking for a place to relax by the sea (not so much if you intend to go out every night but then the taxi fares isnt really expensive..)
(ignore fitness centre rating as there isnt one but I accidentally selected it without knowing how to undo it)

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room with sea view which was great, not sure about the other rooms but I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clement974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We've spent 5 nights at the Balisani. Initially we've booked a room in the main building, but since it was not ready for some unknown reason, they offered us a free upgrade to a Garden Suite for two nights. Initially I was reluctant since I don't enjoy moving too frequently, but finally we've accepted, and I'm really glad we did! The Garden Suite is amazing! If you have the chance to get a good rate, go for it without hesitation! It has definitely made our stay much more enjoyable. The suite is large, with a huge bathroom. The style of the bathroom may not fit everyone's preference, but we loved it! There is a huge bathtub in the middle, and a glass-rooftop shower area, really beautiful.
The unpleasant surprise came the next day, when we've received a phonecall informing us that we had to move to our initially reserved room (even if they offered us an upgrade for two nights). After reminding them about our agreement they've accepted to stick to it.
The breakfast buffet was quite good, with a large selection of fruits, Asian and international food. Chef is available for preparing fresh eggs. Maybe the juice could be improved. We've used the restaurant a couple of times for lunch, which was just OK. The selection is not that impressive, you can get easily bored after a few days. However, the dinner is much better. They usually organize a buffet dinner each evening, with some live performance, sometimes including traditional Balinese dances. The food was much better compared to the lunch, we really loved it.
The pool is another highlight of the Balisani, with an old-fashioned but lovely pool bar. Service is good, the staff is friendly.
The location was very convenient for us, as we wanted to get away from the noisy areas of Bali, yet is still not so far from the popular bars / clubs, which are easily accessible either by cheap taxi, or by taking a short walk on the beach. We've organized a few day trips to other places, but we've found the transportation offered by the hotel quite expensive compared to regular metered taxi.
Overall we've had a very pleasant stay at the Balisani. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Go for the Garden Suite, if you are able to get a good rate. It is really much better compared to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Péter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Beachfront hotel with a good level of service, Grand Balisani exceeded by expectations. Great value for the price. Tucked away at the end of a short street, it is none the less only a short walk to some nice eateries on the city side and a few beach bars on the other. As long as you are not looking for a 5 star experience, Grand Balisani will deliver.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddyrob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

off the beaton track and not filled-to-the-brim with other Australians.
Always great service, safe environment and great hosts.
Very easy walk along the beah to Seminyak restaurants and shop, life guard to the beach access, great pool bar, Made makes a wonderful Bali Spesiarl Pina Colarda.
Happy to return there on all our visits

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at this resort hotel for 4 nights this month, September
From the moment the bell boy 'gongs' you into the reception you get a feeling of calm & friendleness. The resort is one of the older Balinese style resort/hotels (its about 26 years old) with many buildings that have thatched & tiled pointed roofs. Externally it needs some renovations expecially the roofs & cement block walls.
I was booked into room 407 with ocean views, over the thatched roofs, on the 4th floor, not realising there are no lifts here! so back & forth was 4 flights of steps. This is worth bearing in mind if climbing stairs is a challange.
The room was a good size with a balcony, large bathroom with separate bath & large shower area, The telephone was missing in the bathroom but the cable hangs there. The toilet roll holder was just about off the wall, the toilet was part blocked the last 2 days. 2 bath towels are supplied (clean but greyish) but no hand towels or face cloths. The grooming accesseries are basic vis 1x shampoo, 1xbath gell, 1xbody lotion, 2x shower caps 2x sanitary bags, so bring your own if you need conditioner etc. There was also a separate desk with stool area. The room was very clean, as is the whole of the resort. The furniture is typical wood but no chair or table to sit at. A basket of 3 glad wrapped fruits was supplied but no knife, nor a bottle opener, just 2 cups & saucers & 2 spoons. The slippers supplied would fit a child, not me at size 10.
The floors are large tiles which I prefer over carpet for coolness & cleaness. The bed was King size, very firm, in a large wood frame (sheets were clean but greyish). Strangely there is no hotel directory, TV guides, do not disturb/make up my room signs or any operating instructions, nor is there a bedside switch panel or clock alarm.
The small food menu is just about the same for room service, pool bar & resturant. The prices are reasonable & the quality is very good. Don't forget the prices are ++ which means 21% Government & service charge (I hate that!)
The buffet breakfast was just plain bad. The food warmers were off so the food was barely warm, if you are looking for a 'western breakfast' you will not find Bacon, sliced ham, chicken, or mini steak just those horrible little sausages(cut in half) baked beans & grilled tomato. one morning they had their version of hash browns, browned on 1 side! They do however cook eggs to order ( I could not get poached)
There is a Mini Mart 2 minutes walk away where you can buy local beer much cheaper & there is a reliable money changer either next to the mini or up the road (much better rates than the resort) There are also some Cafe/Bar/resturants in the same street which are worth a try.
The resort offers, very reasonably priced, evening poolside food & a live band. Whilst I was there the had a spit whole suckling pig (yum) a b-b-q, & a 'D.Warung' Balinese food buffet.
The pool is spotless fresh & sparkling. The sunken swim up bar staff are outstanding, ask for Sri she has been there since the resort opened & remembers everyones name, drink & usually room number!
What really makes this place are the staff, they go out of their way to attend to everything you require & just cannot do enough to assist you.!
They can arrange a cab/car to the airport fixed price about AUD$15 (Flight Centre wanted $47 each way) so when booking transfers to & from the airport just book to the resort. That way you get to choose you departure time (it takes 40min - 1 hour) Don't get to the airport too early i.e. more than 2 hours, as the airport does not have much seating & flight check in only opens 2 hours before the flight so you cannot check in your luggage.
With a bit more attention to detail this place could really hum.

Room Tip: Ocean or Garden Views 1st or 2nd floor not to far from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#81 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Balisani Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Balisani Suites

Property: Grand Balisani Suites
Address: Jl. Batu Belig Beach, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Balisani Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Balisani Suites is located in Seminyak, Kerobokan and one of the only four star hotel & beach resort in the area. The resort is situated directly in front of Batu Belig beach with excellent sea view, magnificent sunset view over our sunken bar and an open air Kamboja Restaurant overlooking the vast panoramic Indian Ocean. Furnished with luxurious Modern Balinese style decor and landscape to ensure your stay to be enjoyable and memorable. Our establishment facilities completes with Lobby Lounge, Free Form Swimming Pool, Health & Spa Center, arts and souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Balisani Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Balisani Hotel Kerobokan
Grand Balisani Kerobokan
Grand Balisani Suites Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing