We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Monsieur Spoon Umalas
Ranked #63 of 228 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$4
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Monsieur Spoon is a family-run French Bakery-Cafe started by two Parisian cousins in 2012. Based in Bali's most-visited spots, Monsieur Spoon serves a tempting range of high-quality handmade French pastries, cakes, artisan bread and savouries in a relaxed, friendly environment. Our breads and pastries respect traditional French know-how and are made using selected sourced ingredients. We also serve seasonal fresh juices and house-blend coffee, and customers can enjoy free-wifi throughout our cafes. The bakery is ideal for breakfast and lunch gatherings, and we strive to serve a healthy and delicious menu whatever the time of day. Please visit our website to view the full menu and for information on Monsieur Spoon events such as Sunday Brunch and Pastry Class for kids. Monsieur Spoon's signature pastry is the French all-butter croissant a best-seller in all four bakeries in Bali. We welcome enquiries for weddings and general catering.
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The best coffee and croissants in Bali. A must for for a relaxing breakfast.. Freshly made every day just like you would get in Paris.

Thank MRJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear MRJPJ

Many thanks for your feedback - this is exactly Monsieur Spoon ambition: ensuring a three-fold experience of delicious French pastries and artisan breads accompanied by house blend coffee, teas and fresh juices, served in a hang-out, trendy, relaxed atmosphere.

Hope to see you soon at Monsieur Spoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have heard about this place from my French friend. They said it's nice . So few days ago we try it. We had coffee and some cakes, not to forget the famous croissant. It's all great. However the highlight of the night was salted caramel tartlet ang royal spoon.

Thank Jullyanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Chere Jullyanie

Merci !!
I am proud to hear that you enjoyed our artisan and fresh pastries.
All is made daily with the best ingredients.

Our Salted caramel tartlet is one of our specialty - for your information we organise on the 24th and 25th May at 3pm a Pastry Class on How to make them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

ok .everybody talking about tis place... Time to go and see for myself.
So the place is just ok , nothing fantastic for decoration and outlet ...
food : looks very nice and attractive .. so let s try ...
Croissant : really good and perfectly designed ... really remind you a good french bakery .
Brioche : just ok .. a little too compact and heavy ...So u really need a drink when you eat it !..
Pain au raisin et chocolat :ok.. nothing special
Chausson aux pommes : Unfortunately my favorite !!! So here , i believe have to be review from A to Z . The apple compote inside was really tasteless, without this small acidity who make it you want to have it again and again.... The chausson itself was tasteless too... something missing ... You can do better for sure, so work on it guys !!!

Well for the bread, quite disappointing ... no bread at all around 11 am ... Just the one they cut for you ..it means 2 kind of bread only ....We are far far from a bakery like KayuApi or Carrefour, which stay "the reference" in Bali in my opinion....

So I didn' t try the cakes ... but they look nice ..This will be for my next visit .... Yes i will go back, cause they loop ok .... but no need to be so excited..For the price of pastries, you can expect more than this. it s just an average place .No more !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Marc

Many thanks for your visit and for your feedback.
I am happy to see that you enjoyed our croissants.
About our apple chaussons, we love working with local apples and Vanilla. The Compote is made with a smooth caramel, freshly handy sliced apples, and local Fresh Vanilla. We have adapted the taste to what people expects here, in our beautiful Island.
Their taste can be found different from the hypermarket "Carrefour" indeed!

You are more than welcome to visit us again for a patisserie and bread tasting!.

See you soon at Monsieur Spoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Amazing croissants, pastries, focaccia and bread!!

Small little bakery/cafe with extremely slow, ill-trained but friendly and helpful staff....is it worth it? Yes! Totally worth it!

Try their plain croissants and their beautiful eclairs!

C'est magnifique! <3

Thank chryaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear chryaven

Merci for your review!
We give strong focus on the quality of our daily fresh pastries.
And yes... You are in process to increase the staff service quality.

Hope to see you soon at Monsieur Spoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Walking arround the nice lifestyle cafes and restaurants within Seminyak Street found this little patisserie, cool and cozy place, we decisded to go in caused heard about the delicious crosant from friend. after the ordedring one cup of capucino and had apple couson after first wow bite decided to have the second one, unfortunately could not have a chance to get the famous crosant that we have been told, as it is sold out very fast. It is trully great staff, two thumbs coffee and the most delicious french pastries,bakery are haven, will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ferry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Ferry F,

Many thanks for your encouragement! I already passed it to the team.
We give special attention to serve daily fresh pastries.
The Apple chausson for example is made everyday respecting the traditional artisan recipe that we learnt in France.

Hope to see you soon in our shops.

FYI - we have also a shop in Canggu (jl Batu Bolong no. 55 Canggu) and in Umalas (Jln Umalas 2, n°43 Kerobokan)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsieur Spoon Umalas also viewed

 

Been to Monsieur Spoon Umalas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing