We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Sold Out!”

Monsieur Spoon Umalas
Ranked #2 of 4 Bakeries in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$4
Cuisines: Healthy, French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monsieur Spoon is a family-run French Bakery-Cafe started by two Parisian cousins in 2012. Based in Bali's most-visited spots, Monsieur Spoon serves a tempting range of high-quality handmade French pastries, cakes, artisan bread and savouries in a relaxed, friendly environment. Our breads and pastries respect traditional French know-how and are made using selected sourced ingredients. We also serve seasonal fresh juices and house-blend coffee, and customers can enjoy free-wifi throughout our cafes. The bakery is ideal for breakfast and lunch gatherings, and we strive to serve a healthy and delicious menu whatever the time of day. Please visit our website to view the full menu and for information on Monsieur Spoon events such as Sunday Brunch and Pastry Class for kids. Monsieur Spoon's signature pastry is the French all-butter croissant a best-seller in all four bakeries in Bali. We welcome enquiries for weddings and general catering.
Denpasar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Sold Out!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Love the produce but SO FED UP with always turning up to be told that everything is SOLD OUT - even at 7:15am in the morning & you only open at 6:30am. Get your supply & demand sorted out please otherwise we're going to stop coming.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear JulPo

Many thanks for your encouragements and loyalty!
I completely understand your point and be sure that we are working hard to ensure the right supply. During the last days, the demand changed drastically which explain the out-of-stock.

It should be already better and also do not hesitate to order online through our website.

Please contact us if it happens again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The best coffee and croissants in Bali. A must for for a relaxing breakfast.. Freshly made every day just like you would get in Paris.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear MRJPJ

Many thanks for your feedback - this is exactly Monsieur Spoon ambition: ensuring a three-fold experience of delicious French pastries and artisan breads accompanied by house blend coffee, teas and fresh juices, served in a hang-out, trendy, relaxed atmosphere.

Hope to see you soon at Monsieur Spoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“C'est SUPER !!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have heard about this place from my French friend. They said it's nice . So few days ago we try it. We had coffee and some cakes, not to forget the famous croissant. It's all great. However the highlight of the night was salted caramel tartlet ang royal spoon.

Helpful?
Thank Jullyanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Chere Jullyanie

Merci !!
I am proud to hear that you enjoyed our artisan and fresh pastries.
All is made daily with the best ingredients.

Our Salted caramel tartlet is one of our specialty - for your information we organise on the 24th and 25th May at 3pm a Pastry Class on How to make them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“let's try”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

ok .everybody talking about tis place... Time to go and see for myself.
So the place is just ok , nothing fantastic for decoration and outlet ...
food : looks very nice and attractive .. so let s try ...
Croissant : really good and perfectly designed ... really remind you a good french bakery .
Brioche : just ok .. a little too compact and heavy ...So u really need a drink when you eat it !..
Pain au raisin et chocolat :ok.. nothing special
Chausson aux pommes : Unfortunately my favorite !!! So here , i believe have to be review from A to Z . The apple compote inside was really tasteless, without this small acidity who make it you want to have it again and again.... The chausson itself was tasteless too... something missing ... You can do better for sure, so work on it guys !!!

Well for the bread, quite disappointing ... no bread at all around 11 am ... Just the one they cut for you ..it means 2 kind of bread only ....We are far far from a bakery like KayuApi or Carrefour, which stay "the reference" in Bali in my opinion....

So I didn' t try the cakes ... but they look nice ..This will be for my next visit .... Yes i will go back, cause they loop ok .... but no need to be so excited..For the price of pastries, you can expect more than this. it s just an average place .No more !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Marc

Many thanks for your visit and for your feedback.
I am happy to see that you enjoyed our croissants.
About our apple chaussons, we love working with local apples and Vanilla. The Compote is made with a smooth caramel, freshly handy sliced apples, and local Fresh Vanilla. We have adapted the taste to what people expects here, in our beautiful Island.
Their taste can be found different from the hypermarket "Carrefour" indeed!

You are more than welcome to visit us again for a patisserie and bread tasting!.

See you soon at Monsieur Spoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“French pastries in Bali? YES! YES! YES!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Amazing croissants, pastries, focaccia and bread!!

Small little bakery/cafe with extremely slow, ill-trained but friendly and helpful staff....is it worth it? Yes! Totally worth it!

Try their plain croissants and their beautiful eclairs!

C'est magnifique! <3

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chryaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear chryaven

Merci for your review!
We give strong focus on the quality of our daily fresh pastries.
And yes... You are in process to increase the staff service quality.

Hope to see you soon at Monsieur Spoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsieur Spoon Umalas also viewed

 
Denpasar, Bali
 

Been to Monsieur Spoon Umalas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing