We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Oasis”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Bali Oasis”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Really nice place. Staff are lovely. If we were to come back to Bali, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojonterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    100
    33
    16
    15
See reviews for
102
359
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

If you're into interior decoration, this is the place to go! It's a pleasure to walk around and discover every angle of this hotel complex with four differently decorated "villas". The concept is very original: Find your preferred swimming pool to spend the day, then find your preferred spot for dining and they will set up your table right there.
The only thing not that perfect is the service, which is better in other balinese places of this price range (slow service, staff not very present).
But still, this place is very much worth a visit, especially for romantic people, and we definitely will come back!

Room Tip: If you have a hard time to sleep with street noise, ask for the ricefield villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaSt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and we are really happy that you appreciated so much our property. I just want here again remind to all our guests that the property has more than 13.000m2, you can eat, drink or take a massage in the whole property (I don't know another place like that in Bali, even in Asia) All our guests are definitiveely charmed by this unique concept of totaly freedom, of course it can brings sometimes that the service is slower than somewherelse, it's the price to pay to have a such unique and succesfull concept like Villa Mathis developped for 6 years already.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Kind regards

Bruno & Lilka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This place was the first I had stayed in in Bali and I am sad that every other one will probably feel second class in comparison. It was perfect in just about every way - most specifically the way the place was designed aesthetically to have beautiful areas to relax, eat or swim with privacy whenever you wanted to. Day beds, pools and gorgeous pavilions were cleverly located everywhere - you could choose where you wanted to eat under the stars each night in areas covered with bell lights. Our 'butler' was amazing and the level of service uniformly excellent.
The room was furnished in an exotic and traditional style with lovely round bath filled with flower petals.. Perhaps I have not stayed at many lavish locations, but the beauty and charm of this place was about more than being expensive. Many thanks to the Villa for making a holiday that I was unsure about into an experience to repeat.

Also October is a beautiful time of the year to travel to Bali - not too hot and lovely breezes... Our day trip with driver was wonderful too...highly recommend this as a way of getting to see more of the island..

Room Tip: I can't imagine they have a bad room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Villa Mathis is one of the best resorts we've stayed at. Our villa was surrounded by beautiful gardens and a pond. Staff are friendly and helpful. The food was great too!

Room Tip: We stayed at the villa called "Timor" which had an outdoor shower, bathtub and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shallotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our stay at Villa Mathis was the highlight of our recent trip to Bali. This property provides beautiful, tasteful and luxurious villas in an intimate garden setting. The service was excellent and the food superb. We loved the concept of the 'transient restaurant' where you could dine in any of the intimate garden settings on the property. The staff are friendly, attentive and welcoming without being obtrusive and the shuttle service to Seminyak was appreciated. This is a hotel we would recommend highly - you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a wonderful stay we had in our first trip to Bali, especially our stay at the Villa Mathis.
The Balinese people radiate such happiness that it is not hard to feel so welcomed, this was particularly so in your resort, where the friendliness and helpfulness of staff made our stay so delightful. We felt particularly pampered with the exceptional effort taken with our "Romantic Package". The red carpet service with the sensational flower petal arrangements, candlelit dinner and traditional Balinese massage were the highlight of our trip. A special thank you to all staff involved.
Being an architect I really appreciated being within the array of dynamic spaces provided. Each villa had similar building elements to others but was so unique in it's own right.
We also appreciated the effort made to provide meals in different, beautiful, water edged locations throughout the complex. This gave us a variety of heart warming experiences and helped us to feel comfortable to be in any of the array of "shared" spaces within the complex.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
13.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 198 in Ubud
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#4 of 35 in Kerobokan
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Kayu Raja
Villa Kayu Raja
#5 of 35 in Kerobokan
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Property: La Villa Mathis
Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing