We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fablous place In Bali”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fablous place In Bali”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

It is now many years that I know and go to Villa Mathis in Bali. The enchantment remains the same if not better. Indeed, with the fourth villa now in place including a spa, the confort is further improved. The design and the architecture of the place remains fabulous. I would highly recommend anyone to go.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    101
    33
    16
    15
See reviews for
107
361
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I loved the whole time I spent at Villa Mathis. The rooms, villas, pools and surroundings were absolutely stunning.

Whatever the owners are paying the staff--please double it at the very least. These local people work so hard. Some have to pay quite a bit in petrol to travel from their homes on other parts of Bali to get to Villa Mathis to serve the guests with such grace and professionalism.

Please, please, pay them well. Ensure that they have medical benefits, sick leave, reasonable hours and enough days off. I would rather pay more to stay at Villa Mathis (and many hotels like it), knowing that the local staff are paid well and looked after. As a business owner myself, I always say, "If it's not good enough for me, then it's not good enough for my staff."

That's my only recommendation. Otherwise, my experience was excellent, thanks to the local staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Mrs Sal,

Thank you for your review and I’m very happy that you find our property absolutely stunning.
On the other hand, I deeply regret that you mention a such remark about the work’s conditions of our staff – I think it will be much more appropriate if you are involved in this matter to get in touch with me directly during your stay or by mail after your return. Specially because this butler seemed to speak like this with a specific purpose. You must know that our staff have the general conditions of the Local Tourism Authority with a basic salary, meals and transportation, tipping (did you think about them when you left? I didn’t find your name in the report – it’s for sure also a way to thanks them), a service charge based on the extras F&B and Laundry, and a special bonus based on the occupancy of the month and a medical insurance. It’s exactly the same conditions than the large 5* hotels on the Island.
The butler you are talking about, first seems to be alone to speak like that– It’s a real proof of non-professional attitude and it’s a pity that you didn’t understand that he only speak about it just to try to get a high personal tipping from you…I would be happy to explain you in direct instead of leaving this remark which has nothing to do here. For your information, this butler (he was with us just few weeks) left to go back on cruise where they get 4 times the salary they could get in Bali – but working 16 hours/day during few months blocked on a boat.

I really hope that you understand why this ex- butler had this attitude with you…don’t think always what you could heard – sometimes people are playing with you….it’s also a part of Asia.
As you are also a business owner, may be it will be good to exercise good judgment when sharing such personal information

On our side, we always try to be vigilant with staffs who could be not honest at 100%

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had the real pleasure of staying at the Villa Mathis with our family this October. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the manager and given a lovely tour of the gardens. Our room was very well-appointed with a mezzanine for the children. The highlights have to be the friendly and attentive service of all the staff, the many quiet spaces to relax and the location of the Villa Mathis. Tucked away in Kerobokan but also just a short drive into nearby Seminyak. We enjoyed the newly-opened restaurant Nook, round the corner in Umalas as well as a great icecream parlour Gusto Caffe. All in all, a fantastic place to stay; incredibly relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for three night in October. As is was low season the manager provided us with an attractive deal, USD 150 per night including taxes and breakfast.

The hotel is actually a combination of 4 separate villas with 18 rooms spread over the 4 villas. Each room is different. We found the hotel to have a very serene feel to it. You can roam the grounds and use any of the communal facilities (pool, gardens, living area etc.) of the other villas. We really enjoyed being able to switch from one pool in the morning to another one in another garden in the afternoon.

The grounds and gardens are quite large, add to this the different terraces and living spaces, you never feel your privacy is invaded. The hotel has a very "private feel" to it, comparable more to an actual villa than a hotel.

Pros
Nice gardens adding to the tropical Bali atmosphere
Nicely decorated rooms
Comfortable pool areas
Spacious
Good location, > 10 min by scooter to Seminyak

Cons
Steps and garden paths need renovation, loose tiles etc.
Breakfast was very mediocre at best
Air conditioning units are a bit old
Bed was a bit hard, old and noisy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked this Villas as it was suggested by a travel agent friend of our. It's truly a great place to stay in great location, well trained staff, personalized service Villas Mathis has everything to spoil and pamper you. If you are going to Bali you must stay in Villas Mathis.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We’d booked Villa Mathis rather late, about a month before travel, considering the requirements we had in mind … a quiet, well managed and stylish hotel in which to spend some days after travelling in Java and Borneo. Bali was not our first choice to end this trip but time and travel constraints meant that options were limited. That said, Villa Mathis was an excellent choice being reasonably well placed for travel to the busier areas of the coast and the inner parts of the island.

The last time we had visited Bali was 20 years ago en route to Lombok and even then the big hotels were established in Nusa Dua. We had some misgivings about returning to Bali, knowing that development had spread significantly in some areas of the island and were keen to book somewhere away from the main tourist areas.

Villa Mathis is nicely situated in a part-agricultural, part-residential area with similar small hotels dotted around the local area. In fact, there are rice fields to the front and rear of the property. The road to the front receives relatively light traffic and within the hotel’s spacious gardens and boundaries the atmosphere is serene. Locally, there are a few small coffee shops/restaurants a few 100m away, including a mini-supermarket. Aside from the odd coffee, we saw no need to use these nearby facilities as the hotel’s dining was very good.

You can check the hotel’s website for more information on how it operates but in brief, the hotel is a series of villas set in pleasant gardens. Guests can book individual rooms or ‘privatise’ an entire villa if a larger group. Guests are free to wander around those areas and poke into rooms that are not privatised – an interesting concept and certainly interesting to see the layout and décor in other areas of the hotel.

We are a family of 4 and privatised a villa for 4 nights. We count ourselves lucky in that we were allocated what appeared to be the oldest villa of the hotel, 'Villa Ilan'. Most of the villas appear to be purpose-built for the hotel, with varying interesting designs any of which we would have been happy to have been allocated. However, we were allocated Villa Ilan and access to was very private either via a small door in a high garden wall from a path to the side of the 'Rice Villa', or from a near hidden door behind the spa, across a driveway, through another door into a vehicle courtyard and then another door to the villa. Why do I mention these access routes? Well they lend this particular villa an air of exclusivity and an extra degree of privacy that the other villas don’t quite match, even the largest Rice Villa. The reason it achieves this is that was clearly a separate residence at some point, built as a family house and of a design that is different from the other villas in the hotel. If you stay in this villa, it is more akin to staying in a home than a hotel facility.

Given others have reviewed other villas within the hotel, I will concentrate on Villa Ilan. The villa is large, comprising 4 bedrooms (meaning each family member was able to try different rooms). The entrance from the vehicle courtyard is via a small path or across stepping stones to a pond area leading to a lobby. This lobby is furnished with various art and artefacts. A large high-ceiling dining hall complete with massive chandelier leads from the lobby and has a cushioned recess to the side (my son holed up here a number of times). The other side of the dining hall leads out to an adjoining open-sided breakfast area and a large open-sided lounge area with comfortable sofas and very comfortable floor cushions. From the lounge area, a passage way (complete with wooden head statues) and various other ornaments leads to 2 bedrooms, which although not large, are nicely furnished and complete with old wood panelling and further artefacts and decorative items. These 2 rooms with king beds were mainly used by our children. One of the rooms has an en suite bathroom fitted out with toilet, stoneware basin and sunken bath with shower. The other bedroom has an adjacent shower room comprising stoneware basin and a double headed shower. There is a separate toilet room for this bedroom.

Wide steps lead down from the lounge area to the pool and garden. The pool was of course just for our use as we’d privatised the villa and is large, possibly larger than any of the other pools in the hotel including the main pool near the hotel’s restaurant. There are no really shallow areas to the pool aside from the areas opposite the base of the steps from the house and young children, as ever, should be properly supervised around the pool area.

At the base of the steps near the pool is the entrance to a studio suite, comprising king bed, wooden wardrobes, table and chairs, day bed and shower room. All three of the bedrooms in the main house have large windows which could be drawn back. One of the upper bedrooms has access to the roof of the veranda below, access being from both room and adjoining bathroom. This roof is also accessible through a gate on the passage to the bedrooms and is furnished with a sofa overlooking the pool and further ornamental artefacts. This veranda roof is not suitable for young children (hence the gate) as there is no balcony rail.

The pool area is immediately outside the studio suite at the base of the steps and is provided with 4 double pool day beds (towels provided), with a 'changing room' at one end (not really necessary) and covered pump room at the other. The gardens extend out from the pool area down to the rice fields behind. The rice fields are not really visible due good screening vegetation at the bottom, though there at our visit there was a nice reminder that you are indeed out in the fields with a cow’s bell tinkling in the field behind.

The fourth bedroom in the villa is a separate wooden cabin in the lower right corner of the garden next to the rice field. As well as the studio, we used this cabin for a little variety. Again, it is not large but spacious enough. Aside from getting away from the main house, the attraction is the different (wooden) décor from the studio and more importantly the open bath and shower (the studio only has a shower). This cabin is nicely atmospheric and worth swapping around rooms just to try.

In case you are wondering how all this is maintained and the daily up-keep of the villa, the villa comes with a dedicated butler service (Wayan during our visit) and the gardens were maintained daily by ground staff. The butler was our first point of reference for our needs. The overall concept of flexible dining at the hotel means that you can choose to eat in your villa, at the hotel main pool-side restaurant, or indeed, by arrangement (and this is encouraged) anywhere in the hotel’s extensive non-privatised areas. We chose to eat breakfast at the villa and this was prepared by the butler in an adjoining services block just to the side of the breakfast area. For variety, we had breakfast both in this breakfast area and the main dining hall. We also took dinner at the villa as well as the main hotel restaurant, the former being particularly atmospheric in the evening when the whole villa is attractively lit. The lunch and dinner menu at the villa is the same, I think, as in the main restaurant and the food, in this case prepared centrally and transported to your villa or wherever you happen to be eating. The choice, though not large, and quality of food at breakfast was good, speedily prepared and the butler was attentive. In fact his presence in and around the villa during the day while he carried out his various duties, was never intrusive.

As you will have read if you’ve got this far, I have mainly concentrated on the particular villa we stayed in at the hotel as other reviewers here do not appear to have stayed at it. I will not say much more about the rest of the hotel other than that the many garden areas and villas are nicely maintained and interestingly laid out, you have use of any of the non-privatised pools at the hotel (all the villas have pools of varying sizes), the restaurant and bar serve a good selection of food and drinks of good quality and of course you can dine anywhere you like (by arrangement), the hotel’s driver service was efficient, and the ‘cavern’ spa facilities (we did use) under restaurant were good.

Overall, we were glad we were allocated Villa Ilan – Although not purpose-built in the same way as the other villas, it was certainly more exclusive and private. Its former function as a private home (we guess) meant that we felt that this was our home for the short period of our stay, moreso than in most other similar properties we have stayed at in the past. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel has such a variety of rooms set in the different villas and gardens that it is hard to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Villa Mathis in early July and had an absolutely wonderful time. We booked out the whole of 'La Maison Rouge' villa for exclusive use, expecting to be three couples with toddlers, but ended up being only two couples (not a problem, because although the villas are very spacious, the living areas also manage to be quite cosy). After booking our holiday we had to slightly change our dates, and Villa Mathis were very accommodating with us- a previous booking meant that we had to change villa midway through, but the staff made sure the move was very easy and it gave us a great opportunity to see a bit more of the hotel! In fact, an unforeseen illness at the end of our trip meant that we had to stay for an extra night so we got to stay in a third villa. All the villas are styled differently and each have their own character, while sharing a very relaxing and surprisingly private feel.

We ended up eating most of our meals from the menu in our villa and the food was generally pretty good. If we go again we will probably make more use of the chef facility- getting the hotel to go grocery shopping for us, at a slight charge, and then cooking to order. That way, we'd get a bit more diversity.

Staff were excellent, and we were impressed by all of the private butlers we came across in the various villas. At one point when our baby was sick, the staff took it completely in their stride to clean up after him without any concern. They organised doctors for us quickly and efficiently, and the manager even took it upon himself to go to town to pick up a prescription for us, which was extremely helpful at a difficult moment.

Overall, a great experience that we'd heartily recommend. We were interested to see how the concept of a villa hotel would work, but it somehow does- when the villas are made up for exclusive use, they really do feel private, while the other villas for general use feel more like a typical nice resort hotel (also pretty private).

Villa Mathis probably isn't ideally suited for young children because there are numerous swimming pools around and lots of fish ponds scattered through the grounds. However, the staff do a very good job of making it child friendly. They organised (for a fee) a professional pool fence around our main pool, and the staff were very attentive whenever the toddlers ran off. They were also very good at entertaining the kids, showing them the fish etc.

Strongly recommended, particularly for those who want a private villa holiday but with service more akin to a decent hotel.

One thing to be aware of (as with elsewhere in Bali) is that there are lots of mosquitos! The staff are well prepared for this, spraying in the evenings, providing candles, and mosquito nets, but you should also come prepared...

Room Tip: So many different styles, it's hard to know what to recommend! All are pretty good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WT030109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 37 in Canggu
782 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 196 in Ubud
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Property: La Villa Mathis
Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing