We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent a few days at La Villa Mathis and had a wonderful time. It is so peaceful and quiet, with lush gardens in which I got lost a few times! It was great to stay in a property that really tries to blend in nature, yes with frogs and geckos, but that’s what makes this place exotic!
Their shuttle service to Seminyak was convenient for us to get to the village, eat out or go to the beach. We never had issues with it despite what I had read in some reviews.
The staff were very helpful, attentive and their smile was always warm.
The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with local artefacts, and being able to shower outside when we’re used to always stay indoor was pure luxury. The absence of TV or phone really made us take advantage of the property fully: lazing by the pool, having a drink at the bar and listening to the staff’s great stories or enjoying massages. Total relaxation!
So we warmly recommend Villa Mathis: we managed to spend quality time together and really unwind. I hope we can come back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soph1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

My teenage daughter and I recently returned to Villa Mathis for 9 days holiday. It turned out to be once again a splendid choice for us and for filled all needs we wished for on this trip to Bali. The Villa Mathis concept may not be for everyone...we absolutely love the fact there is no phone or TV in the rooms ( WIFI yes). That .....(rarely) you may have to wait a few minutes to find your ever so helpful Butler,who is there to cater to your whims. That the enchanting decor is at times over the top fantasy, that comes alive with the romantic lighting at night. The best outdoor bathrooms with their own good luck Geckos! Everything about Villa Mathis helps you escape and slip into Chill zone if you let it. This time we arrived in low season, which meant we were indulged and given the wonderful opportunity by Auguste (The fantastic new Manager) to sleep in different rooms of our choice, in the different Villas. At all times you have the run of the place, being able to swim in all 4 pools or dine where ever you desire in the beautifully maintained, tropical gardens. I must say after reading some comments, it is beyond me how anyone could find eating or drinking at The Villas anything but reasonably priced especially considering we found everything else in Bali seems to have doubled in the past couple of years.When my daughter fell ill ( through no fault of the Villas) a wonderful Dct. was called immediately to come and visit her. It seemed everyone on staff was following her recovery with questions of her wellbeing everytime we left the room and Auguste visiting to check on her. I Highly recommend Villa Mathis and its concept. I would also like to take the opportunity to once again thank the incredibly caring family of staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank petaw93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

As said in precedent review this is a grown up place.
Cons:
Personally the decoration is way too rococo for my taste. Mirror over bed and Napoleon armchairs...
Food is actually ok but too expensive.
The room we stayed in needed some refreshment.
They use plastic bottles when most hotels are moving toward glass one that you can recycle. Big no no in Bali with plastic issues.
Pros:
The gardens are beautiful.
The area is nice, with some little jewels like Nook and Kakilima on the beach not too far.

So I didn't regretted trying a new place in Bali but didn't enjoy it much. I have another place I have been going to for years that I find so superior and blissful with a much more welcoming staff...

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank magaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

It is now many years that I know and go to Villa Mathis in Bali. The enchantment remains the same if not better. Indeed, with the fourth villa now in place including a spa, the confort is further improved. The design and the architecture of the place remains fabulous. I would highly recommend anyone to go.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Alain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I loved the whole time I spent at Villa Mathis. The rooms, villas, pools and surroundings were absolutely stunning.

Whatever the owners are paying the staff--please double it at the very least. These local people work so hard. Some have to pay quite a bit in petrol to travel from their homes on other parts of Bali to get to Villa Mathis to serve the guests with such grace and professionalism.

Please, please, pay them well. Ensure that they have medical benefits, sick leave, reasonable hours and enough days off. I would rather pay more to stay at Villa Mathis (and many hotels like it), knowing that the local staff are paid well and looked after. As a business owner myself, I always say, "If it's not good enough for me, then it's not good enough for my staff."

That's my only recommendation. Otherwise, my experience was excellent, thanks to the local staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Mrs Sal,

Thank you for your review and I’m very happy that you find our property absolutely stunning.
On the other hand, I deeply regret that you mention a such remark about the work’s conditions of our staff – I think it will be much more appropriate if you are involved in this matter to get in touch with me directly during your stay or by mail after your return. Specially because this butler seemed to speak like this with a specific purpose. You must know that our staff have the general conditions of the Local Tourism Authority with a basic salary, meals and transportation, tipping (did you think about them when you left? I didn’t find your name in the report – it’s for sure also a way to thanks them), a service charge based on the extras F&B and Laundry, and a special bonus based on the occupancy of the month and a medical insurance. It’s exactly the same conditions than the large 5* hotels on the Island.
The butler you are talking about, first seems to be alone to speak like that– It’s a real proof of non-professional attitude and it’s a pity that you didn’t understand that he only speak about it just to try to get a high personal tipping from you…I would be happy to explain you in direct instead of leaving this remark which has nothing to do here. For your information, this butler (he was with us just few weeks) left to go back on cruise where they get 4 times the salary they could get in Bali – but working 16 hours/day during few months blocked on a boat.

I really hope that you understand why this ex- butler had this attitude with you…don’t think always what you could heard – sometimes people are playing with you….it’s also a part of Asia.
As you are also a business owner, may be it will be good to exercise good judgment when sharing such personal information

On our side, we always try to be vigilant with staffs who could be not honest at 100%

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had the real pleasure of staying at the Villa Mathis with our family this October. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the manager and given a lovely tour of the gardens. Our room was very well-appointed with a mezzanine for the children. The highlights have to be the friendly and attentive service of all the staff, the many quiet spaces to relax and the location of the Villa Mathis. Tucked away in Kerobokan but also just a short drive into nearby Seminyak. We enjoyed the newly-opened restaurant Nook, round the corner in Umalas as well as a great icecream parlour Gusto Caffe. All in all, a fantastic place to stay; incredibly relaxing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for three night in October. As is was low season the manager provided us with an attractive deal, USD 150 per night including taxes and breakfast.

The hotel is actually a combination of 4 separate villas with 18 rooms spread over the 4 villas. Each room is different. We found the hotel to have a very serene feel to it. You can roam the grounds and use any of the communal facilities (pool, gardens, living area etc.) of the other villas. We really enjoyed being able to switch from one pool in the morning to another one in another garden in the afternoon.

The grounds and gardens are quite large, add to this the different terraces and living spaces, you never feel your privacy is invaded. The hotel has a very "private feel" to it, comparable more to an actual villa than a hotel.

Pros
Nice gardens adding to the tropical Bali atmosphere
Nicely decorated rooms
Comfortable pool areas
Spacious
Good location, > 10 min by scooter to Seminyak

Cons
Steps and garden paths need renovation, loose tiles etc.
Breakfast was very mediocre at best
Air conditioning units are a bit old
Bed was a bit hard, old and noisy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 36 in Kerobokan
686 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 36 in Kerobokan
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#4 of 36 in Kerobokan
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Kayu Raja
Villa Kayu Raja
#7 of 36 in Kerobokan
425 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing