We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was our 2nd stay at Villa Mathis, so not a lot of words needed: Just love everything about this beautiful place! The owners are great and attentive people, the design of Villa Mathis is gorgeous, very tastefully done and the team is always helpful and smiling. Enjoyed each and every moment and will for sure come back again to this wonderland place and gardens, a true and charming Bali experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    98
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
98
342
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you to villa mathis for helping us to have a fantastic wedding! We have stayed here twice now and have been impressed on both occasions

We privatised the entire resort for 5 nights having our friends and family stay at the resort. The rooms were beautiful and the grounds were stunning.

Bruno made the process of organising the wedding very painless especially as most of the organisation was done via email prior to us arriving in bali.

Augustine was a gem! He was very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much of a hastle.

The day if the wedding was nothing but magical. The resort was transformed into something so spectacular.

Thank you again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keeran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

What an experience, the wonderful welcome extended to me by Bruno and his family (the owners) and from the staff, continued throughout my stay truly making me feel at home. They couldn't do enough for me, being English regular cups of tea are important, Bruno noticed this detail and without a word tea was set for me in my room, really I couldn't want for anything the level of care and attention was so high.

The location of Villa Mathis is perfect, far enough out for peace and quiet but near enough for trips in to Seminyak or the beaches of Legian and Kuta to be just a short 10minute ride away.

The peaceful ambience of Villa Mathis was wonderful to return to after days out in busy Bali, all the villas (rooms) are spaciously set amongst the tropical gardens which guarantees peace, quiet and privacy...actually it is that spacious that for the first day I got lost wandering the gardens looking for my room!

The highlights for me of Villa Mathis, the warmth of the owners, Bruno and Lilka, the warmth of the staff. the homely atmosphere, the gardens, the space and the overall serenity of the experience...a truly wonderful stay. Thank-you to Bruno. Lilka and team Villa Mathis.

Room Tip: I stayed in 'Java' villa, a lovely room, but took a sneaky look at the Red Villa, absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I love the location of the hotel, it is not too far from the shopping area but at the same time has a unique privacy allocation of space. You will feel like you are all alone in your villa area. The breakfast is served near your room and the variety is great. The local fruits are very yummy and Nasi Goren for the breakfast was excellent. One thing though - the pool edge and steps is quite slippery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely hotel nestled in a large and romantic garden tucked away from the noise of Semynyak yet just short cab ride away for those who love the action. Composed of several magnificently decorated villas, the property offers several swimming pools with different atmospheres and large areas that ensure that you can spend nice and relaxed holidays far away from the crowd. With its staff attentive to service and great spa, this is the perfect address in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windybeach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Villa Mathis is a gem - stylish, elegant charming and with the most caring and charming staff. A great and hard-working team who leave no stone unturned to ensure guests every need is anticipated and delivered unobtrusively. Delicious food is served at all times in a range of stunning garden settings that can be transformed into a theatrical wonderland for parties and events.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMPL_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Villa Mathis is a member of Secret Retreats. I like the concept of this boutique resort. They have different villas in which each villa has 4-5 guestrooms to share the facilities like pool, living area, and dining area. This make the me feel so private and exclusive staying here. The villa and room is very spacious with different beautiful and comfortable corners where I can have a deep relaxation during my stay:) I was in Bali twice...and every time I'm there... I don't wanna miss to stay at Villa Mathis :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thanaruekeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.0 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#29 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#2 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#6 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Property: La Villa Mathis
Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing