We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simpley the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What can I say just the best place ever away from home .Its our 10th year at this resort so that saying something. new beach pool, swim up bar more families with little children I have booked again xx

Room Tip: any delux rooms outside shower or higher up in price towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Front Office Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Maria C,

Thank you for continued patronage at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, and we really appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.
It is truly rewarding to hear that you still found our resort as the best place ever away from home in the past 10 years. Our prime location at Legian Beach put together with some improvement we have done such as a new beach pool with 2 water slides, swim up bar, 3 cabanas, and some new cocktail menu able to create a memorable and enjoyable experiences for you & your family.
We look forward to receive welcoming you & your family back very soon.

Kindest regards
Wayan Sunatha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 3,115 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at this resort in 2012 then again Xmas 2013 - I know there is now a new pool and I appreciate it must have been expensive but the price hike was noticeable as per another review - for the amount of money the Mandira are charging you could easily stay at the Padma across the road, but saying that I love the staff and the position I couldn't fault the food loved breakfast but the price is just making it prohibitive when there are much cheaper places around with rooms as good if not better - it is a shame but I think they have out priced themselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harvalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Front Office Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Harvalina,

Thank you for staying with us during X’mas period and also for spent your most valuable time to share your review to other travelers.
It is a pleasure to read that you love our staffs, our superb location and also the food from our professional chef.
We do sincerely appreciate your comment about the rate, and in the meantime I have brought it into management attention.
Please feel free to contact me at fom@balimandira.com should I be able to be of any further assistance to your next visit.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards
Wayan Sunatha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Found the resort to be very comfortable and accommodating, a lovely bali resort that that had everything that i hoped for. A great restaraunt, senstional pool area, couldnt really fault anything and would definately go back

Room Tip: Definately ask for room with a balcony or upgrade to the next level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Front Office Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear John S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences to stay at the Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa.
It is flattering to read that you found our resort most comfortable and accommodating, along with great restaurants ( Celagi Restaurant & Parasol Restaurant), sensational pool area with Indian Ocean view put together created memorable stay for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards
Wayan Sunatha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the bali Mandira for 6 nights

Check in : paper work was fast but the room was not ready at 2:00 pm we had to wait for about 30 min which is not long but we had just got off a 6+ hour flight, 45 min drive and 3 hours at airports so after around 10 hours did not make me to happy. (Resort only 40% full)

Room: clean with a hard bed they put a topper on it for us but was still to hard. Bath toilet and shower out side was fun until it rained and some of our things got wet, easy fix just bought them in to the bedroom.

Breakfast : was a let down the eggs and pancakes were good but everything else seem to be over cooked or sitting around to long, no fresh juice all powder mix junk!

Pool & grounds : 1 pool is new very clean and well looked after the adults only pool had broken tiles and is in need of a revamp gardens are well looked after

Staff: all staff were friendly helpful and spoke English if the did not understand what I was asking they got another team member to help fast.

Spa: got to the spa and was asked if I mined if my massage was done by a man witch I had no problem with, a bit late to ask if I did! Well it was one of the best massages I have had in a long time very strong hands and worked out the knots well.

Just out side: beach is not clean with rough surf. Lots of cheep places to eat, easy walk to kuta, market style shopping a minute away

Room Tip: We had a deluxe cottage they are not free standing they are a block of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Front Office Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear iamKelly,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I’m delighted to read that you notice our new pool was very clean, all staffs were friendly helpful, and also the best massage you experienced in long time. With comments such as yours continually motivate our staffs to perform their best at any occasions.
However we apologize for been delayed to provide your room on checked in, it was because the room type you booked with King Bed was full at that time. But it is not an excuse for us to be lack of service. In addition, your feedback about breakfast and bed had been shared to respective department for immediately improvement.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again to create more positive and memorable experience in the near future.

Kindest regards
Wayan Sunatha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a great time we had. We went for 1 week in Jan 2014, returned to Aust only to pack up & return 2 weeks later as we missed being able to relax in our pool, the friendship of the balinese people and the squirrels which came to our villa each day for a feed.
A stay at the Bali Mandira in a pool villa was on my dream holiday list, i am fortunate enough to have stayed twice.
My partner is restricted to a wheelchair and although Bali is not designed for wheelchair access the hotel is rather easy to get around and the staff always came running upto us to assist, we even had a ramp put in front of our villa for easy access.
Our room attendant attended to our room magnificantly & room service was quick.
I would like a bit more variety in the menu's but the food on offer was great.
I'm saving my money and watching the internet for a special deal so i can return.
Vanessa & Neil (Australia)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Front Office Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Vanessa & Neil,

On behalf of the team at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for staying with us again and share your experiences to other travelers.
It was indeed delighted to learn that you enjoyed all aspect of your stay whether your villa with its amenities, best services delivered by our staffs which was not only prompt & professional but also able to anticipate your needs.
I much appreciate your constructive feedback about more variety in the menus, our chef will work on it.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa soon.

Kindest regards
Wayan Sunatha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Contrary to the many rave reviews, our ground floor deluxe club cottage looked as though it had not been revamped since 1982, and the outdoor bathroom/shower was just as old and tired. We had an uncomfortable first night because the air conditioning was not working properly, even though they had sent somebody to fix it.
They allowed us to move to another club room the next morning, but alas, that air conditioner was dodgy too. There seemed little point in complaining again, when the rooms themselves speak volumes?!! i.e. Old, sad, not awfully clean, and really disappointing.
The only highlight of our two day stay was an excellent young waitress in the club lounge. She took the initiative to chop up fresh ginger for my cups of tea when I was feeling unwell, and seemed genuinely caring, in true Balinese fashion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobnob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan S, Front Office Manager at Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Hobnob2

Thank you for spent your valuable time to give us precious feedback on Tripadvisor.

We deeply regret that that we were not able to meet your expectations while staying with us and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have taken notes of your feedback and shared it with the team so to take immediate and appropriate action whenever is possible.

However your recognition about excellent service delivered by our young waitress in the club lounge is really appreciated. I’ve share to her and she was happy to hear that she contributed to enlightening your holiday.

I wonder if there's a way that I can contact you personally, or if there is anything we can do to restore your confidence to our hotel kindly contact me directly at fom@balimandira.com.

I hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience in the future.

Best regards
Wayan Sunatha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Being frequent Bali visitors we have stayed from Tuban down to Seminyak and always prefer to stay in hotels with beach frontage and also with some Balinese authenticity. Some of the newer hotels are amazing but seem a little too clinical.
Last trip we stayed at The Royal in Seminyak which although tired in some aspects - was absolutely wonderful.

The Mandira places itself as 4 stars and was more money than The Royal but we liked the re- furnished cottages and IT IS in the heart of Legian beach so easy access to shops, Kuta, Seminyak and the beach life as well.

Check in was fast. Room was very nice and clean and the outdoor bathroom was lovely. Gardens are lush and well tended and the complex is very peaceful and authentic. Wifi FREE access great and wen we did have an issue the manager was quick to come and sort out.

At first glance we saw the NEW pool with slides and a small Sandy beach but with 90% of day beds sprawled across the large grass are at the front. It is a lovely pool but seems to have lost the FEEL of the old area ( had walked through hotel many times before ). Guessing that all hotels need to keep up with the amazing new places that are going up all the time.

We were VERY happy to find the smaller infinity pool up above everything else where no children are allowed and this is wonderful. The spa also looks good but over priced just because it is available on site. What about getting some massage people to be available poolside as well. Sure there would be takers and could make some extra revenue.

The downside to this place was the breakfast and the actual beds. The bed was big enough but we woke each morning with sore backs, think the problem being the wooden base and not a quality mattress ??? Pillows were fine. The breakfast was a huge let down. If a hotel is going to tout 4 star and bring with it a more expensive rate than many other similar places along the same stretch then it needs to add a bit of thought into the overall ambience of the dining and the food.

Maybe we have been spoilt at other hotels but we were disappointed at the display at Mandira. It seems BULK is the way to go here. Bowls of runny yoghurt, bowls of runny jam. Cornflakes or muesli as a cereal choice. Butter that has been taken from a big slab. No special coffee, just run of the mill. Very small selection of hot items. It is a shame as it only takes a bit more thought to up the anti somewhat and give guests something a little more diverse. This in turn put us off ordering food from the other restaurants and must say that the Parasol which is right in front if the ocean in a prime location was always dead quiet and it looks jaded as if no care has gone into maintaining it. Whilst most hotels make their money on the drinks and meals that patrons have because they are more than happy to hang around the hotel ( oh for a lazy life in Bali ) The Mandira is missing this opportunity BIG TIME. We ate out every day and found other places on same strip which were full and happening because the attention to aesthetics was evident and the ambience much better. It would not take much to get some mood lighting, better tables and chairs and make it more appealing to pop in for passers by.

Overall this hotel has everything going on but just needs to tweet certain areas to maintain its 4 star rating.

Would recommend to families.

Room Tip: Many choices and the pool villa rooms are lovely but over priced. The cottages are good enough, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msjane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 88 in Legian
6,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta, Legian 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#7 Spa Hotel in Legian
#8 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £121 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid landscaped gardens with palm trees, a relaxed resort, simplicity and touched with local warmth and charms. located right to the Beach and within walking distance to all that Legian and Seminyak is famous for, excellent shopping, traditional art markets, trendy restaurants and beach clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing