We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and boy the standard has dropped, The rooms are although clean are dated and fittings broken, fridges fail to work, toilet seats broken. Noise just reverberates around the room from all other rooms in the block. Worst rooms are pool view rooms due to noise. No one cares about the pool hours and staff certainly don't. Food was poor and uneatable. Breakfast was below standard. If you want a nice relaxing holiday don't go there, to put up with drunks and uncontrolled children.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of this place is great - beach on one side, shopping on the other but that's about where the positive comments end. We chose pay to be upgraded because our first room was so bad.....and the extra dollars only paid for a tiny improvement. Noisy old shabby rooms, bathroom tired, fridge barely worked, limited tv channels, pool towell's not available till 10am and then they kept running out. The few staff we dealt with were pleasant but not passionate about their job which I could hardy blame them. The worst thing about this place though are the aussie bogan tourists......feral!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family, partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in February 2014 and we loved it! We have previously stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and there are small improvements all starting to happen. Both times we have stayed with this hotel has been over the top fantastic!!

Our whole family booked 2 family suites located in the same building on the same level. This entitled us to the same balcony. The family suite has 1 large King Size bed and 2 pull down singles in a separate room. My partner and I do not have children and so the beds were not pulled down and chairs were there instead. However having the space was nice as we could unpack luggage etc. I would recommending staying in the family suites as they are not joined to the other parts of the hotel yet are a separate bungalow type building about 3 levels high. It is worth the extra $30.00 Aus Dollars.

The breakfast each morning was huge. A massive selection of fruits, savoury and sweet items. From english style to traditional Indonesian. The egg station was a massive hit. As Melasti connects to the beach, you could also eat your breakfast and watch the ocean and people stroll on the beach.

If you are after a big pool, swim up bar and 3 pools to chose from. This is the place to be. We mainly swam in the largest pool as it was close to our room. The pool is VERY deep at one end, however begins to get shallower as you keep swimming. There is also a area for the children to swim so they don't feel left out.

Out the front of the hotel, there is a mini mart where we were able to access many snacks, drinks and supplies for the day or night. Maybe even a cheeky cold bingtang to cool us down. This was a handy shop to have and I always look out for them when booking hotels as we constantly buy water etc.

Also near the mini mart is the Melasti Beach Hotel spa!! OMG if you love a good massage and don't feel like going into one off the street they are amazing in there. I feel as thought you benefit the most when you buy a package. Im pretty sure I sent 4 hours in 1 day there. The prices are completely different to street massages however it is a 'real' experience. If you don't feel like spending the extra $10.00 the girls across the street are just as good!! Don't be scared of their shop. It's got character.

Overall I shall return to this hotel on our many trips to Kuta, Bali as I feel that it is money well spent and in a fantastic location!! Love it!!!

Room Tip: Family suite is money well spent. Large rooms, next to pool and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlotte31Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Located right at the beach which was nice. Gardens are typical of Bali, as is the pool. Staff are helpful. Wifi not as good as in some places. Breakfast is ok. We stayed in room 219, upstairs. The room is huge...lots of wasted space. Too bright in the morning for my liking. The bathroom is fairly run down, as is the bed linen and towels. Bed is comfortable. Very poor reception on the tv. Asked to have it fixed and they did try. Bathroom leaked water all over the floor and they did fix this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed at the Melasti 10 times in 14 years and will never stay again. We had $150 stolen out of your safe and were told we must have counted it wrong. The management did not do a thing about it. Stay away from room 351 be told this room is hit all the time. Over the years we have loved the place that is why we always went back. The staff has changed and they are not as nice as all tha old staff. The rooms are falling apart ,TV and aircon do not work,plugs are hanging out of the wall,doors on the cupboards don't close. We have always stayed in deluxe or surperior rooms . The towels and sheets were dirty no just gray . I had read all the bad reports and did not believe them as we had only been there 2 years, I could believe how bad it had got. I know they have started to do the place up but start with the rooms . The worst thing was the money been stolen from the safe witch means the the staff can not be trusted ,will never go there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just spent 17 days on and off at the Melasti. The first 4 days we were in a deluxe room and when we returned for the rest of our stay we were in a suite 121. My husband is a surfer and he loves this hotel as the surf is just across the road and he can watch it any time of day. The breakfast area overlooks the beach so it's a great spot for surfers. The gardens are beautifully kept and the rooms are huge! The staff are friendly. The hotel is close to a lot of good restaurants and you really can't beat the position. Ok the breakfast can get a bit boring but there is always plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt so I was always happy. They often run out of pool towels but if that's a problem bring your own or buy one as they are very cheap. The Melasti is Balinese owned and run and still has the Balinese feel about it which a lot of the newer resorts don't. We had no problems with our safe in our room and because of the great position will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We (5 adults) traveled to Bali on the 24th May for 2 weeks and stayed at the Melasti in a Superior room (my wife and I had room 251). The room was large and spacious, we had a king size bed a little hard but ok, the room also had tv, tea and coffee making, 2 bottles of water every day, fridge to put in anything that you wanted (it was empty), fresh linen and towels every day and YES the bed linen was changed every day. WiFi was available FREE throughout the resort all be it some in some ares of the resort it was very slow. All of the staff were excellent and always cheerful. The included breakfast was ok but after a couple of days it became boring because it was the same things every second day. The meals and alcohol prices were the same anmd in some cases cheaper than the restaurants along the beach road.The 2 main swimming pools were clean and well maintained, the resort in general always was tidy.

The down side !
Some exterior parts of the main building need a coat of paint like the golden dragon out side of the lobby.
Room interiors need a coat of paint or flashing up, the TV's need upgrading to flat screens, the towels need to be replaced they are shabby and what was white are now grey.
More lounges are needed in the main pool area and the music need to be turned down a shade (it it too loud).

Apart from those what we say are minor problems we would stay there again (this was our 3rd stay in 15 years).

Room Tip: Choose a superior room in the middle of the blocks (they have the best WiFi), we have also stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#30 of 87 in Legian
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 87 in Legian
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#17 of 87 in Legian
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#39 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £20 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Legian Beach Hotel Legian
Melasti Legian Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Melasti Legian
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing