We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldy but a Goody”
Review of Puri Raja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puri Raja
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Don't be deceived by the oldness of this hotel. It has character and charm. The rooms all face a central walkway so you can sit on your balcony and watch the world go by and greet your fellow guests. The rooms aren't huge but who needs a huge room? You only sleep and shower in it. The linen is clean as are the rooms. The pool areas are good as is the restraurant. I do prefer a buffet breakfast so was a bit disappointed with table service. The staff are very friendly and you are always greeted with a huge smile. We visited friends in nearby hotels that although were more luxuroius, were noisy and too big. The Puri Raja is a nice, well maintained and quieter place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

My girlfriend and I have just spent 7 nights at this hotel and loved it. Yes - the towels and sheets are grey and the bathroom needs updating but the rooms were clean and the staff so happy and friendly. The rooms are a good size and the balcony was just right for enjoying our morning coffee. Unfortunately our nearest neighbout smoked so we were often driven inside by the smell. The gardens are beautifully kept and the pool exceptional. The location was great - especially as there was no traffic allowed along the beach side path. We are looking forward to our next stay there.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Just returned from another great stay. Spent 12 days here in mid August. The staff were fantastic, the location is very central to great resturants and shopping. You have beach one end and resturants etc at front entrance. It is only a small resort which i like as the staff get to know you by name and service is very personal. Breakfast is great with a choice of a menu and delivered quickly and with a big smile from staff, Ketut is a wonderful. Rooms are more than comfortable and cleaned daily. All rooms have an area to sit outside with beautiful gardens which are always kept clean and tidy. I would recommend this hotel and we will certainly return there again and will be telling family and friends what a great stay we had there. There is a great coffee shop owned by Aussies that make great coffee, it is called mugshots. If you go out street end of resort and turn left and follow the road around a short distance it is on the left. Also great for lunch. Bali Bagus resturant serves great food and service is fantastic. A drive to Lovina to the hot springs is worth it. It is a 3 hour drive but the scenery along the way is amazing as you see the real Bali away from the tourist areas. Echo Beach on a Sunday night is great fun. You can choose from the menu or order from the bbq which is well worth it, I recommend you get there early as you cant book and it gets very busy. A visit to Tanar Lot Temple is also a great place to see. Allow a few hours there. Thanks Puri Raja for another great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We've stayed here 3 times. It's still the best hotel which is value for money on the beach front.
Hotel has everything ; beautiful gardens, great pool, WiFi, food is great and service is exceptional, always a smile and a hello from all the staff.
Restaurants and shopping are all in walking distance.
Definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

we have stayed at the puri raja many times in the past, but this time we noticed the quality has gone down. in need of room maintenance urgently. door handles falling off, rusted bath, sheet grey. puri raja was one of our favourites in bali but not sure if we would rush back. staff always friendly and food in restaurant excellent. with a little maintenance it would be a great place to stay, the room we had this time was very small also, thanks to all the staff who did make it a nice stay,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracrickal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have stayed at the Puri Raja on numerous occasions, usually at the end of travelling around and staying at more remote parts of the island without the luxuries of hot water and air-conditioning. It offers close proximity to the ocean, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely pools, excellent breakfasts, beautiful gardens and quick access to a multitude of markets and shops. As in any hotel issues can arise and the staff are very accommodating once they are alerted to any problems. One couple in our party were given a room that literally smelt of vomit and they were promptly moved to another nearby room. The cleaning and administrative staff spent the next three days intensively aerating, fanning, cleaning, overhauling and checking the targeted room. There are probably other hotels that offer the same amenities at an equal or lower price but the Puri Raja suits our needs perfectly. I find their booking procedures are very efficient and my correspondence with Arthawa (the manager) was very professional and friendly. I had to change room names and configurations a few times and he always met these requests very promptly and without any fuss. There has been comment on Tripadvisor that the Puri Raja has become a mecca for Australians and we did find that this was predominantly the case on our recent trip. But this wasn't a negative for us (being Australian ourselves!) and everyone we interacted with were very friendly, happy and well behaved around pool and bar areas. Again, problems do arise when crowds of loud drunken holiday makers party into the night or aggressively take over pool areas but this sadly can happen in any hotel and the offenders can be any nationality. We did not experience any of this behaviour at the Puri Raja and I hope the hotel staff would not tolerate this activity. The ground staff are happy and friendly and the reception staff (although a little more reserved) respond well to a smile and a morning or afternoon chat. I would continue to recommend the Puri Raja to any traveller in Bali who is looking for a quiet, well priced and comfortable oasis from the busy and demanding streets of Legian and Kuta.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel is in a good location with plenty of food and shopping options nearby. The rooms are good although the shower head shoots water out like a hose.

The staff around the pool and restauant are very helpful however we had to make 3 trips to the front desk to get our room key as the room took longer then expected to prepare.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#26 of 253 in Kuta
807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Raja

Address: Jl Padma Utara | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Raja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puri Raja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Raja Legian
Puri Raja Hotel Legian
Puri Raja Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing