We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Puri Raja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Raja
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We arrived from 5 nights in Nusa Lembongan, so nothing could have prepared us for the transition from paradise to the bustle of legian. Puri Raja is a pleasant small hotel, in an awesome location. A walk across the roas and we were at the beach, so travelling w 8 adults and 12 teenagers, we were able to give the kids lots of freedom.

Good restaurants close by at Double 6 and on Jl Padma Utara and a good wave out the front.

I felt the place was understaffed and compared to say the Padma the staff were not as well trained. That's understandable I guess as it is smaller and a few rungs down in standard overall. Reception was reasonably efficient yet 'cool' (as in no smiles) the rooms were small, reasonably clean and very adequate for a family holiday.

The pool near the reception is rarely crowded so we could lie and read and enjoy.

Brekkie is great and our teenage boys took full advantage. We did not eat there for other meals as online reviews were not enouraging.

I would recommend it at the price point and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lajetidreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

Hi. Just becareful when looking into this hotel. Yes it may look nice and be big enough to get you away from the hussle and bussle of things, there are afew too many downfalls to make me return in a hurry.
Depending where you get a room, its either a long way to the restuarant or back to the lobby. Being in the middle seemed ideal until the morning workers get going and wake you up with trolleys around 7am. Not impressed on that. And the fact the curtains were totally see through, it was hard to get rest after big days.
Breakfast was really good, cooked to perfection. But lunch and tea had alot to be desired. Only afew restuarants close so if you want to go back to some favourites up near the Lokha, its a really bad walk as the road is so bumpy and theres not too much light.
Not the worst place, but definately not the best. Only good thing was the barman Patut (i think was his name), he'd go out of his way to make you happy with any request you had.
And the pools, too many arrogant people reserving pool chairs GRRRRRRR

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in Legian to attend a Wedding at the Padma and we were travelling with the Bride's parents who had not been to Bali before. A friend recommended the Puri Raja as I was making the travel arrangements and we have not stayed in Legian, previously. We found the rooms adequate, clean and comfortable. We were closer to the pool near the front entrance, which suited us, as the pool by the beach was usually very crowded, hard to get a lounge, as other guests, as usual, tended to put their towels on them before breakfast. There was also constant loud music blaring out, not conducive to relaxation. Generally the staff were very friendly always happy to assist in any way possible and particularly, one young man working in the restaurant and pool area during the day. All in all, a pleasant stay, but we think next time we will be staying, once again, in Sanur and Ubud, two of our favourite places in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We had booked and paid for two rooms nine months in advance, but when we arrived we were told the room for our teenage children would not be available until 6pm. I suggested that because we had paid for the room from 2pm and they were charging for a late check-out they should deduct the amount from our bill. This was rejected. The room was still not available by 7pm when we went to dinner. There are points however for giving us rooms side-by-side.

I don't believe we were alone in having problems at reception because whenever we were there a guest was having an argument with the counter staff. The basic problem is that guests are treated like the hotel is doing them a favour by allowing them to stay. On our last night an envelope was slipped under our door informing us that we were checking out the next day and should be out of our rooms by noon. I would have expected it to start with something like "we hoped you enjoyed your stay with us..." but such niceties are not part of the Puri Raja.

The rooms and bathrooms are small but relatively clean and comfortable. The bed are hard which i prefer. The balconies are not private with the parallel wings looking over each other.

Breakfasts are served to order and of reasonable standard.

If you want to spend some time at the pool you need to get your towel on a bed early.

This is a "McDonalds" hotel that lacks soul. Guests are treated as commodities.

We have also stayed at the nearby Kumala Pantai, which was full when we tried to book. It is about the same price as the Puri Raja but far superior in terms of room space and friendliness.

We will not return to the Puri Raja.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We are a family of five- mum, dad and 3 boys aged 10 and under. We chose the Puri Raja as we had read very favourable reviews on this site and it was also recommended by our travel agent. We can honestly say it was everything we hoped it would be. As other reviews have mentioned it is a small hotel but so close to great shopping and restaurants we never missed the amenities of other larger much more expensive hotels. We requested and were given 2 interconnecting rooms near the pool which we were very happy with. Always kept very clean and the bathroom was modern with great shower/bath. Loved the pool and pool bar and the breakfasts were great!! (and didn't find service at brekkie slow at all!). Staff were all very efficient and so friendly and spoilt my boys! All in all a wonderful stay and we would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone as it is great value for money. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunl0vingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Having recently stayed at the Puri Raja with an extended family of children and grandchildren, I couldn't rate this little hotel any higher.
From the moment we got there the staff were welcoming and friendly.
The rooms are neat and clean with lovely bathrooms.
The location just couldn't be better, just a short walk either front or back to a huge range of restaurants, which was perfect for us with two small children to cater for. Being a small hotel the pools were never crowded and there was always a choice of deckchairs.
The staff made us feel at home.
I think that this is a little gem of a hotel, well worth discovering.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I stayed at the Puri Raja in April, I found it a very nice hotel. Most of the staff were wonderful except one female as noted by another review. Her attitude towards me was dreadful on arrival, in fact I spoke to the Manager about her. The other reception staff tried to make it up to me for the way she treated me.

The pool area at the front was lovely, the bar pool great, except the people whom left towels on the seats most of the day.

The room was very clean and I found my balcony very private and at the end of the day a blessing. The restuarant was lovely for both breakfast and dinner, the staff there great.

It is very central to most things and accessible to transport, I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#24 of 253 in Kuta
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Raja

Address: Jl Padma Utara | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Raja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Raja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Raja Legian
Puri Raja Hotel Legian
Puri Raja Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing