We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, Good experience.”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #11 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall, Good experience.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at The Island Hotel dorm over a long weekend. Firstly, the staff are really friendly, especially at the reception. It's a great place to meet people from all over. Very comfortable bed, great AC. Dorm is spacious and cozy at the same time. Depending on the people staying there, it could be a party dorm. I did get woken up at 3 in the morning from the party-going folks. On the other hand, it is so chilled-out in the morning since nobody is awake. Pool is relatively small.

Housekeeping could be slightly better, especially in the bathrooms & toilets (they look clean but have funky smell at certain times). Location is hidden in an alley but easily accessible.

The Island serves great pizza.

If you're looking to meet new people from all over the globe and party all night all week, The Island is the place. If you just wanna get a good night's sleep, get the room not the dorm. I didn't like my first night staying there but after getting to know people in the dorm, I ended up liking the place.

Some things could be better. But hey, it could be worse in other hostel.

Overall, I had a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uttama P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the feedback and great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    84
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
4
43
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Island is probably best described as a cross between a hotel and a hostel - good beds, good toilets and showers. Towels were provided, there was a swimming pool and a good roof hangout area. The receptionist Agun was extremely helpful and friendly - he helped us call and book our room at Gili Hostel when we couldn't do it online! Their cafe serves GOOD pizza. Beach is about a 15 minute walk, Kuta, a 5 minute drive. There are a tonne of shops, bars, money changers and food cafes all within a 5 minutes walk. Great for people who are looking for a slightly more chilled hostel, away from Kuta's raving scene.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room for two, but the air conditioning was not working and it was very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Island is well located in bali, and has nice rooms. I stayed in the shared room and I liked very much their idea of using courtins between beds since it gives you some Privacy. They have also a nice pool and common area.
Wi-Fi was not good, specially in the room, but worked.
I believe the price for a shared room could be a little lower, but that's what you pay the extra comfort this hotel gives you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very comfortable beds, good working A/C, nice pool. Staff is not friendly. It's a party hostel so it is hard to have a good night sleep. They let people get in the pool whenever they want in the middle of the night, being drunk and loud. Terrible. It's not only a hostel, it's also a hotel. A hotel that happens to have a dorm so there should be a no party after 10 policy. Bathroom facilities are beginning to deteriorate. Food is good and fair price. Not a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamagotchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Island Hotel is a quite nice hotel for young travellers. The location is good, it is located in a very quiet alley, but the alley is not dark or anything. However, you might have to walk with your luggage, as bigger cars cannot enter this alley very well.
When we arrived our room was ready and everyone was welcoming and the check in was very quick. The room was nice and spacious and I really liked the bathroom. The pool area, garden ans small cafe/restaurant area is very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was very minimalistic. You had the choice between fruit salad and toast (with jam and honey), additionally you got coffe or tea and one fresh juice. However it was easy to order some extras like eggs, pancakes or whatever you feel like, but you had to pay for these extras.
There are a lot of bars and restaurant you can reach by foot.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, however, if you are going to Bali, I would also recommend not to stay in Legian/Kuta the whole time. There are much nicer and not that crowded areas on the island, who are worth to get discovered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaHamburg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This was my first stop as a lone female traveller on a 3 month trip, i arrived pretty late but met loads of really friendly people that i then travelled around bali with for the next 10 days.
The food is really good and the pool and facilities are good. The staff are really helpful too.
I stayed in the dorm rooms which were surprisingly quiet and private, there are screens between beds and curtains between bunks and the rooms are really spacious.
Main downsides: not enough power points, its a bit pricier than other places i stayed, you need taxi/scooter to get to kuta and go out, the showers/toilets dont all lock (but noone walked in on me!), you have to use their locker keys and sometiems the bathrooms could be cleaned better!
But i would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I Stayed in one of the dorm rooms and really enjoyed myself. The people who stay at the Island are really cool surfy type people and the staff are so nice to The Island is located close to everything so transport costs are really low also it's walking distance to the beach.
All in All a really ideal low budget hotel that offers a real personal touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 87 in Legian
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 87 in Legian
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.8 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 87 in Legian
897 reviews
0.5 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#61 of 417 in Seminyak
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing