We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed for 5 days at one of their 4pax dorms. Room is well lit and air conditioned. The beds are cozy. They organize many day trips around bali at reasonable price. Met loads of people. Very near to the beach and surf schools. Free complimentary breakfast. Had a memorable time staying at The Island.

Room Tip: The dorms are less expensive and also comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalyanRatakonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for the kinds words. Was nice having you here.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Kuta is one annoying area full of markets, shops, mopeds, fumes, and the beach is rather grubby, however, the Island Hotel is a lovely little retreat from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. It has a lovely swimming pool, nice views from the top and rooms are of good quality with comfy beds. The complimentary breakfast is basic but good. After travelling in Australia and living in grotty hostel dorms for a year this was certainly a step up. Ensuite bathrooms too! :-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andywells1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi,

Yes we too travelled to some of those dorms you mentioned, that's why we set out to give our guests a great experience. It's nice to see when a true travellers passes though here and really sees the difference.

Thanks for staying with us.

Travel safe,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at The Island Hotel dorm over a long weekend. Firstly, the staff are really friendly, especially at the reception. It's a great place to meet people from all over. Very comfortable bed, great AC. Dorm is spacious and cozy at the same time. Depending on the people staying there, it could be a party dorm. I did get woken up at 3 in the morning from the party-going folks. On the other hand, it is so chilled-out in the morning since nobody is awake. Pool is relatively small.

Housekeeping could be slightly better, especially in the bathrooms & toilets (they look clean but have funky smell at certain times). Location is hidden in an alley but easily accessible.

The Island serves great pizza.

If you're looking to meet new people from all over the globe and party all night all week, The Island is the place. If you just wanna get a good night's sleep, get the room not the dorm. I didn't like my first night staying there but after getting to know people in the dorm, I ended up liking the place.

Some things could be better. But hey, it could be worse in other hostel.

Overall, I had a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uttama P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback and great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Island is probably best described as a cross between a hotel and a hostel - good beds, good toilets and showers. Towels were provided, there was a swimming pool and a good roof hangout area. The receptionist Agun was extremely helpful and friendly - he helped us call and book our room at Gili Hostel when we couldn't do it online! Their cafe serves GOOD pizza. Beach is about a 15 minute walk, Kuta, a 5 minute drive. There are a tonne of shops, bars, money changers and food cafes all within a 5 minutes walk. Great for people who are looking for a slightly more chilled hostel, away from Kuta's raving scene.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room for two, but the air conditioning was not working and it was very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Island is well located in bali, and has nice rooms. I stayed in the shared room and I liked very much their idea of using courtins between beds since it gives you some Privacy. They have also a nice pool and common area.
Wi-Fi was not good, specially in the room, but worked.
I believe the price for a shared room could be a little lower, but that's what you pay the extra comfort this hotel gives you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very comfortable beds, good working A/C, nice pool. Staff is not friendly. It's a party hostel so it is hard to have a good night sleep. They let people get in the pool whenever they want in the middle of the night, being drunk and loud. Terrible. It's not only a hostel, it's also a hotel. A hotel that happens to have a dorm so there should be a no party after 10 policy. Bathroom facilities are beginning to deteriorate. Food is good and fair price. Not a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamagotchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Island Hotel is a quite nice hotel for young travellers. The location is good, it is located in a very quiet alley, but the alley is not dark or anything. However, you might have to walk with your luggage, as bigger cars cannot enter this alley very well.
When we arrived our room was ready and everyone was welcoming and the check in was very quick. The room was nice and spacious and I really liked the bathroom. The pool area, garden ans small cafe/restaurant area is very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was very minimalistic. You had the choice between fruit salad and toast (with jam and honey), additionally you got coffe or tea and one fresh juice. However it was easy to order some extras like eggs, pancakes or whatever you feel like, but you had to pay for these extras.
There are a lot of bars and restaurant you can reach by foot.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, however, if you are going to Bali, I would also recommend not to stay in Legian/Kuta the whole time. There are much nicer and not that crowded areas on the island, who are worth to get discovered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaHamburg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
4.8 mi away
Canggu Beach Hostel
Canggu Beach Hostel
#12 of 312 in Canggu
341 reviews
1.6 mi away
H-ostel
H-ostel
#3 of 210 in Kuta
144 reviews
19.5 mi away
Ceningan Resort
Ceningan Resort
#1 of 8 in Nusa Ceningan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cara Cara Inn
Cara Cara Inn
#6 of 210 in Kuta
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nau Here Hostel, Kuta - Bali
0.5 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#81 of 434 in Seminyak
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing