We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place!”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

By far the nicest place i've stayed in my 3 months backpacking asia. A little more money than we would usually pay but its worth it. The staff were so friendly and really go out there way to help you. It was my friends birthday when we were there and the staff were all blowing up ballons with me and driving me around town to find cake! The dorms are so nice and clean as well. I wish i could stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eloise13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi,

Thanks for staying here at The Island. We are stoked you had a great time.

Safe Travels
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

It was my birthday whilst staying in this hostel and they made it so special! The morning of my birthday while I was asleep they helped my friend blow up balloons and then all wished me happy birthday when I woke up! They then drove my friend all over town to find me birthday cake! The dorm is beautiful!! You have your own light, massive bed and locker! The pool is stunning! Everything felt like a 5star hotel - amazing value for money. It was honestly the best hostel we stayed in during our trip! Met amazing people too! I would really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilyroseveare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for the review. We were more than happy to put a smile on your face for you birthday.

Travel Safe,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is the perfect distance from the beach with close bars that have great food. We only stayed for 3 nights but wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the pool and friendly staff. The rooms were clean and had a very beachy feel. Highly recommend this place and will definitely be going back on my next trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnymac8929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Johnny,

Thanks for spending time to write us a great review. We really appreciate it. :)

Looking forward to having you back here soon.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great food, pool, quiet but sociable, clean, great staff, wifi and good location. The 12 bed dorm was the least dorm-like I've ever stayed in, with private curtains round the bunkbeds. We booked travel here to other places. You could book 2 nights and end up staying 2 weeks.

Room Tip: In the 12 bed dorm, the beds furthest from the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Amy,

I'm glad you had such a pleasant stay. We really want our dorm experience the best in Indonesia as we understand that a good bed and clean sheets is what we need after a lot of travel.

We appreciate the kind words.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights originally then went to Gili Island (which they booked for me and were nice enough to store my things while I was gone) and stayed here again when I got back. My first hostel experience and it was brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinmay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi,

Nice to see that as your first hostel stay it was with us. I can't guarantee other hotels will be as nice as us (slightly biased) but that's probably why you came back. :)

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the first stop on my travelling experience and a perfect way to ease you into the trip. Rooms are gorgeous and the beds are super comfy. Everyone's incredibly friendly and got a lovely pool. No complaints on hygene and the showers are nice and powerful. Would 100% come back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MischaSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

HI,

Thx for the kind words. Come back anytime!

Safe Travels,
The Island team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at the Island Hotel for the past 4 nights and it's probably the best hostel I've stayed at. The room and beds are impeccably clean as is the bathroom. I am traveling alone and have met many wonderful people thanks to the several BEAUTIFUL communal areas. There's an infinity pool, cafe, and two rooftop lounges. There's always really good, chill music playing (not too loud) in the cafe and around the pool. 10/10 would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the review. It's good to see you had a great time here. Being travellers ourselves, we understand a little comfort goes a long way, especially without the price tag!

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 87 in Legian
639 reviews
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 87 in Legian
2,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#22 of 87 in Legian
356 reviews
4.8 mi away
Canggu Beach Hostel
Canggu Beach Hostel
#10 of 297 in Canggu
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#80 of 426 in Seminyak
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range: £12 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing