We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hostel!”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great atmosphere, clean beds, lots of communal areas to hang out, beautiful infinity swimming pool. Ideal location - close enough to kuta to walk but far away enough to get a good nights sleep. The cafe at the hostel is great too!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonam111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi,

Thx for the kind words. :)

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The hostel is really sweet, nice swimming pool and atmosphere, great to meet people and really nice food, nice and clean with a duvet :)
Only thing is that if you are an internet junkie the wireless connection is crap, but your on holidays so throw the technology away :)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Phelan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for spending some time to write a review. We are always to improve and recognize the internet is something we all suffer here in Bali. In saying this we are working hard on getting a more consistent connection to make sure our guests can get online when they want.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the island hotel for 4 days and had the best time. The place is chilled and peaceful, staff are super friendly and it clean and comfortable. We loved are stay here and would recommend it as great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for the feedback.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Everything clean and tidy. Food good and pool wonderful.
Lovely top terrace to lie and watch sun go down
Couldn't recommend more.
Although slightly out of the way this provides a quiet backdrop to the rather noisier more central parts.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

HI,

Thanks for staying (again) :)

We appreciate all the great feedback.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After a hard couple of days climbing Mt. Agon (Bali's highest peak, I wound up here. There couldn't have been a better place to wind down and let the chilled atmosphere wash away the pain in my aching limbs. The service is wonderful, the food top notch, pool refreshing and rooms comfy. Couldn't recommend it more to any backpacker needing a day of luxury before returning to the road, or anyone for that matter.
I shall hopefully return one day

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi,

As travellers ourselves, we definitely understand the backpacker. Why not have some comfort? I'm stoked you had a relaxing time here. Just what we want to hear form your guests.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very fast service and hospitable nature after having booked a room the morning of arrival. Extremely clean and well furnished with cool pool and many areas to fully relax. A chilled and quiet, though content, atmosphere and generally very nice welcoming feeling.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi,

Thanks you for your kind words. Nice having you stay. Come back anytime. :)

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice spot, chillout lounge, hard to find but good to stay. Nice rooftop lounge and good view for the sunset, if you want to stay longer it could be a bit expensive but you can jump form the balcony into the pool.

Room Tip: There are big and small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hias2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi,

Glad you loved it here. We too have travelled throughout asia and know whats out there. Just wanting to give some comfort to the weary traveller.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#25 of 88 in Legian
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.6 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#18 of 88 in Legian
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 88 in Legian
2,399 reviews
4.8 mi away
Canggu Beach Hostel
Canggu Beach Hostel
#12 of 302 in Canggu
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monostel
Monostel
#13 of 86 in Legian
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price Range: £12 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing